We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great quality Yum Cha”
Review of Lucky Chan

Lucky Chan
Ranked #1,358 of 4,034 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Southbank
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great quality Yum Cha”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The food here is a fortnightly event for me and the family. The quality of the food is excellent and although it is on the slightly pricey side, you can use your Crown signature card to get at least a little bit back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    107
    71
    43
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has a great location over looking the river and is part of the Crown casino complex. The restaurant looks good but the food is only Ok service was very fast and not particularly cheap. If you like Asian and in the area then you may want to try it but not one to go out of your way to get too

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 0006AOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Although this was our default option I'm glad we ended up here. The restaurant seemed to run with Chinese military precision. I could not fault the food. All dishes were of a very high standard and by comparison to other restaurants in the complex the bill I thought was very reasonable for a family of four. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jobe1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food and service, little pricey but it is Southbank!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Ate here on a Saturday afternoon a little later about 1:30pm. Restaurant was probably half full or a little less and this doesn't normally give you a great Yum Cha experience but the staff were very attentive.
Despite being in a booth a little away from the crowds they made sure we had all we wanted and didn't begrudge rolling the cart over to us. Steamed pork buns (My litmus test for Yum Cha) were excellent light and fluffy.

At the end this was a little expensive but probably in line or cheaper than the other restaurants on location and the food was tasty and service good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham_Nicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A tad expensive”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We ate here on boxing day and had a nice meal, as one would expect a busy venue at the crown complex on the South Bank, the food was very tasty however the portion sizes for the cost were small, with 10 people we ate entrees, had 12 mains and rice plus deserts along with drinks, the staff were good but brought some wrong orders which was annoying and one didn't arrive, only to be on the bill still, maybe some more training in customer satisfaction and attention to detail

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucky Chan also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Lucky Chan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing