We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”
Review of Gingerboy

Gingerboy
Ranked #77 of 4,029 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$70
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Description: The dining experience at Gingerboy is centered on a modern Australian adaptation of the Asian hawker-style street market food. The restaurant's hustle and bustle, its fast-paced, youthful and dynamic environment is influenced not only by the dining culture of Southeast Asia but also by buzzing Asian marketplaces and an Asian sense of colour and fun.
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Everything here was outstanding! Fabulous food to share, modern Australian with an Asian touch. Great service, friendly staff. We had been told by friends that a booking was essential, but we wandered in on a weekday at 2.00 pm, and we're delighted to be seated, kitchen closes at 2.30, but they were happy to feed us well after that time.
The restaurant also sells a cookbook with some of its recipes which I am looking forward to try.
It was a signed copy by Teague Ezard himself!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liliy467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    215
    87
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
145 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Top of the Class”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have been to Gingerboy three times now in different sizes of groups and all three trips have been fantastic. Forget Chin Chin, this is the place to go. And they accept bookings! I would absolutely recommend the son in law eggs, prawn and ginger dumplings and the crispy pork belly buns. All the mains are worth eating too, there's just too much choice. The service is very good too and there's a good selection of cocktails, wine and beer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowEuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
573 reviews
408 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Boy, Ginger can cook”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Loved the food - came from Sydney on a Friday night - and had a late booking - 9.15pm - must have been one of the last tables seated. We loved the food - we tried the 'tempura chilli salt cuttlefish, lemon and roasted sesame', and the 'salt and pepper chicken spare ribs, tamarind hot sauce' for starters - these were excellent - especially the chicken ribs - see photos - they were so good we had almost finished them by the time I had my camera out.

We then shared the 'caramelised ox cheek, hot and sour sauce, kaffir lime, chilli and lemon' - which was the best dish of the night - had some steamed rice with it. That was all we needed - servings were quite generous.

Wine list is OK - beers are cold!

Was a good night.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LassiComeHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 561 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was our second visit to Gingerboy and we hoped that it would be better than our previous visit.Alas,we were disappointed as the seating is too tightly packed making access difficult
The table napkins are paper and not linen as one would expect and there is a feeling of being rushed to allow the table to be rebooked
We ordered two entrees and two shared meals.The choices were tasteful and well cooked.
When the shared dishes arrived they were served together and no attempt was made to provide new plates.We had to request clean plates to avoid a conflict in tastes from the entree sauces.
The side salad was a disaster- thick wagon wheels of cucumber which tasted hours old and lacked any dressing.
The sweet plates offered are few and our choice of banana fritters was not wise.
This is not an inexpensive restaurant and one expects greater care and effort.
There will not be a third visit

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“DEEEEEEEEEELICIOUS”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Amazing service, wonderful food and a memorable night out.

From the minute we arrived, we were in awe of the ambiance and the aromas wafting through to the bar and restaurant area, and were not disappointed by anything we chose from the menu. If you've not ventured down Crossley Street to Gingerboy before, it's a must!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NikkiVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gingerboy also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Gingerboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing