We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really an Empress”
Review of Empress of China

Empress of China
Ranked #2,880 of 4,023 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not really an Empress”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Chinese tea for one served in a thermos and thermos lid. No china cup. $75 for three, entree and three mains. The interesting thing was that when we paid by card, the bossy girl broke the Visa card. She sent a boy over to apologise and made no effort to give a discount or apologise herself. This place had a bizarre vibe and strange service. They need to pick up their game.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolynAnneMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    36
    27
    8
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Never Disappoints!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have been to the Empress many times in previous years. During the football season we'd come into the city for the game but we'd have lunch/dinner here first. At night time, the staff who became very friendly with us would have our favourite table ready and a good bottle of wine waiting for us. Have just been back here on the weekend after not having been for quite a while. It's the same as ever! I love to see the customers come and go and what the local 'Chinese' are ordering. My favourite is the prawn and chicken dumplings. There's BIG serves so my husband and I usually share a main and rice between us after our entrees. The staff try so hard to get things just right for you, all you have to do is ask. Don't give me the 'snooty' high class restaurants. This reminds me of Asia itself.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hickster122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geelong
Level Contributor
183 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“just a meal”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Had a meal here when visiting China town. Menu was extensive but food was nothing to rave about. Just average, restaurant looked like it could do with a good clean, wouldn't rush back here, wouldn't recommend it either.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JanKel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yunderup, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

As we approached this restaurant we ran into another couple leaving. We were looking for a good Chinese so we asked about the food they had just had to which they replied, "beautiful" so that was it. In we go.
The decor and general standard of the restaurant are average but the food we had was anything but average. We were highly impressed. The meals were served fairly promptly and didn't disappoint in any way, shape or form.
We have no hesitation at all in recommending this restaurant

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank terrybarter52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
164 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The food was nice, service was ok. We just had two mains and they bought the first dish out but without the rice, a bit annoying.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jwatkins0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Empress of China also viewed

 

Been to Empress of China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing