We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ranked #114 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Location and convenience”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

You can't get much closer to the CBD. Clean, comfortable and convenient. There are no extra frills but I'd rather spend my money on the city attractions than a bed, especially when you won't be spending much time in your room. Great value and efficient service.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dotcrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    438
    365
    116
    73
See reviews for
306
270
178
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

When you read some of the reviews of this place I was, quite frankly, scared.

However, the service was outstanding and for the price you really cannot complain! The room was more than big enough and the hot water was bliss after a exploring Melbourne in winter.

The big downfall though, was the lack of digital channels! Just having the major five really limits your tv viewing in evening downtime.

Clean and friendly, I know i'll be back again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kierendaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

during the short stay of 6 nights my wife and I had, we had to change rooms and stayed in 3 different rooms. The first room airconditioner was not working even allowing them to work on it for 2 nights; moved to the second room (for one night) where the heating worked, but we were bitten by bedbugs (which my wife caught and killed); moved to the third room - things improved, but housekeeping was lacking - washbasin/toilet not cleaned, bed not made - they just changed the bath towels. While the location of hotel is good, the facility should not called a hotel - it is more like backpacker standard. Will not stay there again, nor recommend it to anyone. We chose it initially because we believed in the ACCOR brand.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helpless65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F1Manager, Manager at Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear 'Helpless65',

Would you be kind enough to call me or drop ma an email so I can talk with you about your stay.

It seems to tick all the box'es for a terrible time. Not what we aim to provide our guest.

I would also like to say thank you sincerly for reporting the Bed Bug issue you detected, we really appreciate this. Early detection is vital. So I was really happy as this allowed us to blitz them.

The hotel is very basic I dont think this is conveyed well enough and will be taking a more pro-active stance on getting the message out on what we do and don't have.

I really hope to talk with you soon.

Wishing you Safe Travels & Happy Adventures.

Kindest Regards,

Hotel Manager.

Tracy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Am traveling alone , very satisfied with location , cleanliness , facilities though basic are adequate and always predictable in formula 1 . Couldn't get a cheaper hotel . No complaints xxx.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pigsrus22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Great location. Sadly the noisy shower ventilation unit prevent any real sleep. The inability to switch this off was frustrating and resulted in very little sleep. I would think twice about booking again at this location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICM_SYD_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

As a price leadership focused hotel service is restricted to reception, overall clean sheets and room. The only downside is TV, only 3 channels and yet not digital. A tiny fridge on the bedrooms wouldn't be bad.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddflach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#100 of 158 in Melbourne
376 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#116 of 158 in Melbourne
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#134 of 158 in Melbourne
1,300 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD

Property: Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Address: 97 - 103 Elizabeth St | Near the Corner of Collins & Elizabeth, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL NEWLY REFURBISHED NO CARPARK this can be booked for you, it is approx 600 meters away, please ask reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Melbourne
Melbourne Hotel Formule 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing