We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Ranked #55 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Quest Carlton is in the perfect spot to explore many of the cool areas of Melbourne. It is a minute away from a restaurant-lined street, but is quiet inside. The rooms have everything you need except biscuits. I'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda R, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Alison J,

Thank you very much for sharing your glowing review from your recent stay with us at Quest Carlton on Finlay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Carlton on Finlay in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Rickard
Director of Sales, Quest Carlton on Finlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    155
    34
    11
    6
See reviews for
109
74
17
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wangaratta, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We only stayed one night so were very happy with our basic unit- handy laundry & kitchen, amazing blockout curtains for a great sleep! Reception staff were lovely- after travelling 3hrs & from country Vic they were very helpful with driving times, traffic tips and parking- definitely will use them again :)

Room Tip: Be aware that balconies mean folks are outside so room can be a bit noisy if you like fresh air
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank WangFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda R, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear WangFrog,

Thank you for sharing such a great review from your recent stay with us! I am pleased to read that you found our apartments to be well appointed and our Reception staff to be helpful. I will certainly forward your lovely comments onto the Reception staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Carlton on Finlay in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Rickard
Director of Sales, Quest Carlton on Finlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Tucked in a great little lane just of lygon street, i was pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was. Rooms are average, with everything you need but lack that special touch that would make them excellent.
Close to some great restaurants and tourist attractions, easy public transport acccess and only a short walk to the city, its great value for money.
Customer service is amazing, and i would stay again to deal with the fabulous staff, check in was easy, and special thanks to Ann who leant me her personal phone charger when I realised I had forgotten mine and the hotel had none avaliable.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda R, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Lauren S,

Thank you for sharing your glowing review from your recent stay with us at Quest Carlton on Finlay. I am delighted to read that you found our rooms to be quiet, location to be convenient and our customer service memorable. Please be assured i will forward your lovely comments onto Ann and the rest of the front office team.

We hope to welcome you back to Quest Carlton on Finlay in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Rickard
Director of Sales, Quest Carlton on Finlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The positives:
Great location, a few steps from Lygon st
Comfy beds
Balcony - albeit with no furniture!
Quiet

Negatives:
Cleanliness not good, huge spatter of something in the kitchen wall which was not cleaned during 4 night stay. Bathroom surfaces not cleaned during service either.
Bathroom very basic, needed regrouting badly.
No extra facilities, eg no pool, gym, business centre.
For the price, I expected a few extras or luxuries, but there are none.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tassiemum94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda R, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear tassiemum94,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at Quest Carlton on Finlay. I am delighted to read you enjoyed our great location during your stay, along with finding our beds to be comfortable and rooms to be quiet.

Please be assured that i have forwarded on your housekeeping feedback to the general manager and the housekeeping team. This feedback will be thoroughly discussed so that we can improve for the future. Cleanliness is something that we pride ourselves on and your feedback will assist us to continually improve.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Quest Carlton on Finlay in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Rickard
Director of Sales, Quest Carlton on Finlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phillip island
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

As I have had good experiences previously at Quest apartments, Quest on Finlay was an easy choice. As usual the staff were friendly, the apartment clean and the bed comfortable. We were disappointed that when we asked for a table and chairs for the balcony, there were none available. There was some minor repairs required above the shower and the tiles on the floor in the lift are cracked and need replacing. (looked shabby). The location was great. Easy walk to the cafes and restaurants of Carlton and 20 min walk to Melbourne CBD.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PhillipIslandSonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda R, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear PhillipIslandSonja,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review from your recent stay with us.
I am delighted to read that you found our apartments to be comfortable and most importantly clean. Please be assured that I have passed your comments onto our fantastic front office team to commend them for their continuous great service.

I have also forwarded your comments onto the General Manager in relation to the availability of additional chairs and tables for balconies along with the apartment bathroom maintenance. I am excited to advise you that we are in the process of commencing a total property refurbishment set to be completed late 2014/early 2015 in which all rooms will receive new kitchens, bathrooms, mattress's and furnishings.

I am delighted that you found our location to be convenient, it is great to stay in the heart of Lygon Street but walk to the CBD! We are certainly very lucky.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to Quest Carlton on Finlay in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Rickard
Director of Sales, Quest Carlton on Finlay
arickard@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We visit Melbourne frequently for business and pleasure. Finally we have found a place we will come back to again and again The location is great and the the staff friendly, courteous, professional and helpful. While these are not modern self contained units they are clean BUT MOST IMPORTANTLY functional - ie a generous size bedroom ( with plenty of room to walk around the bed) functional facilities ( kitchen and laundry) and daily cleaning . There is no quibbling about laundry detergent, and dish-washing liquid etc - the place has a sense of mutual responsibility and generosity of spirit. Thanks we continue to enjoy our stay for another night or two.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda R, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Helen K,

Thank you for taking the time to share such lovely feedback from your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that our location, great staff and convenience of our self contained apartments were major highlights during your time in Melbourne. It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Carlton on Finlay in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Rickard
Director of Sales, Quest Carlton on Finlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peregian Beach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

my partner and I were looking for a nice place to stay in walking or tram distance to mel cbd. was very happy with the room and the size of it. Ours had no view however as we were out and about most of the time, who needed it!
The staff were friendly, and very helpful.
Just outside of the hotel was a lovely collection of little restaurants and bars which we made good use of.
A great hotel in a great position.!

Room Tip: if you want a view, don't stay on the ground level. It looked like the rooms to the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank robyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda R, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Robyn H,
I am delighted to read that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us. I am also glad that you put the beautiful restaurants that surround us to good use! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Carlton on Finlay in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Rickard
Director of Sales, Quest Carlton on Finlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#119 of 160 in Melbourne
133 reviews
Lygon Street
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
#154 of 160 in Melbourne
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#81 of 160 in Melbourne
375 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Carlton on Finlay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Carlton on Finlay

Property: Quest Carlton on Finlay
Address: 2 - 9 Finlay Pl | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quest Carlton on Finlay 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish, comfortable and newly refurbished serviced apartment accommodation located in the heart of Melbournes' "Little Italy" awaits you at Quest Carlton on Finlay. Our 52 bright and spacious executive apartments provide you with a 'home away from home' experience from which you can make the most of your stay in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Quest Carlton on Finlay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Carlton On Finlay Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing