We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oaks on Lonsdale
Ranked #76 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Great location, good views of the Catholic Cathedral, MCG and Flinders Park (we were on the 24th floor). We were travelling with another couple and the 2 bed roomed apartment was great, with 2 bathrooms and plenty of room. The apartment was looking a bit tired and there were a few maintenance issues.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Pipolata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It's great to hear you had a pleasant time with us. Please accept our apologies for the maintenance issues that occured during your stay, your feedback has been passed to Maintenance for a check.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,
Oaks on Lonsdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

557 - 563 of 996 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

These apartments are well located ten minute walk into centre of town or a five minute walk to free city tram or parliament train station . Great little shop next door for snacks , beer etc . The two bedroom apartment was big and very stocked with everything you need including washer and dryer . Would recommend

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank waiash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback. It is great to hear you had an enjoyable stay in our apartments, your feedback has been passed on to the respective departments. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Oaks on Lonsdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Located a short stroll from Parliament station, tram stops plus handy to theatres, china town, beautiful parks and historical buildings. Stayed in a studio apartment for a couple of days due to a hot deal price when booked a few months out. These studios are definitely only suitable for very short stays due to limited storage and no seating or table. We were on the 28th floor overlooking Parliament House which compensated for the small studio. We then moved into a one bedroom apartment for 3 nights which was spacious and so much more comfortable. The cost to upgrade was worth it. Stayed on the 24th floor so was nice and quiet. Enjoyed the location, price and would recommend an apartment on high floors.

Room Tip: Apartment for long stays on high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MooreFamily63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to read such great feedback and am very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay in our 1 bedroom apartment. Please contact us the next time you stay as there are different views from the building.

We hope to see you again.

Regards,
Oaks on Lonsdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The location of Oaks on Lonsdale is perfect for theatre goers - close to Princess Theatre, Her Majesty's Theatre and the Comedy Theatre where I went along to the Rocky Horror Show. It's also only a couple of minutes walk away from Parliament Station where you can catch trains or trams including the free city circle tram.

I stayed in a one bedroom unit which had a separate kitchen/living area, plus laundry facilities. My room was on the 25th floor and north/west corner of the building which meant I had a great view towards Carlton Gardens and beyond and being high I wasn't disturbed by the street noise.

Plenty of great eating options nearby, but my pick was Guy Grossi's restaurants around the corner in Bourke Street - the Cellar Bar for a fantastic breakfast or coffee, or Florentino Upstairs for a luxurious dining experience.

Room Tip: The upper floors are quieter, and the north west corner rooms have views over Carlton Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. It is always pleasing to hear that you had a great stay and the location was great.

We hope you enjoyed the show and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Oaks on Lonsdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Spent an enjoyable 4 days exploring Melbourne and our one-bedroom appt was a great relaxing retreat at the end of the day. With a rear-facing balcony on 17th floor ,overlooking City Hall and the MCG ( rather than the front which overlooks noisy Lonsdale St) ,this was a good value option.It is well-placed to walk to the major sights with cafés for breakfast on the doorstep.The room was modern,spotless and well-appointed.We didn't use the kitchenette but it would be fine for preparing simple meals or reheating .Desk staff were courteous and helpful .Would certainly use again.

Room Tip: Rear-facing higher rooms are quieter with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and staying with us. It is certainly pleasing to read such great feedback on your stay as well as the rooms and staff - this has been passed to the respected departments.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stopped here in March for four nights and really loved the location and the apartments.

We had a one bed apartment and our daughter slept in a rollaway single bed. The rooms were very clean and well maintained and the little kitchen contained everything you need.

Our only concern was the balcony doors and the ease with which these could opened. We were on the 21st floor and our daughters bed was right next to the balcony doors - she could quite easily have opened these herself as there was no latch or additional lock on the door. As a result we had to keep the curtains closed and a chair pushed up against the balcony door to give us a little more peace of mind.

Other than this we can't fault it, very well located for the free tram around the CBD, lovely cafes and restaurants and very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLN-Raff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback - it is pleasing to hear you found our staff friendly, helpful and the location of the property.

It is a shame to hear about the balcony however, they do have a latch on them to lock. This feedback have been passed to maintenance for a check

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights over Easter, the location is v good , to walk to Melbourne Central for shopping 15min easy walk. QVB along way has Woolworths a large supermarket. The free tram is a 5 min walk from the hotel and goes to Melbourne Central. I was not advised the internet was free for 30mins, I had to ask on day 3, as I forgot it was free so didn't use it.

Lonsdale St hotel has no nearby cafe to quickly drop into, it does have a small supermarket though. I prefer the Oaks on Market if you had to choose, this Market St address would be the newer one I stayed at 6 years back.

The rooms are older at Lonsdale and even on level 24 , I heard bottles and occasional car siren. My neighbour decided to turn the stereo up loud and at 3am , my last night, I phoned reception who promptly came upstairs and sorted this out. My refrigerator was a freezer so this was disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet side , I did
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeeba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is unfortunate that you found our rooms to be quite modern however, we do have other room types available for you to have upgraded to, our friendly reception is always happy to assist with this.

We hope to welcome you back again when you're next in Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#48 of 161 in Melbourne
1,595 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#41 of 161 in Melbourne
1,931 reviews
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#88 of 161 in Melbourne
2,390 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#37 of 161 in Melbourne
2,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £83 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing