We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pizza”
Review of Trevi On Lygon - CLOSED

Trevi On Lygon
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Lygon Street
Adelaide
Level Contributor
270 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our time at Cafe Trevi not only because the food was good, but also because the staff were attentive, polite and professional. Between our group we had nachos (yes, one of us forgot we were in an Italian eatery), bruschetta, lasagne, various pizzas and a couple of bottles of a nice Spanish Sangiovese and there were no complaints from anyone.

It wasn't the busiest place on Lygon St that night and that concerned me a little when we went in but that concern was soon dismissed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank NUFCadl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    25
    6
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Every time I visit Melbourne I go straight to Cafe Trevi as the food is very good. The wood fired pizzas are wonderful and make a great starter. The gnocchi with creamy pesto sauce is my favourite and never disappoints. The servings are large so you never walk out hungry. The service is always friendly and welcoming. With so many restaurants to choose from on Lygon Street this family cafe is always a good choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What absolute crap!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This has to be up there with the worst of the worst in Melbourne. Staff that argued and were rude to customers. The food was just disgusting... The seafood platter was in so much oil, it was near impossible to locate the fish. The chicken was really dry with a really crappy sauce (if you can call it that). The marinara was really bland and the price these guys charge would lead you to believe you are going to get something decent. Not so!

This is one place in Melbourne you should avoid at all costs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank placematadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

We went here early on a Sunday night before the pink concert. Not too busy which was nice. I had chicken avocado pasta which was beautiful. four of us all loved our food, entree heaps big enough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suziegcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very attentive service”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I went to Cafe Trevi because it looked like a safe bet, and it was. My friends and I had steak and schnitzel and pasta and salad and gelato. The usual Lygon street fare, but everything was done to make us feel cared for. Our water was refilled regularly, we didn't have to wait for our orders to be taken, and the waiter gave us good advice about menu choices. I'd go back any time. One of my friends dropped some (prescription) pills out of his pocket, and the waiter chased us to give them back. Thanks, Cafe Trevi.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trevi On Lygon also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing