We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dilapidated hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks on Lonsdale
Ranked #76 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dilapidated hotel”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We booked this place months ago. We arrived late on the Friday night to find there was a leak from the toilet spread over bathroom floor. We informed reception next morning and were moved to another room eventually once the manager had been consulted. He eventaully rang me and offered me an upgrade to a better room after we had moved - this was now the Sunday. I declined this offer because it would have meant two out of four nights that we had moved. This hygiene problem should have been picked up in normal routine house keeping.The front desk staff would not make a decision without consulting with management. There were two room near ours that had all night parties and friends of ours rang the police as the staff were not prepared to do anything after numerous calls
There are signs in the lift stating that the building was secure between 100pm and 7am and to use your room cards to obtain lift access to your floor and room. The building was wide open at night with NO security measures.
The lifts I believe are in dire needs of good maintenance as they make noise that should not be there.
These apartments are in urgent need of care, they are run down, dirty and need for attentive staff who have the authority to make decisions such as what I have just said.
I will not stay at Oaks on Lonsdale again

Room Tip: They allow groups to stay and party in their rooms thus keeping all other guests awake until police...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete22353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you on for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I’m sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay.

Unfortunately, staff are limited to what they can do in regards to maintenance issues. If the issue is unable to be rectified, a room move is offered for your comfort for the remainder of your stay. I understand that this may not have been ideal at the time and that this should have been reported prior to your arrival. The Housekeeping Team Leader has been made aware of your feedback and staff has been reminded of the standards of the rooms. I apologise for the inconvenience caused.

The building and lifts are secured off each night by our Night Manager, the key security has been reinforced to ensure the safety of our guests. Unfortunately, at times, we are unable to control the noise levels of some guests however, when informed; staff does take immediate action to ensure the comfort of all our guests.

Thank you again for your review, I’m sorry to hear you won’t stay with us again but I certainly hope you try out one of our other properties.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    389
    112
    42
    29
See reviews for
165
312
49
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We recently stayed 5 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment. We only had a standard 1 bedroom so we were on level 7 but thankfully on the back side of the hotel. We did not have any noise problems and we slept very well. The apartment was very nice, comfortable and clean.
We liked the location, lots of restaurants nearby and the main shopping area just a 10 minute walk. It is also very close to the free Circle Tram stop which is very handy for getting around town.
Be sure to try the little coffee shop next door, they serve good cheap breakfasts and the coffee was very nice too.
So overall we had a enjoyable time staying at this hotel and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear you had an enjoyable stay in our 1 bedroom apartments - your comments have been passed to our respective departments. As you experienced, there is a huge range of restaurants and cafe's to choose from and everything within walking distance to explore in Melbourne.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in this great apartment. It was clean, spacious, large bed , full kitchen and bathroom with not only washing machine, dryer but a bath. The staff were so nice and helpful . Highly recommended for anyone travelling to Melbourne. We will return for sure.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Glad to read you enjoyed the spaciousness of the apartment and everything was well equipped. Your feedback has been passed to staff.

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights and at first thought it would be a disaster. The studio room was so small. No table or chairs. The walls were paper thin so we heard everything from nextdoor. They decided to have a noisy party and we couldn't sleep. We contacted reception and the noise finished at about 10.30, however the thumping music started again at 6am!! We complained again at reception and were upgraded to a one bedroom apartment for our second night. It was bliss!! Thanks to obliging staff we will be back, but definitely not in a studio and not room 2801a.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you did not like our studio rooms however, these are our basic rooms - very pleased to hear you received a complimentary upgrade to a 1 bedroom - apologies for the noise received on your first night.

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here over the weekend for a girls getaway weekend! Check in girl was very nice, gave us a complimentary upgrade to the one bedroom apartment. Our room was 2003 we were very happy with it, so clean and spacious! Loved the balcony. Would stay again, good to have IGA close by and a 10 min walk away from the markets! Thanks for making our stay enjoyable :)

Room Tip: request a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giulia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay with us - your comments have been passed to our respective departments on service. Happy to hear you received a complimentary upgrade to our one bedroom apartments.

We hope to welcome you back again and thank you for taking the time to submit your review.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked a 2 bed 1 bath room. The suite was clean and modern with wood flooring and well equipped kitchen. The bedrooms were on the small side with the door not opening fully in one room. We stayed on the 16th floor overlooking Lonsdale Street. I had requested a room on a higher floor overlooking the back of the hotel as I am a light sleeper but was told that there were no rooms available. The suite was quiet enough however, and we were away from the elevators so I was happy with the stay.

The location of the hotel is great, close to Spring Street subway station, on the path of the free tourist tram, and close to the government buildings and museums for sightseeing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haikugirl_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Great to hear you enjoyed the location of the property and everything was within reach for you to explore Melbourne.

When you next stay with us, please contact us prior to arrival so we can best accommodate your needs of having a higher floor facing the back.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Tamborine
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had a great one bedroom apartment on the 25th floor. I could not fault the layout, the servicing, the cleanliness, the comfort - great view from the balcony. However, there was an exhaust fan that automatically came on when the bathroom light came on. It was super noisy - so easy to fix by turning off the light. Unfortunately the motor/fan for next door was attached to above my unit. So when they turned on their light - the noise started. A mention to reception - I was told they would contact the guests to let them know to turn their light off. Nothing happened. So either they weren't told or they didn't care. It meant bouts of three hours - sometimes in the night - of this fan and squeak noise that was so annoying you couldn't sleep. Something definitely to be looked into for other guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up - the reception people were very accommodating in this regard if rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear you enjoyed our apartments however, I apologise for the noise that occured during your stay. We are currently looking at alternative options to have this looked into so to make future guests more comfortable when staying in the rooms.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#38 of 158 in Melbourne
1,536 reviews
Central Business District
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#122 of 158 in Melbourne
305 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#42 of 158 in Melbourne
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 158 in Melbourne
1,902 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Property: Oaks on Lonsdale
Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing