We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old favourite.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Ranked #55 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“An old favourite.”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Have stayed here many times and is one of my favourite hotels in Melbourne. Location is good with free tourist tram out front and easy walk to South Bank and or into the CBD or over to DocklandS.

Service and quality of rooms is consistent. Could do with an upgrade of TV's.

Also the restaurant down stair Keyif offers both quality of food and value for both dinner and breakfast.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room and have stayed many times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob6282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Dear Bobbali99

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of our property. We are so happy to hear that Medina Executive Northbank is one of your favourite hotels in Melbourne. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    1,006
    252
    66
    38
See reviews for
387
846
136
548
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years and I'm always happy with my experiences there.

It's handy to the Tollway out to the airport and the tunnels, and also the Westgate freeway. Hotel parking arrangements work well.

Rooms are pretty well equipped with a small "full-size" fridge (not a bar fridge). A washing machine and dryer in the larger apartments are very useful features. A bigger selection of kitchen knives + a cutting board would be a welcome addition. The couch was OK, but not comfortable for a long stint in front of the TV.

On the TVs - they desperately need upgrading. Tiny CRTs don't cut it these days, so hopefully Medina, you are saving up for this overdue upgrade. When it does happen, the Medina will have a good set-up as their TV service (reception, movies) works well.

Lastly, the staff are always friendly, smiling and helpful. Thanks to Jasmine for her extra efforts.

Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallyhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Dear Tallyhos

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. It’s great to hear that you stay with us regularly and that you find our rooms well equipped and our team both friendly and helpful.
Just to confirm with future traveller's that all rooms are stocked with a cutting board and 3 knives. The hotel does have a large range of kitchen utensils and are more than happy to add additional inventory on request.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I had read quite a few reviews before I turned up and was a little dubious, but when we got to the apartments, the staff were very friendly and helpful (both with checking in and giving advice for great food and shopping places). And it was very warm and inviting. Went up to the room (2 br apartment - 10th floor) and I was more than happy with what I found. The room was clean, everything very modern and the beds were quite comfortable. I would definately stay here again. Showers worked great and the TV's although not modern, certainly worked just as good as any TV. No need to waste money on something that is working fine, just because it isn't a flat screen. Location to everywhere is great. If you can't walk it, you can always jump on a tram (right across the road) or a $10 cab ride gets you other places that the trams can't. Thank you Medina Executive Northbank.

Room Tip: Our apartment faced towards to train station, 10th floor and was not woken up by any street traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Paula H

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review of your stay with us. It's satisfying to hear that our 2 bedroom apartment worked out so well for you! The team really appreciates your kind words in regards to their service and local knowledge. We hope to see you during your future visits to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Stephen Moore
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

If you don' t mind a little bit of walking (to make room for that next Melbourne restaurant treat) then this is the spot. Bit of a run down corner of the city block BUT Circle tram outside, walking distance from sky bus at Southern Cross station, walk to Southbank, Aquarium, Casino , Convention centre, DFO, South Melbourne, Ethihad Stadium, deGraves St and all the city attractions. Good sized rooms, self contained, reasonably quiet, clean and tidy, essential shops handy (7-11, pizza, kebab, bottle shop, pattiserie). Roomrate varies a lot with day of week. We got the Thursday night for under $150 but up to $200 by Saturday.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AandJinBundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear A and J Bundy

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you taking the time to share with other travellers. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,
Stephen More
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

This apartment-hotel is not ideally located if you want to be in the heart of the CBD, or walking distance to the MCG, however it is a very solid value in a busy marketplace. The rooms were clean, a bit frayed around the edges perhaps, but fine for a week-long business stay. The neighbourhood is slightly seedy as comapred to other CBD locations, there are backpacker accomodations on either side, and the infamous gentleman's club strip is around the corner. Train noise could be a problem if you like your windows open. Staff were attentive and efficient, and the lap pool is an excellent bonus.

Room Tip: Facing away from Flinders St. is best for noise, but worse for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquadr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Aquadr

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us at Medina Executive Northbank. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed both your stay with us and your time in Melbourne. Our team really appreciates your kind words. We look forward to seeing you this winter!

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This is a modern and clean apartment with a good kitchenette, and very close to the Southern Cross train station. The beds were comfortable. There is a balcony but it was too small to sit or eat on. There is a large indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna. Also there is a good-sized exercise room with many machines. Our room was near the lift but we couldn't hear it. The tram stops in front of the hotel. It is very close to a small IGA for food. It is a short walk to the Aquarium and the Immigration museum. A longer walk or the free tram will get you to Federation Square, Shopping, and the city Centre. Southbank, Docklands, Etihad Stadium and the Casino are within longer walking distance. We could hear the some trains during the night, with the tracks almost across the road.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruckenbackdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Ruckenbackdos

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Medina Executive Northbank. It's great to hear that your 1 bedroom apartments and hotel facilities met your needs. It appears you enjoyed your time in Melbourne. The team look forward to your future visits to Australia.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This was a business trip for my husband at the Melbourne Convention Centre just across the river but it was also a week of shopping and relaxing for me. Such a superb location and so easy to get cabs and to get on and off the trams. I have very limited walking ability and i didn't struggle. Loved the roof top pool and spa.

Beds not super comfy but not bad either. Rooms basic but everything we needed. Great coffee just 100m away and wifi in the cafe next door (but not in the rooms - i think avail but very expensive). 7/11 just across the road. The focus of our trip was exploring melbs and dining out.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lareeandkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear Laree and Kevin
Thank you for sharing your comments. The team are delighted to hear that we succeeded in making your stay an enjoyable. I hope you can visit us again in the future

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#34 of 160 in Melbourne
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#32 of 160 in Melbourne
1,089 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#59 of 160 in Melbourne
3,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Address: 550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Northbank Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing