We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convienient and well appointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Ranked #63 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed for 5 nights while attending a conference. Clean and tidy 1 bedroom apartment with all the basics covered well. The self-catering and washer/dryer options gave more flexibility than a full service hotel at an equivalent price. Good no-fuss WiFi plan (daily refresh of 300MB data cap). Well placed for restaurants on Lygon St. The only slight drawback was being on the first floor above the lobby caused some noise (esp banging doors) to filter through after hours. Friendly and helpful staff. Would be nice if it was on the Skybus list of drop off hotels (Skybus will drop on corner of Queensberry and Lygon which is about 50 metres away, but took some convincing).

Room Tip: Avoid level 1 above the lobby (no balcony and noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Allan S,
I'd like to start by saying a big thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review from your recent stay with us! I will certainly pass on your lovely comments to our fantastic Reception team. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Carlton on Finlay in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Rickard
Director of Sales
Quest Carlton on Finlay
03 8341 4777

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights while at a conference, we had a 2 room apartment. Currently sitting at the table with the sun streaming in the window. It is very pleasant even though there are no decent views. Tidy rooms, clean and all you need. We are off the main drag and it is quiet. Best Indian and ice cream around the corner. Very comfortable bed and plenty of space. Corridor smells from cooking can be a bit annoying. Towels are large and fluffy, bed linen is good quality

Room Tip: Avoid front rooms if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeenieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear NeenieAustralia,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your lovely feedback from your stay with us.
I definitely agree with you in regards to the convenience of our location (and not to mention the fantastic food!). It is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and i will certainly pass on your comments to the front office and housekeeping team.

It was a pleasure to have you and we hope to welcome you back to Quest Carlton on Finlay in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Rickard
Business Development Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I think we stayed in the room directly below the one we had on our last visit. We loved the last visit, but this time not so much. To be fair, most of what I wrote last time applies. Layout very thoughtful. Staff helpful. Bed comfortable. The issue really arose when it came to the bathroom on this studio. Housekeeping obviously did their best to keep it clean, but it was clearly starting to fall apart. Where the paint wasn't bubbling off the skirting boards, it was completely absent, there was clearly a problem with the waterproofing around the tub/shower junction as the wall again looked to be rotting away, and of course the grouting in the tiles was beyond what housekeeping could deal with (although they had missed the toilet, which was stained). We only stayed one night, which was handy because neither of us was keen to use the bathroom this time. Not quite sure what's going on with this place, our last visit was only a year ago so I wouldn't expect this level of deterioration in facilities in that period of time. Was either lucky last time or unlucky this time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ObesaCantavit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear ObesaCantavit,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us. We apologize your stay did not live up to your expectations on this occasion. It is disappointing to hear that you did not have the same experience with us on this stay compared to your last however I am excited to share with you that we are in the process of completing a $1.5m total property refurbishment including brand new kitchens, bathrooms, furniture, beds, curtains and further facilities to all apartments. We have already finished one room and are looking to have the refurbishment completed by early next year.

We would love the opportunity to have you stay with us again once this refurbishment is completed. Please contact Amanda Rickard by email at arickard@questapartments.com.au when convenient to discuss this further. Thank you again for your feedback and if we can do anything to assist you in future, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

3 adults and 2 kids stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 3 nights and it was perfect for what we needed. Friendly service, clean and well-appointed apartments, good location, great value. Would be happy to return next time we visit Melbourne.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conno250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A nice 1BR apartment with a basic and comfortable setup, but nothing special. The taxi to the airport is around AU$45. The location is excellent for the university and the local restaurant scene, and is some 2km from the river (walkable distance). The service is somewhat blaze about the quality, but then you're probably not considering an apartment hotel if you want great service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OceanRower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Dear OceanRower,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great to hear out location was a highlight of your stay. It was a pleasure to have you and if there is anything we can do to assist you in future, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We spent a week here. Everything worked: wifi, cooker, dishwasher, TV, laundry machines. Excellent housekeeping. Bed was comfortable. Decoration was pleasant if unmemorable. Very convenient for Melbourne University and CBD. Because it's in "Little Italy", you have to brave innumerable people trying to get you into their indistinguishable Italian restaurants. And we felt guilty not going to any of them. We'd return on a business trip, but we'd choose somewhere with more character for a romantic visit to Melbourne.

Room Tip: We were in 310, which had a balcony and faced west, and even had a bit of a view. Probably higher up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian_de_Kilburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Dear Brian_de_Kilburn,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments from your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you and if there is anything we can do in future to assist you, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I shared their 2 bedroom apartment with 3 friends for 2 nights while staying in Melbourne for a weekend conference. It cost us around AUD 45-50 to travel to/from the airport by taxi. The apartment was simple but clean enough. The bed was comfortable and the shower had plenty of hot water and good water pressure. It was smack bang in the middle of Lygon St so there were plenty of restaurants to eat out in the evenings. I usually like to have a bit of luxury when I travel for pleasure so wouldn't have picked this place if I were on holidays. It was fine for a conference weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shanzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Dear Shanzx
Thank you for taking the time to share your review from your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that our location was a highlight of your stay. Please be assured that i will certainly pass your comments onto management regarding the condition of the property. I am also delighted to share with you that later on in the year we will commence a very exciting refurbishment and we would love for you to come back and stay with us once this has been completed. In the mean time, if there is anything in future we can do to assist please do not hesitate to contact us. Thank you again Shanzx for your crutial feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Quest Carlton on Finlay in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#117 of 161 in Melbourne
140 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on the Park
Mantra on the Park
#72 of 161 in Melbourne
2,284 reviews
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#88 of 161 in Melbourne
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest Flemington
#61 of 161 in Melbourne
326 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Carlton on Finlay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Carlton on Finlay

Address: 2 - 9 Finlay Pl | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £73 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quest Carlton on Finlay 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish, comfortable and newly refurbished serviced apartment accommodation located in the heart of Melbournes' "Little Italy" awaits you at Quest Carlton on Finlay. Our 52 bright and spacious executive apartments provide you with a 'home away from home' experience from which you can make the most of your stay in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Quest Carlton on Finlay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Carlton On Finlay Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing