We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ranked #114 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not great!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel in February, we weren't very impressed and were actually refunded when I arrived home to the uk.
Luckily I took pictures of the room and the things that were broken and dirty.
Location wise was the best hotel that I stayed in during my touring around Australia!! Melbourne is beautiful.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    459
    373
    117
    77
See reviews for
308
290
188
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Hotel is closed to everything in CBD and great value
We been there in Jan 2014, the price is quite value compared with the other hotels within that area. we did not need to take the transportation by joining the local tours.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kay4433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucknow, India
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel's location is excellent being 15 minutes walk from Southern Cross Station, 5 minutes walk from Flinders Street station, a block away from town hall, 15 minutes walk from Victoria Market, a block away from Burke Mall, eating places all around, and tram stop point right outside the hotel! 24x7 taxi is available across the street outside Novotel.

Hotel: is okay for the price we pay given the price of other properties around. Rooms clean, not noisy but room service is twice a week, and space is limited. Windows do not open but translucent glasses bring in light during day time. Bathroom really tiny.

Basic breakfast there for aud 9 but hot water (and coffee/ tea sachet) + microwave use is free round the clock.

Hotel staff: super helpful. This is another high point of this hotel with such helpful and warm staff. Vicky and Amit needs a special mention for all their help and attending to our needs onsite. Huge thanks to the staff.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbyramakant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed with my two adult sons over a weekend. The hotel is in a great central CBD location and is very basic which was expected. Our room was small and dark, but comfortable. It would have been good to have at least the ability to make tea and coffee but I acknowledge that it is budget driven. The hotel served a purpose as we only slept there and was certainly good value for a CBD location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Nev67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with a friend for our first trip to Melbourne. The location is perfect! Just a 2 minute walk to Bourke Street Mall and all major tram services. The room wasn't anything special but it was clean and useable. The breakfast room is also well organised, topped up regularly it has pancakes, cereal, juice, hot drinks, fruit and toast. Again nothing special but it is ok or $9. You can use the fridge but put your room number on your products and there is hot water and a microwave that you can use. We enjoyed our stay, though it is on a main road it was surprisingly quiet. It is just a 5 minute tram from Crown Casino and a 25 minute tram to Luna a Park and St. Kilda.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FreelyVivacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Walked into our room and was smaller than what the pictures made it out to be. Stayed for 5 nights had towels changed but wasn't cleaned throughout our stay. Had to go to the reception to ask for another roll of toilet paper. Our room was small with a window that didn't open. Felt claustrophobic. Beds were good. Excellent location as in the middle of city.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adikay07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Very inexpensive and right in the heart of Melbourne. Walking and tram distance to everything. Comfortable room just the basics bed tv bathroom. Very quiet, 24hr helpful receptionist. Highly recommend when on a budget. Close to the trendy flinders lane for dinner dining.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#118 of 160 in Melbourne
208 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#110 of 160 in Melbourne
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#136 of 160 in Melbourne
1,349 reviews
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#141 of 160 in Melbourne
244 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#148 of 160 in Melbourne
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD

Property: Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Address: 97 - 103 Elizabeth St | Near the Corner of Collins & Elizabeth, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL NEWLY REFURBISHED NO CARPARK this can be booked for you, it is approx 600 meters away, please ask reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Melbourne
Melbourne Hotel Formule 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing