We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent yum cha, new & quirky delights on offer”

Crystal Jade Restaurant
Ranked #472 of 4,067 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent yum cha, new & quirky delights on offer”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We loved the yum cha here, fresh and delicious! Have been to yum cha in most capital cities in Australia and Hong Kong and this place ranks very high on my list. The negative comments I read prior to writing this surprise me. Yes, we waited, after putting our name on the list. 15 minutes as advised, and well worth the wait. Staff were attentive and friendly. The decor could do with a boost, but who cares, when your eating great food and enjoying the company your with! Prices were fine, and happy to pay for such a tasty lunch. Currently living in Darwin, we have one option which is just OK, and no trolleys,so this was heaven.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashbron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    87
    24
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Great food, poor service - must book”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I think more people walk up the stairs and get turned away than actually eat here. It's always busy and you'll often have a half hour wait if you haven't booked.

The food is really good with one of the best varieties in Melbourne. The service is average at best with some of the waiters in particular only focussing on their own race.

If you book it's well worthwhile, if not, there are plenty of others.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneWylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Failed the Entree Test”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Tried Peking Duck ( 4 pieces $20) and the salt and pepper quail ($15). The duck was dry and had a few gristly bits which is not acceptable. The deboned quail was very oily and the garlic slivers that made up par of the seasoning were burnt and tasted rancid.
The service was efficient enough, if not a bit disinterested. Based on our sample we decided to move on. Could be better perhaps in a large group with many dishes ordered so that there was room for a bit of hit and miss.
We like to eat at restaurants where ANYTHING ordered from the menu will be excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinktori71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adeladie
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An Eating Experience”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Thought it was a bit expensive at first but after ordering & eating, all we can say is - "you get what you pay for" - everything we ordered was absolutely delicious - good service - friendly staff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JulpetAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great yum cha ”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Great yum cha in the heart of Chinatown. Thumbs up for the usual suspects: Hau Gau, Siu Mai, and pork buns. Lots of other interesting and new offerings as well. Best fried squid. Lovely. Trolley ladies are young, friendly and helpful. Not sure that if that's a good thing, grumpy trolley ladies are part of the entertainment! Full points for attentive service though. Finished the meal with wobbly luscious crispy warm egg tarts. Heaven. Prices are a little above average but worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crystal Jade Restaurant also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Crystal Jade Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing