We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melbourne Visit”
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #93 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Melbourne Visit”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Booked in for 3 nights for a whirlwind Anniversary break. The hotel was recommended by friends who regularly use the hotel.Checked in in the early hours after a late flight, the staff were very helpful and cheerful. We were upgraded from our original booking and ended up on 21st floor looking out onto the river, The Crown, and the MCG, which looked awesome lit up on the following night. The room was very clean and spacious and had what was required for a brief stay.The hotel is Ideally located, for just about everything within walking distance, the stadiums, shops etc, and for anything further away just hop on a tram. The only disappointment really was the breakfast, which whilst was fresh, plentiful and also a great selection, was cold. We would definitely stay again as it was great value for money.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlosinperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property; although we are delighted that you enjoyed our clean and spacious rooms; we are somehow disappointed that our breakfast let us down.

Again, thank you for your review; and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

A late “Happy Anniversary” to you both.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    557
    222
    81
    44
See reviews for
225
363
86
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Usakos, Namibia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a work trip and the quality of the place was substandard.

I had to get a rattling air conditioner fixed as soon as I got into my room.
The remote worked 50% of the time, and the batteries were held in with some duct tape.

No basics such as shower cap in the bathroom, mini bar. A piece do the cupboard fell out and almost sliced my toe off. The cleaner moved my things around unnecessarily.

The air con barely worked and took ages to warm up the room.

If you are after comfort or any sense of luxury I would avoid this place.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank H0lidayMak3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback; we are truly disappointed that your stay with us wasn’t a good one.

Although we like to receive positive feedback at all times, as long as it is delivered in a constructive manner it is the negative feedback that helps us more; as it is only through our guests feedback that we are able to identify any issues within our property.

We sincerely regret that we were not able to meet your expectations; and that these issues have marred what we hoped to be a comfortable and pleasant stay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Basic studio room was large and comfortable. The inbuilt kitchenette was great and ingenious. Includes gas stove, microwave, small fridge, chinaware and cutlery. Small sink helps clean up.

Large desk that can double up as a dining table...........armchairs, and a comfy bed. Plus the usual wardrobe etc.

Helpful staff who patiently give you maps and directions.

Centrally located in the central business district and walking distance to the convention centre (just across the river)

Makes for a great stay!

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirajM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our property, we are glad that you made the full use of your apartment; and indeed having a little kitchenette is a very useful.

Please keep us in mind on your next visit to Melbourne.

Thanks again

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

4day stay and picked based reviews online and very happy with our choice. Good value for money, central location and close to the cbd.

Room was large a spacious, clean with a comfortable bed.

Will be back and would happily stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matty9861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property; we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wodonga, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed at the Oaks three nights on business in a studio apartment. The room was clean and roomy, but the bed so uncomfortable I just wanted to come home. Room facilities include cooking facilities, microwave, but no dishwasher. It took ten minutes to get the shower right, whilst wasting a lot of water. Don't eat at the restaurant or order room service - it was of a terrible standard. Night one I ordered a chicken burger from room service which was just awful. The second night I ate in the restaurant, ordered a $35 steak which was cold, undercooked and full of fat and gristle - this was returned, and given an $11 discount. Breakfasts in the same restaurant are overpriced and just average, mostly cold and under cooked buffet. style. The $10 big brekkie from the cafe two doors down is much nicer, and much better value. If you want anything other than an instant coffee or tea bag, expect to pay extra for it. Staff were all friendly and attentive, and the Oaks on Market is close to everything. View from my 10th floor room was a crane. Parking on arrival was blocked by taxis so I had to park out the back of the Immigration Museum and struggle across the street with my luggage. WiFi, in this day and age, is not free, except for the first 30 minutes. For mine, work paid. I'm glad they did, because I wouldn't pay to stay there - you can get far better value elsewhere.

Room Tip: Apparently higher floors are better, but I am not convinced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris3690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, regardless who paid for your accommodation we are truly disappointed that we were not able to meet your requirements.

Unfortunately we cannot control a crane from obstructing our views or the taxi rank from picking up our guests; however we will definitely sit down with our Executive Chef and discuss your Food & Beverage comments

Thanks again for your honest feedback.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Clean rooms and great size.
Excellent location walking distance to Etihad Stadium. Easy access to federation square, Victoria markets and to trams. Lots of small convenience stores around the hotel.
Hot water in bathroom hard to adjust!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RITA255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed our clean and spacious apartments: and please rest assured that we will discuss the hot water issue with our Facilities Manager.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here last week for 4 nights in a Studio Apartment and paid extra for an extra bed as there were 3 of us. Arrived at 10:30am and was told the room wasn't ready, which was expected as check-in is at 2pm, so we left our bags there and headed out. Came back later and went to our room, but then noticed that they have left out the extra bed. Quick call to reception and they sorted it out by moving us to a better room with a view too, looking at the Yarra river and Crown!!.

Overall the room was neat and tidy and in a central location, very convenient with the trams network in Melbourne. The facilities were great, but it was a bit like a maze trying to get to the pool and gym.

On our last day we asked for late check out but that was decline because they were "fully booked the next day" but felt the lady wasn't too interested in helping. So decided to ask again at night with a different person, and he allowed us to checkout at 12pm, so i am guessing it really depends on the person you ask.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stsa1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property; we are glad that you enjoyed our rooms, facilities and the central location of our building.

Subject to availability we are always more than happy to extend the check out time; however it becomes almost impossible when we are running full occupancy.

As mentioned we are always happy to adhere to any of our guests requests, perhaps upon your first request we were not able to offer you a late check out due to availability, however you will surprise how quickly things can change in a large building like ours, therefore we are glad that you persevered with your request.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#128 of 160 in Melbourne
1,205 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#45 of 160 in Melbourne
1,410 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#33 of 160 in Melbourne
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#76 of 160 in Melbourne
873 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#51 of 160 in Melbourne
445 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Property: Oaks on Market
Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#84 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing