We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great noodles”
Review of Ito Japanese Noodle Cafe - CLOSED

Ito Japanese Noodle Cafe
Cuisines: Japanese
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I love yaki udon, and my favourite restaurant to get it from is Cafe Ito. They have the best udon in Melbourne, their gyoza and tori aga are also amazing. Prices are reasonable, service is good, and occasionally famous people wander through (I've seen Nicole Kidman and Keith Urban there once).

Date of visit: January 2013
1  Thank Bluebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

We've been a couple times and have not been disappointed. The tempura vegetables are very good and so are the gyoza. Sapporo Draught tops it off.

Date of visit: January 2012
Thank catelegno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Serves the standard japanese fare (and some fancier sets), which they can't even do to a particularly solid quality. Service is prompt, staff are polite, and seating comfortable, but there is something very lacking about the food. Give me Don Don or Purple Peanuts any day.

Date of visit: February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ling L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

ITO is a cheap but clean and comfortable Japanese restaurant around the corner from Chinatown. Having never been to Japan, I can’t vouch for the authenticity of the food, but the restaurant seems to have the standard fare: sushi, sashimi, bento boxes, noodles, curries and soups. They are well presented, smallish quantities and delicious. My personal favourites are gecki kara ramen (noodle soup with chilli pork mince) and bento box 3 which includes a dumpling, meat, fish and salad – with a mirin dip. Main courses can be had for somewhere between $10 and $20; Japanese tea is $2 a head. At those prices, you can’t go wrong. The one slight irritation is that food comes when it is ready – they don’t bring everyone’s food together. That means some people may have finished eating before others have started. But, for the price, you can’t complain.

Date of visit: January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Quelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
melbourne
9649
Reviewed 4 November 2008

i think the staff are cantonese. judge for urself!

Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Ito Japanese Noodle Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing