We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks on Lonsdale
Ranked #74 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed in a studio room for 2 nights and had a nice view from the 22nd floor.
Was a good location for Greek precinct and Lygon St, but does take about 15mins to walk to Bourke St Mall. However you are close to the city circle tram stops that can take you to the outlets etc.
Staff were friendly and room was quiet which is great. Room a bit poorly designed and pokey in parts but it was good to have a kitchenette and fine for a couple of nights.
Value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay with us and happy to hear the feedback on staff, I will pass this on.

We hope you stay with us in the future, please book our 1bedroom apartment which is double the floor space.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

480 - 486 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our room was on the 25th floor and the view from our balcony and room was FASTASTIC!!! The room was clean, very spacious for my toddler to roam freely, the kitchen area was big and everything was provided (cutlery, pots, pans). There's a washer/dryer in the toilet but do note that you cannot have a lot of garments in it if you intend to wash and dry. The free tram is within walking distance and there's a minimart just outside the lobby. If you take the skybus from the airport, take the free hotel shuttle and alight at Marriott Hotel. Oaks on Lonsdale is less than 5 min walk.

Room Tip: Book a city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Hafidzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay with us at Oaks on Lonsdale and by the looks of things, you had a fantastic view of the city & MCG by booking our 1bed city view apartments. Although the machines in the rooms take limited clothing for it to be washed & dried, we do have extra machines located on level 1 for guest use.

Once again, thank you for your review. We hope you stay with us again in the near future and perhaps try our 1bed sky high apartments located on level 29 - the views are amazing. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel is in a good location - right near the theater district. Short walk into the main shopping streets and china town.

I stayed in a studio room, which was adequately sized, the little kitchen space was quite handy and there is a couple of supermarkets nearby to get breakfast supplied.

The views were quite good from the higher floors as well.

Staff were all very friendly and happy to hold bags etc which was great.

Room Tip: Upgrading to the 1 bed suite would be worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squishy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the location to be perfect for your needs. As you experienced, everything was within close distance to the property.

Your feedback has been passed onto the team. We hope you endeavour to stay with us again in the future, please feel free to try a different apartment style for your next stay which is indeed more spacious than a Studio apartment.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom, one bath apartment and it suited our family of four. Very good location. Not fancy, but clean. We didn't have a view, so I'm not sure if there are any at this hotel. Overall satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your time with us and happy to hear the apartment suited you and your family. For future reference, we do have other apartments available and urge you to please try our 2 bedroom executive - these apartments is a 2 bed 2 bath apartment and is guaranteed a room on level 18 and above.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

When we came in we were welcomed with a strong pungent smell from the washing machine. We were promised a penthouse room but were clearly given something much less than advertised. The 'king' bed that we slept in was just 2 single beds pushed together which gave us the most uncomfortable nights of sleep, the tv in our bedroom's LCD screen was broken and the washing machine, besides the off-putting smell that came off it, made the loudest noise and would shake viciously in the cupboard which would ultimately ruin any movie or television show that we were watching in the living room. Overall, we were expecting the best room in the hotel but instead got a less than average apartment.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Clara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We don't actually have penthouse apartments here and we don't advertise that at all - our highest room type is a 1bed sky high. Going by what you've reviewed, I'm not certain of what room type you booked but thank you for bringing to our attention of the issues in the room. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we will be looking into this further.

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay but hope that you do try us again or one of our other Oaks properties in Melbourne. Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed the hotel itself for the location. The room was big and clean. The only reason I would not stay again was the most horrible hard beds. Both rooms were unbareable to get a good nights sleep which was a pity as we were there for 3 nights. If the beds were replaced with soft hotel standard I'd book there again without hesitant

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielmc91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay with us and the location was to your liking. Your feedback has been passed to our Housekeeping Department.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

first time there like 3 years old and it was much newer, went there again recently and not as good as expected, still reasonable good for the price, it's ok for a business trip but not for vacation. location is good while close to china town, lots of restaurant to pick for dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback - like most places, buildings do start to age however, we do keep the property as modern as we can and keep the building up to scratch.

It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed the location of the property, Chinatown, main shopping precinct, Fitzroy & Lygon Street to name a few, are very close distances to the property and a huge range of cuisine to choose from.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#48 of 161 in Melbourne
1,530 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#38 of 161 in Melbourne
1,848 reviews
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#129 of 161 in Melbourne
448 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#124 of 161 in Melbourne
1,344 reviews
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#84 of 161 in Melbourne
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £82 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing