We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the Glen Waverley China Bar!”
Review of China Bar

China Bar
Ranked #872 of 4,023 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Avoid the Glen Waverley China Bar!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

In an Asian heartland of the Melbourne suburbs, we mistakenly chose China Bar above lots of other great Chinese, Malay and Vietnamese restaurants in Glen Waverley.

Apart from a moderately good and flavoursome Nasi Lemak, all was poor: slow service, missed requests (it took three asks to get glasses of water) but - worst of all - food was generally poor quality and over priced. We ordered two of the mixed BBQs and found chicken squishy, artificial-tasting and almost inedible. The broccoli (which was not even Asian-style!) and mushrooms were lukewarm, overcooked and with little flavour.

Very disappointing and I'll avoid all China Bars from now on!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenMMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    32
    19
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benalla, Australia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service as Always”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

After another great meal at the China Bar, its only fitting I let you know.
We dined on good Friday and the seafood was fresh, amazing service and helpful staff.

We have dined at all 3 China Bars in Melbourne and all are great but China Bar Russell Street is our preferred choice.

Thanks again for a wonderful night

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spiceoflifetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sensational value for quality food”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Went there in August with four other friends and we amazed with the range, quantity and quality of food, especially seafood.

Sashimi section with surf clam, kingfish and Atlantic salmon was enough to justify the pricing let alone all the rest of the options.

A must for a hungry crew who appreciate quality food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CriticAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Quick friendly service, good value, we always seem to enjoy it here, good late night feed, good times.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DaisyDayss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Like Chinese food, go to China Bar”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

If you enjoy a great range and selection of Chinese foods, seafood and deserts then you have to try China Bar.
Fair price for an all you can eat banquet , nice and fresh and a massive selection of fine foods, NOT australianised Chinese but authentic.

Great venue with a group , my family enjoyed the atmosphere and the food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NIJ-55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Bar also viewed

 

Been to China Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing