We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authenticity” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ying Thai 2

Ying Thai 2
Ranked #692 of 3,851 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$21
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Lygon Street
Bangkok
Level Contributor
365 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Authenticity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

After a couple of weeks away from home, you are looking for good, wholesome, authentic taste which can be found at Ying Thai 2. Great food, authentic taste and value for money.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarakit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    58
    20
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Thai Restaurant in Lygon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This Thai restaurant was highly recommended by my friends and it didn't disappoint. The Tom Yum soup was spicy and would satisfy anyone who loves spicy food. We ordered steamed garoupa fish which came very fresh. Service was fast even though restaurant was packed. One of the best authentic Thai restaurants I have patronized!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vivientan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Genuine Thai food at great prices at this busy little restaurant. I eat here whenever I am in Melbourne. Love the soft shell crab salad, fried crab on finely sliced salad of Granny Smith apple, chilli and coriander. The tom yum soup is great and the Chinese broccoli with pork is lovely too. Service is friendly and efficient.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank wilkaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spicy + amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Some of the best Thai I've had! The Pad Gra Pud was a religious experience and the Panang was right there with it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed of second time visiti”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Tonight was second time came here, as last time I came with bunch of classmate. And that was end great with our group. This time I liked the green chicken curry, but chicken were too tough to eat. And pha tha wasn't hot eough, the only thing is looking good. Overall, food is average.
Staff were ok, some of them were friendly. Also, it's over-priced. Even though it's located on lygon, there still need some quality, isn't it??? Probably would not return again.

Helpful?
Thank ReneeT0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ying Thai 2 also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Ying Thai 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing