We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Comfort”
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks on Lonsdale
Ranked #78 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Value and Comfort”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have found that the Oaks brand provides very good quality service apartments. Simple, clean and very comfortable stay during XMAS/New Year period. 1 bedroom apartment with all the necessaries. Kitchen, lounge, dinning. Stayed at the Lonsdale St premises which was slightly outside the main city hub of Bourke st etc. However still a comfortable 10 mins walk or tram ride, so not a big drama. For people who want to have access to the city center whilst still away and quiet from all the traffic and noise this is the perfect premises.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and great to know that you have stayed at a number of Oaks properties. Glad to hear you enjoyed our 1bedroom apartments and as you've experienced, Oaks on Lonsdale is within walking distance to the main shopping area, restaurants and theatres.

We hope to see you again soon when you are next in Melbourne. Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    394
    116
    44
    29
See reviews for
168
318
49
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Temora
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Oaks on Lonsdale!!! We travelled 6 hrs for a 3 night stay in what we thought was going to be a beautiful, spacious 3 bedroom apartment! Turns out we payed over $1500 for a 2 bedroom apartment with adjoining room and we could barely swing a cat in the whole apartment. The kitchen was not equip with hardly any washing up liquid, utensils or cooking equipment. We had children with us which made it very hard!! Very very disappointing. These are not 4 1/2 star apartments. For the money we are out of pocket from our stay here to what we got, we won't be staying here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baylacliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us - we supply a certain amount of equipment in the kitchen for guest use however, extra amenities etc can be requested and replenished where required and Reception needs to be contacted for extra supplies. Our apartments have full kitchen facilities for your needs and dishwashers are supplied in all apartments.

I am sorry to hear you won't be staying with us again - thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a studio for one night. Reception were lovely, despite arriving early they allowed a check in, which was quick and efficient. The studio was small comfortable and very clean. As I was staying for business, I could have used a desk and chair but the room had a small microwave instead. Centrally located with breakfast in easy access. Would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shuz712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay. The studio apartments are our standard rooms which as you experienced, is comfortable and doesn't allow much space however, for your future stay, please book a 1 bedroom apartment. These apartments are lovely and provide double the amount of space and there is generally a small fee to upgrade to this room from the Studio.

Happy to hear that you will stay with us again in the future - be sure to try out one our other apartments. The staff are more than happy to assist you and glad to hear that we were able to accommodate you with an early check in.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
170 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Somewhat reticent given some poor reviews but very pleasantly surprised.Despite arriving early staff did best to get me room early .good one bedroom apartment excellent views and very good facilities.very comfortable and excellent location for city .all in all a very god experience and would stay again.nice cafe next door with good food.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Agmsoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you were able to check in earlier than check in time. Glad you enjoyed the 1 bedroom apartment and you found it comfortable and location was great. As you experienced, you have a handful of amenities and restaurants close by and within walking distance.

We hope to welcome you back again when you're next in Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We booked this place months ago. We arrived late on the Friday night to find there was a leak from the toilet spread over bathroom floor. We informed reception next morning and were moved to another room eventually once the manager had been consulted. He eventaully rang me and offered me an upgrade to a better room after we had moved - this was now the Sunday. I declined this offer because it would have meant two out of four nights that we had moved. This hygiene problem should have been picked up in normal routine house keeping.The front desk staff would not make a decision without consulting with management. There were two room near ours that had all night parties and friends of ours rang the police as the staff were not prepared to do anything after numerous calls
There are signs in the lift stating that the building was secure between 100pm and 7am and to use your room cards to obtain lift access to your floor and room. The building was wide open at night with NO security measures.
The lifts I believe are in dire needs of good maintenance as they make noise that should not be there.
These apartments are in urgent need of care, they are run down, dirty and need for attentive staff who have the authority to make decisions such as what I have just said.
I will not stay at Oaks on Lonsdale again

Room Tip: They allow groups to stay and party in their rooms thus keeping all other guests awake until police...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete22353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you on for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I’m sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay.

Unfortunately, staff are limited to what they can do in regards to maintenance issues. If the issue is unable to be rectified, a room move is offered for your comfort for the remainder of your stay. I understand that this may not have been ideal at the time and that this should have been reported prior to your arrival. The Housekeeping Team Leader has been made aware of your feedback and staff has been reminded of the standards of the rooms. I apologise for the inconvenience caused.

The building and lifts are secured off each night by our Night Manager, the key security has been reinforced to ensure the safety of our guests. Unfortunately, at times, we are unable to control the noise levels of some guests however, when informed; staff does take immediate action to ensure the comfort of all our guests.

Thank you again for your review, I’m sorry to hear you won’t stay with us again but I certainly hope you try out one of our other properties.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We recently stayed 5 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment. We only had a standard 1 bedroom so we were on level 7 but thankfully on the back side of the hotel. We did not have any noise problems and we slept very well. The apartment was very nice, comfortable and clean.
We liked the location, lots of restaurants nearby and the main shopping area just a 10 minute walk. It is also very close to the free Circle Tram stop which is very handy for getting around town.
Be sure to try the little coffee shop next door, they serve good cheap breakfasts and the coffee was very nice too.
So overall we had a enjoyable time staying at this hotel and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear you had an enjoyable stay in our 1 bedroom apartments - your comments have been passed to our respective departments. As you experienced, there is a huge range of restaurants and cafe's to choose from and everything within walking distance to explore in Melbourne.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in this great apartment. It was clean, spacious, large bed , full kitchen and bathroom with not only washing machine, dryer but a bath. The staff were so nice and helpful . Highly recommended for anyone travelling to Melbourne. We will return for sure.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Glad to read you enjoyed the spaciousness of the apartment and everything was well equipped. Your feedback has been passed to staff.

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Central Business District
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#125 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#42 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Property: Oaks on Lonsdale
Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#72 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing