We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for lunch on a sunny Monday ”

The General Assembly
Ranked #333 of 4,560 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$36
Cuisines: Contemporary, International, Grill
Description: Experience the essence of Melbourne without navigating your way through confusing back streets and alleyways. And if Melbourne’s weather is living up to its reputation, fear not because The General Assembly caters to four seasons in a day. Peruse the delicious menu which offers Melbourne’s latest food trends, while you sample a huge range of drinks and listen to local acoustic artists. Don’t leave without checking out the street art installations around the venue which mirror Melbourne’s hidden laneways.
Restaurant details
Description: Experience the essence of Melbourne without navigating your way through confusing back streets and alleyways. And if Melbourne’s weather is living up to its reputation, fear not because The General Assembly caters to four seasons in a day. Peruse the delicious menu which offers Melbourne’s latest food trends, while you sample a huge range of drinks and listen to local acoustic artists. Don’t leave without checking out the street art installations around the venue which mirror Melbourne’s hidden laneways.
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

I made a reservation but there was no need as we were the only diners at 12:00. The staff were friendly and we were comfortably able to accommodate a pram. The food was good and the location great as we enjoyed a sunny Spring day. I will return.

Thank Birt1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The General A, Public Relations Manager at The General Assembly, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hi Birt1964,

Pleased to hear you will return, thanks for all your kind words & the visit. It never hurts to make a reservation, especially with the weather improving. See you again soon.

Cheers,
Byron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2017

Went here for drinks and snacks on a thursday evening before going to a function at the Convention Centre. Great bar, really good music, friendly staff and great atmosphere. We sat outside where there were some nice plants and even a table tennis table. The venue is right on the waterside virtually next to the Polly Woodside with the Crown Helipad opposite. We watched helicopters landing and taking off and boats sailing by - very entertaining. The special Cider drinks were reasonably priced and we had bowls of chips with aioli which were REALLY good. Great place!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Marilyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The General A, Public Relations Manager at The General Assembly, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hi Marilyn,

Thanks for stopping by & saying hello. Really appreciate your kind words & very pleased you enjoyed your cider & chips. See you again next time you are on South Wharf.

Cheers,
Byron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Beer was nice, atmosphere nice and the waitress was friendly. Initially when l asked for plain alioli instead of chilli alioli the waitress said she wasn't allowed to and would have to check????? But then I was allowed to have my burger without chilli alioli and have normal on the side!! The food was fine, served on cold plates but fine.

Thank flb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The General A, Public Relations Manager at The General Assembly, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hi fib1,

As a huge aioli fan, I hope you were satisfied with the solution to your aioli issue. Appreciate the visit & the feedback, hope the burger was great. We'll see you again soon.

Cheers,
Byron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

This was a great expirience. We had southern American style food with some live soul music playing. The atmosphere and service was great.
My friend says it was the greatest chicken he has ever tasted. The brisket was also amazing, I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Thank Sherroy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The General A, Public Relations Manager at The General Assembly, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Hi Sherroy,

Thank you for the visit & the kind words, the brisket is a new one on our menu & my personal favourite, I'm pleased you enjoyed. Thanks for bringing your friend down, we would love to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Byron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We have been to this bar/cafe a couple of times now. The atmosphere is great, you can dine inside or outside, the food is great and the staff are friendly and helpful.

Thank helbix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The General A, Public Relations Manager at The General Assembly, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Hi Helbix,

Thanks for the multiple visits, pleased you enjoyed. We will see you again soon.

Cheers,
Byron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The General Assembly also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The General Assembly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing