We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to a old favorite, close to city, but with the ambiance of the Italian strip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Ranked #38 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Back to a old favorite, close to city, but with the ambiance of the Italian strip”
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Weve caome back again
its hidden away but has delivered the previous 4 times.
the location is great, the accommodation clean and self catering to contain the budget. ...the proximity to the restaurant strip is a major draw card....staff are courteous. ..good value

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear C B,
Thank for your for sharing your lovely feedback about your recent and previous stays with us. It is always a delight to accommodate you at Quest Carlton on Finlay and we look forward to welcoming you back for a 6th time!

Warmest Regards,

Amanda Rickard
Director of Sales
Quest Carlton on Finlay
03 9663 2888
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    135
    29
    8
    4
See reviews for
96
62
15
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Folks, just stayed here for 3 nights whilst attending a Conference in melbourne. My 1 bedroom apartment was cheaper than the matchbox rooms my colleagues were in, in the 5 stars. Plus I had a decent kitchenette, fridge, and washing machine. Quiet, and 20 secs to Lygon Street - about a 10 minute walk from the Lygon strip of restaurants and bars, but in its own hub of the same. The apartments allow you to eat at nominated restaurants all a minute or 2 walk away and the restaurant will charge your room number; place was clean & quiet; staff were helpful but non-invasive. I wishes I had a room with a balcony & it would have been perfect for my tastes, but as you can get 2 bedrooms here maybe they score the balconies so I'm seriously thinking this would be a great family place to stay as well. And you can walk to the city - maybe 10 mins max to Chinatown. I even saw a guy with his dog in the lift, so possibly they're pet friendly, or maybe this dude was just being sneaky, I really don't know. All in all, I really liked it as a hassle free stay - but I mainly chose it as it was near to the Conference. It may suit some of your travel needs.

Room Tip: Check which have balconies. the Thai place is cheap, and charged to your room, food is fresh etc bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve_king1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear steve_king1967,
The team and myself from Quest Carlton on Finlay would like to say a big thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review from your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and please be assured that on your next stay we will do our very best to place you into a room with a balcony so that you are able to enjoy the view. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Carlton on Finlay in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Amanda Rickard
Director of Sales
Quest Carlton on Finlay
03 9663 2888
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed for 5 nights while attending a conference. Clean and tidy 1 bedroom apartment with all the basics covered well. The self-catering and washer/dryer options gave more flexibility than a full service hotel at an equivalent price. Good no-fuss WiFi plan (daily refresh of 300MB data cap). Well placed for restaurants on Lygon St. The only slight drawback was being on the first floor above the lobby caused some noise (esp banging doors) to filter through after hours. Friendly and helpful staff. Would be nice if it was on the Skybus list of drop off hotels (Skybus will drop on corner of Queensberry and Lygon which is about 50 metres away, but took some convincing).

Room Tip: Avoid level 1 above the lobby (no balcony and noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Allan S,
I'd like to start by saying a big thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review from your recent stay with us! I will certainly pass on your lovely comments to our fantastic Reception team. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Carlton on Finlay in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Rickard
Director of Sales
Quest Carlton on Finlay
03 8341 4777
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights while at a conference, we had a 2 room apartment. Currently sitting at the table with the sun streaming in the window. It is very pleasant even though there are no decent views. Tidy rooms, clean and all you need. We are off the main drag and it is quiet. Best Indian and ice cream around the corner. Very comfortable bed and plenty of space. Corridor smells from cooking can be a bit annoying. Towels are large and fluffy, bed linen is good quality

Room Tip: Avoid front rooms if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeenieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear NeenieAustralia,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your lovely feedback from your stay with us.
I definitely agree with you in regards to the convenience of our location (and not to mention the fantastic food!). It is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and i will certainly pass on your comments to the front office and housekeeping team.

It was a pleasure to have you and we hope to welcome you back to Quest Carlton on Finlay in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Rickard
Business Development Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I think we stayed in the room directly below the one we had on our last visit. We loved the last visit, but this time not so much. To be fair, most of what I wrote last time applies. Layout very thoughtful. Staff helpful. Bed comfortable. The issue really arose when it came to the bathroom on this studio. Housekeeping obviously did their best to keep it clean, but it was clearly starting to fall apart. Where the paint wasn't bubbling off the skirting boards, it was completely absent, there was clearly a problem with the waterproofing around the tub/shower junction as the wall again looked to be rotting away, and of course the grouting in the tiles was beyond what housekeeping could deal with (although they had missed the toilet, which was stained). We only stayed one night, which was handy because neither of us was keen to use the bathroom this time. Not quite sure what's going on with this place, our last visit was only a year ago so I wouldn't expect this level of deterioration in facilities in that period of time. Was either lucky last time or unlucky this time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ObesaCantavit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear ObesaCantavit,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us. We apologize your stay did not live up to your expectations on this occasion. It is disappointing to hear that you did not have the same experience with us on this stay compared to your last however I am excited to share with you that we are in the process of completing a $1.5m total property refurbishment including brand new kitchens, bathrooms, furniture, beds, curtains and further facilities to all apartments. We have already finished one room and are looking to have the refurbishment completed by early next year.

We would love the opportunity to have you stay with us again once this refurbishment is completed. Please contact Amanda Rickard by email at arickard@questapartments.com.au when convenient to discuss this further. Thank you again for your feedback and if we can do anything to assist you in future, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

3 adults and 2 kids stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 3 nights and it was perfect for what we needed. Friendly service, clean and well-appointed apartments, good location, great value. Would be happy to return next time we visit Melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conno250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
197 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A nice 1BR apartment with a basic and comfortable setup, but nothing special. The taxi to the airport is around AU$45. The location is excellent for the university and the local restaurant scene, and is some 2km from the river (walkable distance). The service is somewhat blaze about the quality, but then you're probably not considering an apartment hotel if you want great service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OceanRower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear OceanRower,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great to hear out location was a highlight of your stay. It was a pleasure to have you and if there is anything we can do to assist you in future, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#114 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Lygon Street
Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lygon Street
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
#152 of 159 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#87 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Carlton on Finlay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Carlton on Finlay

Property: Quest Carlton on Finlay
Address: 2 - 9 Finlay Pl | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quest Carlton on Finlay 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish, comfortable and newly refurbished serviced apartment accommodation located in the heart of Melbournes' "Little Italy" awaits you at Quest Carlton on Finlay. Our 52 bright and spacious executive apartments provide you with a 'home away from home' experience from which you can make the most of your stay in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Quest Carlton on Finlay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Carlton On Finlay Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing