We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BREAKFAST AT THE LIBRARY”
Review of Journal

Journal
Ranked #476 of 4,023 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: US$0 - US$18
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Brisbane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“BREAKFAST AT THE LIBRARY”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Great atmosphere, great coffee and a nice range of choices for breakfast. We went back for seconds two days later !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    55
    17
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tawonga South, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love your work, rosa”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Rosa Mitchell cooks Italian trattoria food as it should be, and gives great value for money...
Small menu, small wine list-always great.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizcinatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great venue for a casual lunch”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Very relaxed atmosphere. The service was good without overpowering. Quite a limited menu but good quality.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
600 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Cosy Place to Drink and Eat in the Heart of Melbourne”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My first visit to the Journal Cafe this afternoon. Its a very pleasant and cosy space with mostly longish tables to be shared by six to eight people but also with a few two seaters. Its got a bookish atmosphere with mostly city workers and student/intellectual types in residence. A friend and I just had coffees today and even though we spent a good hour and a half finishing them no one tried to hurry us on; thats a very welcome and friendly indicator. The food (think various bruschettas, antipasti, salads and sandwiches as well as some hot dishes) and alcoholic drinks are also reliably good, friends have told me. This is a good place to spend a few hours reading, meeting friends or just using your laptop, and the location in one of Melbourne's attractive downtown streets (Flinders Lane) near the city's famous lane-ways, is a major attraction. Its also part of the City Library and Council of Adult Education complex.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretentious atmosphere, surly waitresses”
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

We went to journal today for breakfast looking for standard breakfast type food and realised they didn't have the eggs benedict/florentine type breakfast we were looking for. We were too tired to look for another place so stayed. The waitresses looked like they didn't want to be at work and were really odd. We were ignored when we walked in then shown a
Table as if we were a great inconvenience, had a toddler and pram with us so I don't know if this had anything to do with it. The waitress was just odd there's no other way to describe it, slow, surly, I think she was trying to look cool or something, but it came off as unfriendly, so smiles here from anyone whatsoever. I personally think this place had a pretentious air about it.

Thankfully the food was alright, we had the cheese n tomato toast with poached egg...tastes good but for a hearty more
Filling breakfast with maybe two poached eggs not one would go elsewhere. Looking around
The place we also noted that other bruschetta dishes were very small.

The chai was divine however.

Annoying that they don't accept card payments but I find this is an Aussie thing, a nuisance we must live with.

Overall the food was ok but the
Attitude from staff would stop me from going there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Umbongo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Journal also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Journal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing