We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous dinner---so glad we went inside!!”
Review of Sale-E-Pepe - CLOSED

Sale-E-Pepe
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Lygon Street
Grand Bend, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous dinner---so glad we went inside!!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

After traipsing all over downtown Melbourne in 39 C weather we were enticed to enter this restaurant for an early evening dinner. What a find!!!!! Dinner hour had not started yet so we were encouraged to take as much time as we wanted. The owner enticed us into the restaurant with promises of a free bottle of wine and he was good for his word! Pietro---outstanding waiter and he even sang the classic Nessum Dorma for us. fabulous!!! The risotto with seafood was excellent as was the spaghetti marinera. The veal was also excellent, steak....could have been a little rarer. Overall, an excellent choice for dinner and all four of us would highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoChris73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    8
    5
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Classic Italian!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was our second visit to Sale-E-Pepe and again our meals were fantastic. The meals were authentic italian, delicious and plentiful. We have recommended the restaurant to friends of ours that like us were holidaying in Melbourne, and who like us, also loved the food. If you intend to dine at Lygon St, then don't walk past this restaurant! Highly recommended!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank NQAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best marinara I've had in years”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Had to write a review as all others were negative and did not reflect the experience we had. Certainly the spruiking was persuasive, but they are no more guilty than any of the others down the strip. We had a great meal. Calamari for the kids was fresh and soft and the marinara was to die for. We would absolutely head back here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank graphite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The worst meal of my adult life - disgusting!”
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

I have never been so digusted by a meal in my life - we were bullied in off the street and fed the most evil smelling fish platter ever - must have come from the sewer - surprisingly enough the chef blamed the sauce and insisted we paid $50 for the added uncertainty of food poisoning - Please do yourself a favour and chose a different restaurant - theres plenty of them and most of the Italian ones aren't run by Lebanese

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteffyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Food very average, pushy owners”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This restaurant is a dissapointment we were spruked on the street into it and basically forced to eat there with there free offers of a free drink and bruschetta and the lady not letting us move on or say no. Now i know why they give it away free as you wouldnt pay for it. The lady who sprukes advises you that its her mothers cooking well i think i would rather a trained cook or chef cooking my meals as i could even do a better job. My partners rissotto was very average and my lasagne was very sickly to much cheese. Wouldnt recommend to anyone and please keep walking if asked to sit at this resaurant you will be doing yourself a favour.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RayleneL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sale-E-Pepe also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing