We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for theatre goers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks on Lonsdale
Ranked #76 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location for theatre goers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The location of Oaks on Lonsdale is perfect for theatre goers - close to Princess Theatre, Her Majesty's Theatre and the Comedy Theatre where I went along to the Rocky Horror Show. It's also only a couple of minutes walk away from Parliament Station where you can catch trains or trams including the free city circle tram.

I stayed in a one bedroom unit which had a separate kitchen/living area, plus laundry facilities. My room was on the 25th floor and north/west corner of the building which meant I had a great view towards Carlton Gardens and beyond and being high I wasn't disturbed by the street noise.

Plenty of great eating options nearby, but my pick was Guy Grossi's restaurants around the corner in Bourke Street - the Cellar Bar for a fantastic breakfast or coffee, or Florentino Upstairs for a luxurious dining experience.

Room Tip: The upper floors are quieter, and the north west corner rooms have views over Carlton Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. It is always pleasing to hear that you had a great stay and the location was great.

We hope you enjoyed the show and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Oaks on Lonsdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    391
    112
    42
    29
See reviews for
167
312
49
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Spent an enjoyable 4 days exploring Melbourne and our one-bedroom appt was a great relaxing retreat at the end of the day. With a rear-facing balcony on 17th floor ,overlooking City Hall and the MCG ( rather than the front which overlooks noisy Lonsdale St) ,this was a good value option.It is well-placed to walk to the major sights with cafés for breakfast on the doorstep.The room was modern,spotless and well-appointed.We didn't use the kitchenette but it would be fine for preparing simple meals or reheating .Desk staff were courteous and helpful .Would certainly use again.

Room Tip: Rear-facing higher rooms are quieter with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and staying with us. It is certainly pleasing to read such great feedback on your stay as well as the rooms and staff - this has been passed to the respected departments.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stopped here in March for four nights and really loved the location and the apartments.

We had a one bed apartment and our daughter slept in a rollaway single bed. The rooms were very clean and well maintained and the little kitchen contained everything you need.

Our only concern was the balcony doors and the ease with which these could opened. We were on the 21st floor and our daughters bed was right next to the balcony doors - she could quite easily have opened these herself as there was no latch or additional lock on the door. As a result we had to keep the curtains closed and a chair pushed up against the balcony door to give us a little more peace of mind.

Other than this we can't fault it, very well located for the free tram around the CBD, lovely cafes and restaurants and very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLN-Raff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback - it is pleasing to hear you found our staff friendly, helpful and the location of the property.

It is a shame to hear about the balcony however, they do have a latch on them to lock. This feedback have been passed to maintenance for a check

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights over Easter, the location is v good , to walk to Melbourne Central for shopping 15min easy walk. QVB along way has Woolworths a large supermarket. The free tram is a 5 min walk from the hotel and goes to Melbourne Central. I was not advised the internet was free for 30mins, I had to ask on day 3, as I forgot it was free so didn't use it.

Lonsdale St hotel has no nearby cafe to quickly drop into, it does have a small supermarket though. I prefer the Oaks on Market if you had to choose, this Market St address would be the newer one I stayed at 6 years back.

The rooms are older at Lonsdale and even on level 24 , I heard bottles and occasional car siren. My neighbour decided to turn the stereo up loud and at 3am , my last night, I phoned reception who promptly came upstairs and sorted this out. My refrigerator was a freezer so this was disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet side , I did
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeeba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is unfortunate that you found our rooms to be quite modern however, we do have other room types available for you to have upgraded to, our friendly reception is always happy to assist with this.

We hope to welcome you back again when you're next in Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Excellent size and had everything you need to come back to at the end of a busy day.
There is a small supermarket right next door if needed.There are loads of restaurants around. Especially Chinese and Greek.

Room Tip: Get as high up as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Glad you enjoyed the spaciousness of our apartments and found them well equipped for your needs. As you found out, if you dont feel like preparing your own meals in our fully self contained kitchens, there is an abundance of restaurants including Chinatown which is only half a block away.

I hope you had a great time in Australia and thanks for your comments.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a 1 bedroom apartment for 9 days. The apartment had all the basics to cook meals. It was always left clean and soaps etc replenished. Our apartment had a nice view from the balcony but be aware that it was noisy during weekdays and early hours from busy Lonsdale st. Overall great value and excellent location. We will definitely stay again here when visiting Melbourne next.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bigbird84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thanks you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding yor stay at Oaks on Londale. Fantastic to hear that a senior Tripadvisor contributer would return when next in Melbourne.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Ryde, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Large clean comfortable apartment well placed in the CBD near the best eateries, gyms and conveniences. Well laid out one bedroom apartment has plenty of room to stretch out a relax. Shower pieces were broken when we arrived but they fixed them promptly the next day.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Pleased to hear you enjoyed the aprtment during your working week here and hope it assisted you to relax after each busy day. Also glad to hear that we were able to rectify the small maintenance issue quickly for you.

Hope to see you again soon and appreciate your comments.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#38 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Central Business District
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#124 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#43 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Property: Oaks on Lonsdale
Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing