We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Alpine Walk”

Auswalk Walking Holidays
Ranked #34 of 307 Tours in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Auswalk walking holidays provide backstage passes to Australia's most sought after natural destinations. Say goodbye to organising everything yourself and hello to stress free adventure. Let us: - Share our nearly 30 years of experience with you - Provide friendly and professional guides - Put together the fully supported self guided inn-to-inn walking holiday you've been looking for - Hand select comfortable accommodations for each evening, with friendly hosts and local food and wine
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 10 January 2018

This is an excellent trip with stunning scenery and challenging walks. Our guides were excellent, and the accommodation was good.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Ness G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auswalk_walking, Owner at Auswalk Walking Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Hello Ness
As the owner of Auswalk I would like to thank you personally for choosing Auswalk to take you on holiday. We absolutely love what we do and really appreciate your positive feedback.

Marie and Paul are certainly amazing guides and we are truly very fortunate to have them.

I am glad you enjoyed the walking, the scenery and the accommodation. Hopefully we will see you soon. Until then keep on walking.

Regards

Brett Neagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great ocean walk"
in 24 reviews
"self guided"
in 35 reviews
"blue mountains"
in 16 reviews
"great alpine"
in 8 reviews
"red centre"
in 7 reviews
"walking notes"
in 7 reviews
"flinders ranges"
in 7 reviews
"flinders island"
in 6 reviews
"guided walk"
in 6 reviews
"kangaroo island"
in 5 reviews
"abundant wildlife"
in 4 reviews
"gold coast"
in 5 reviews
"carnarvon gorge"
in 3 reviews
"larapinta trail"
in 3 reviews
"meals provided"
in 3 reviews
"coastal views"
in 3 reviews
"grand canyon"
in 3 reviews
Filter

33 - 37 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2018

My wife and I just completed the guided version of this tour with 14 other walkers and two wonderful guides, Paul and Marie Killeen. This is a sometimes-challenging week of walks suitable for the avid hiker, with mostly-full days exploring some long (and occasionally steep) stretches of Victoria's beautiful high country. Easy options accommodate those walkers who need a break from the harder stretches. We are repeat Auswalks walkers for a reason: consistently outstanding experiences. A fantastic package, delivered with passion and personal attention by guides who clearly love their work and connecting with their clients.

1  Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auswalk_walking, Owner at Auswalk Walking Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Hi Bruce
Thank you for taking the time to reward us with your review.
The Victorian Alpine region is absolutely stunning so there are no surprises there that you thoroughly enjoyed your surroundings.

Paul and Marie will be pleased to hear that you appreciated your guiding and their efforts.

We hope that you continue to have fond memories of your holiday with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Brett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

We recently completed the Great South West Walk self guided trek facilitated by auswalk and what wonderful walking holiday it was! I can’t imagine a better introduction to the beauty and wonders Australia has to offer. We trekked though the forest, along a limestone gorge with the Glenelg River flowing peacefully below followed by a dramatic coastline complete with sandy beaches and rocky outcrops continuously pounded by and incredibly blue ocean. And that was just the scenery. First time sightings of kangaroos, wallabies, echidnas, emus, a countless variety of new birds and snakes added to the down-under experience. As fabulous as all that was, I have to say each BnB also holds a special memory of outstanding welcomes and accommodations. Also, a huge thank you to the team at auswalk for their complete and accurate descriptions of trail conditions and times.It took the worry out of the day and left us to enjoy.

What a wonderful country! I am already planning my next trip for 2019.

1  Thank kathijean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auswalk_walking, Owner at Auswalk Walking Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Hi
Thanks for writing this very positive review. It is always nice to read good things about us but more importantly it's good to see how we are going on the ground.

The Southern part of Victoria is packed full of magnificent scenery, fauna and flora, not to mention the splendid isolation of this area. We're all very happy that you enjoyed the Great South West walk and you found the notes accurate. A lot of work goes into making sure they are up to date.

As for the animals they have a mind of their own so we can't take credit. Snakes as well, that's a real bonus! It's not the usual but it isn't unusual.

I'm glad you appreciated the organisation and enjoyed the hosts at the accommodations and the way the whole trip worked. As you know the girls in the office deserve a lot of the credit when it comes to the organisation.

It would be great to see you back again. Let us know if you need any advice on the walks let us know.

Regards
Brett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Fabulous scenery, changing all the time. Day 1 was Grand canyon and the Grose river- lots of stairs
Day 2 we walked from Echoes to the ruined castle, well worth it but a very long day- not for a beginner.
Day 3 Wentworth Falls and undercliff track, again magnificent scenery
The hotel, Echoes and meals were outstanding, perfect after a day of walking. Highly recommend this walk

Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auswalk_walking, Owner at Auswalk Walking Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Hello Michelle,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the walk in the Blue Mountains Grand Traverse. It's definitely a spectacular walk with amazing views and beautiful forest.

I take on board that the Ruined castle walk can be a little tiring but the result is worth it. Particularly when sitting at dinner where you're able to view clearly where you have walked that day. It's a real sense of achievement.

Hopefully we will see you on the track again with us sometime soon one of our other walks.

Warm Regards
Brett Neagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Surging ocean, fabulous colours, rugged cliffs, towering trees, shrubs of all shapes and sizes twisted by the wind into works of art, abundant wildflowers, twitterings, chirpings and tweetings of myriad birds in bushes, koalas, wallabies and the odd snake to watch out for ... a glorious walk to explore terrain and tide of Mother Nature's stupendous creations!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auswalk_walking, Owner at Auswalk Walking Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to share your Great Ocean Walk experience with us with and others. You are entirely right the walk is absolutely stunning.

What a great experience, to unplug or dial out of the day to day goings on and just walk. I am sure you have created some amazing memories for yourself that you'll all keep for a very long time.

Got to love mother nature even those snakes!

Thank you once again and we hope to hear from you again in the near future.
Warm Regards
Brett Neagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auswalk Walking Holidays also viewed

 

Been to Auswalk Walking Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing