We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Spacious rooms and Cheap parking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #93 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great Location, Spacious rooms and Cheap parking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is one of my favourite hotels for a night or weekend in Melbourne. Just a walk across Queensbridge and you in the heart of Southbank, or in the other direction your amongst Collins St, Block arcade and the happening vibes of Degraves St. 10 min walk from Flinders St station and walking distance from shopping.
Great place to stay of your wanting to stay on Southbank or near the Crown complex without the price tag.
Large rooms, friendly staff and they have a car park nearby with a flat rate $10 parking if you validate your ticket. Cool little bar downstairs with friendly staff for a pre-drink before you head off for the night.
Will be staying again!

Room Tip: Our standard room had a view of Southbank. Level 13
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words.

It is pleasing to read that we have made your list of hotels to revisit.
We consider customer service important and it makes us very happy to read that all departments provided friendly and welcoming service.

Thank you for highlighting the convenience of our location and discounted rates at the near by car park.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    538
    210
    78
    40
See reviews for
205
343
80
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Previously stayed here on a business trip in early 2014 so when coming back to Melbourne in June I thought of the Oaks again. Compared a few other hotels online but none seemed to offer the combination of value and location. Oaks on Market didn't disappoint. My room was spacious and well appointed - not luxurious but definitely provides everything a business traveller wants. Kitchenette, desk and chair, comfy lounge etc. Nice big bed (although as someone who likes a firm mattress, this was a little too firm). Housekeeping do a fantastic job and should be congratulated. A couple of small niggles: toilet cistern had a crack and small chunk of plastic missing from near the flush buttons and the hair dryer was past it's use-by-date. When I started to dry my hair, the hot burning smell was a real concern. I tried cleaning accumulated dust from the back vent but it was still overheating so I didn't finish drying my hair. That is an issue for a female business traveller :) Check in and concierge service is very friendly, helpful and efficient. The front bar was a nice place for a glass of wine after dinner and again the service was excellent. The hotel is comfortable walking distance in to the heart of the city but also for easy access to Docklands etc. It's pretty quiet so you can get a good night's sleep without noise of trams, traffic or night clubs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the detailed review of our property.

It is pleasing to read that your expectations in customer service, comfort and value for money were delivered.

I have passed the positive feedback to the team and thank you for mentioning the items that need replacing.

We look forward to your next visit and thank you for the recommendation.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Came here with the lads for a few nights to watch a couple of footy games and enjoy the usual things Melbourne has to offer. OoM has well serviced apartments in a central location. It also has a friendly concierge service. Can't ask for too much more!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MalChandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time in reviewing our property.

We are glad that we were able provide great service and a well equipped apartment.

Thank you for mentioning our ideal location.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We spent a night at Oaks on Market. Just what we wanted. Close to the Mall, casino and tram stop nearly at the front door.
The room was superb, very comfortable, clean, quite, great kitchenette and relaxing.
Staff were wonderful on checking in and out.
The price was great and next time we have a 'local stay' in our own mighty Melbourne we will be staying at Oaks on Market

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time in reviewing our property.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found the apartment comfortable, clean and relaxing.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment over the June long weekend. The apartment is generous in size with a king bed in the main bedroom and a king split in the 2nd room.

The apartment was well appointed and equipped and was quiet with little or no street noise or internal noise.

The location is great being close to everything and we walked from here to most of Melbourne's attractions and shopping precincts.

The only thing we could fault was the cleanliness. We found a pair of thongs, some coins, and tissues under different items of furniture and some of the cooking utensils in the kitchen didn't look very clean.

Having said that, we would be happy to stay here again and can recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are pleased to read that the apartment was found comfortable, spacious and well equipped.

We have discussed the cleanliness issue with our housekeeping department and are pleased to read that this has not impacted on a return visit.

Thank you for your recommendation.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

An easy walk from the bus terminal. Arrived earlier than check in but no problem. Staff were friendly and at first couldn't find our reservation as it had registered under my first name by mistake. The staff apologised for the tiny delay and upgraded our room. The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean with kitchen facilities. The bed was firm and comfortable. The location was great, could see the river and Southbank, short walk to many sites and to tram stop for city circle tram. Good indoor pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for recommending our Hotel to others; we are glad that we ticked all the boxes; and that we were able to offer you a good value for you money.

Thank you

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I recently stayed at Oaks on Market for 3 nights on a business trip. Check in process for quick and efficient. Rooms nice,spacious, functional with good size bathroom (shower+bath).Nothing extra ordinary and some people may find older style (as building is probaly atleast 10-15 year old) but well appointed. Nice to have small kitchen in room. Clean and comfortable bed. Overall nice stay especially for price they charge which is reasonable. I would recommend this apartments to anyone looking for decent value for money stay in heart of Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelfan123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time in reviewing our property.

It is pleasing to read that our service was efficient and the apartment was spacious and clean.

We are glad we able to provide value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#129 of 159 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#42 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#73 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Property: Oaks on Market
Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#83 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing