We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #87 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Just back in Sydney from a 5 day leisure trip to Melbourne.

I'd booked at the Alto but after reading about the Oaks, cancelled it and booked here, and very glad I did.

Stayed on my own in a Studio suite which was immaculately clean and very comfortable. Kitchenette was great - just a toaster, kettle, stove top and microwave and fridge but I just did toast and cereal.

Bed was very comfortable, sofa very good, and the LCD TV can swivel to any angle in the room. They also have a very basic TEAC CD player

Service was excellent. Check in was a breeze and staff very warm and friendly at all times. I think the hotel was full for the first 2 nights of my stay but you'd never know it from the Staff's friendly, relaxed demeanour. And every guest I met in the lifts or the lobby was happy and friendly as well, so all-in-all a very nice place to be.

Reception was up within 5 minutes when I reported a lack of a 'do not disturb' sign, and room service was equally efficient at bringing my meal in 20 minutes.

I ate breakfast once in the restaurant, basic but nice scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, hash browns, toast, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, tea, coffee, juices etc.

It was great being in such a central but quiet location. So may nearby hotels are either on main roads, in back alleys, or near noisy cafes or bars.

I was really impressed and will definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,174 - 1,180 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2008

Room was modern and very clean. Great location and at A$135 per night through Wotif, it was excellent value for such a big city.
Will definitely stay there again, especially at those rates !

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Micwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2008

We have just returned from three nights at the Oaks . The check in was friendly and efficient,and we received a requested high room with a stunning view over Melbourne. The studio apartment was well appointed, and quite roomy-included a small table and a couch,and small kitchen.
The breakfasts were included in the rate and while basic, were more than adequate. We had one evening meal in the restaurant which was of a high quality and well priced.
The Oaks is well situated to the Collins street theatres(we saw the stage show Wicked which was excellent) ,to the Casino and Eureka Tower, and to the Southern Cross Coach and Railway Station.A stop on the free Circle line tram is 100m away.The location is central and quiet
We had an early check out at 5.30 am and the clerk was friendly and helpful. Overall the Oaks is very good value.,

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Howde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2008

My friend and I stayed here a couple of weeks ago on a trip to Melbourne to see the musical "Wicked" - which was fantastic. Unfortunately the service from the hotel - not so fantastic. Taking advice from others on this site we requested a room on a high floor with a view - we requested this three weeks in advance and were told that our request would be recorded.
This would no doubt explain why upon arrival we were checked into a room on the THIRD floor.........with a view.........of an alley, the side of a building and some dustbins!
When we protested that this was the exact opposite of our request and enquired as to whether they were in fact "having a laugh" we were told that yes they had our request in the booking but there was nothing available on a higher level.
Yeah right! We were checking in on a Thursday night, for four nights, and the hotel was not busy. Interestingly enough we spotted many people who had checked in after us pushing the elavator buttons for levels 16 through 21.
The desk clerk (who managed to be both rude and monosyllabic atn the same time - quite an achievement) didn't check the notes on our booking until AFTER he had allocated a room so basically just couldn't be bothered to issue a new card when we pointed out the error.
The room itself was very clean but dark due to windows basically facing a wall!
We did intend to go back and try our luck for a room change on the Friday morning but we had early starts on all days of our trip and basically once unpacked (and having shopped.....just a little bit) it became too much hassle to up sticks and change rooms.
When we checked out and told the desk what had happened we were told that absolutely they would have moved us had we asked again on the Friday morning and that he really couldn't understand why our request wasn't honoured in the first place. He said he would have the Manager call us...............two weeks........still waiting.
So my advice would be to stick to your guns if you have pre-requested a room on the upper levels!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

What a great place to stay very clean, roomy apartment,and close enough to get to all the major places we wanted to visit.
Lifts were pretty fast, and much to our amazement we couldn't hear running water from other apartments like you normally do. Very Quiet....well impressed .
May even keep this place a secret from our friends :)

Will definately be back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ticketybooQld_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

We stayed here for a long weekend in August 08. It was very clean, excellent housekeeping, helpful staff. It is very quiet at the weekend in this area of town which is the business district. I'd say it was a little way out of the centre but the tram is just down the road. The pool was great with sauna & jacuzzi (although these last two weren't hot enough). Our room was on floor 21 and we had a great view. The room was spacious with great kitchen facilities. The TV wasn't brilliant with only basic channels, mainly sport, but we weren't bothered about watching TV anyway. The furnishings were new and modern. The bed was extremely comfortable. Our main gripe was with the air conditioning because it was too hot at night and we couldn't get the controls to obey our commands of being turned down! The bar in the hotel was deserted on a saturday night but we noticed it was really busy on a monday night. All the local coffee bars/breakfast places were closed on saturday lunchtime & sunday morning so we had to go further afield unless we wanted to eat at the hotel which we didn/t.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SueCNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2008

We booked for 8 nights and would think we would get a decent room. It took two days to move us from a room that was an exact U shape around the lift shaft, with three lifts going up and down all night. We thankfully had ear plugs, but you could still hear the noise. How can a hotel build rooms the wrap around a lift shaft.
The service was terrible, half the members of the reception do not speak very good English, and even though we were told we were going to be moved, when we enquired later, there was not one staff member who knew anything about it. We also clearly instructed them to accept a very imp Fedex package to which they rejected it, even though it was clearly addressed to us.
The rooms are cheap office conversions, and very basic. Towel rail fell off the wall, walls were filthy dirty, with marks on light switches, and walls that had not been cleaned off from previous guest, imagine all the germs,. Also I did not appreciate having free to air pornography in the bedroom either, how disgusting, imagine if children came across that. How can they get away with that.
We will NEVER stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#125 of 162 in Melbourne
1,274 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#49 of 162 in Melbourne
1,463 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#34 of 162 in Melbourne
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#46 of 162 in Melbourne
507 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 162 in Melbourne
5,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#77 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £84 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing