We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable”
Review of Ishiya Stone Grill

Ishiya Stone Grill
Ranked #422 of 4,062 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We walked in to Ishiya about 6.30 on a Friday night just before the mad Friday rush. We sorta just stumbled upon it actually but the stuff were excellent they explained the menu & choices we had, we decided to book a table for later (7pm) so we could go back to the hotel and change for dinner.
When we came back the same friendly waiter seated us and served us.
We had a marvellous experience. The service was top notch, food was excellent. No complaints at all. Will make a point to stop here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    28
    3
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Worth every penny!”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This restaurant is a must visit. The staff was very friendly, willing to help & not imposing. The food was out of this world and the atmosphere... Well everything you would want in a renown restaurant like Ishiya. Def worth a visit!
Tried the seafood grill, teriyaki chicken & duck grill with 2 friends, yum yum yum!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virtue2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible service !!!”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The lady who came to take our order was unfriendly, grumpy and totally ignoring our questions.
We ask for the manager and gave her feedback, but we end up getting the same attitude for the manager. If it wasn't for celebrating our daughters' Birthday, we would have walk out of there in no time. First, we thought it was their way of service, but after seeing them serving other tables, we understand that it's their discrimination against Asians.
How sad!! After all, they are asians themselves.
Saw a lot of good reviews about this restaurant, however, the few that dislike it all related to their service, and discrimination. What a pity.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank flipflop800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unique and delicious dining experience”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I ate here with my Mum on the last night of a "foodie weekend" we planned. We were delighted. The atmosphere is great, not too big, but not squishy.
The food was divine. The stonegrill concept is great. We ordered a stonefrill set each, one with Wagyu Sirloin, the other with Tiger prawns. The sets include a sashimi appetiser, garlic fried rice (which is wonderful) and the stonegrill main meal which includes tofu, mushroom and zucchini with your choice of meats. There are also 5 dipping sauces.
We refrained from dessert, although it was tempting!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank erandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mundelein, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A nice find in Melbourne's Crowded Chinatown”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

There are many choices in Melbourne's Chinatown. You will be sure to find people outside restaurants wooing you to come inside. Check out Ishiya. A Japanese Steak House that is a bit unique, in that your steak is presented on a very hot lava rock, so in fact you slice off pieces of tenderloin / fillet, and cook to your liking. The service here is attentive, it is a smaller restaurant, so if you are here at a busy weekend, you will probably want to call ahead. The food is delicious. Nice selection of appetizers. Our colleagues had the fillet, which was very tender and very tasty. Some of the neighboring tables sampled the multi-course menu, which did not look as appetizing.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LettsGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ishiya Stone Grill also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Ishiya Stone Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing