We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Food.”

Bamboo House Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #108 of 4,037 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food.”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I have visited this restaurant many many times, especially when going to the theatre as they do an awesome, delicious meal and quick. The staff are also very accommodating, the chef once drew a picture with the chocolate topping on my ice cream.

Make sure you order the cantonese steak and toffee apple, they are both amazing and best you'll ever have.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kayla1095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    81
    23
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Sensational Cantonese Dining”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We ended up dining at the Bamboo House whilst looking unsuccessfully for another Chinese restaurant we'd enjoyed dining at on Little Bourke St some months ago. Very surprised to see tuxedoed waitstaff as we entered the premises (wearing our West Coast Eagles gear, having come straight from the football - feeling a little underdressed!).

Service was prompt and efficient. The menu read sublimely - all of the House Specials made us salivate but we maintained our composure and ordered the Sichuan tea smoked duck, the Cantonese beef, King prawns in oyster sauce and a serve of special fried rice each. The standouts were without doubt the beef - which was insanely melt-in-the-mouth tender with the most delightful lick-the-plate sweet and spicy sauce - and the duck.

The duck deserves a paragraph of its own. Wow. The waiter presented the duck pieces (which are spiced, marinated, smoked and then fried) along with steamed lotus buns, then with a theatrical performance worthy of the stage, proceeded to open the buns and assemble the duck meat, julietted spring onion and sauce into 9 parcels of pure joy. This dish was outstanding and sensational value at $37 for a half duck.

The prawns were great too - big, and fresh. But next time, I'll order more from the House Specials menu.

This is Chinese (Cantonese) with a WOW factor. We look forward to dining here again in August when we next return to Melbourne.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Itch-4-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Group of six”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We made a booking, running a little late. They rang to check where we were, 100 yards down the street on the way. Had been told it was popular, the place was full.
Despite the place being full, Staff were great, food fantastic, beer cold, wine good, service could not be better. What else could one say??

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Peaceful Haven”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My wife and I called in without a reservation on a week day evening and was pleasantly surprised by the quite and unhurried atmosphere. The meal was a delight, carefully staged and the wine list is quite good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GLW1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
138 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great service and great food”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I went to Bamboo House for a business dinner and remembered the place (from before tripadvisor was born) with the hardest thing being trying to find the street numbers along the road.
Typical style decore but welcoming service and a fantastic range of food to chose from, certainly something for everyone. There was a wide range of business folks, locals and visitors to Melbourne around the restaurant.
Do yourself a favour and add it to the list

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melb_Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bamboo House Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Bamboo House Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing