We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improvements noted” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oaks on Lonsdale
Ranked #79 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Improvements noted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I have returned to the Oaks after an absence of almost two years. The previous stay was in a studio that required some maintenance. I am pleased to report that management appear to have dealt with issues in previous reviews, and that my recent experience in a one bedroom unit was very good. The location is good on the north west corner of the CBD, close to transport and theatres. Housekeeping was excellent, and the room was very clean. Free WiFi would add the extra point. If you are looking for an apartment in Melbourne then this is one that should be considered.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to hear that you were impressed with your recent stay with us. It sounds like you were allocated a lovely 1bedroom apartment. Your feedback has been noted and will be passed to our respective departments.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    383
    110
    41
    28
See reviews for
162
305
48
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed in a studio room for 2 nights and had a nice view from the 22nd floor.
Was a good location for Greek precinct and Lygon St, but does take about 15mins to walk to Bourke St Mall. However you are close to the city circle tram stops that can take you to the outlets etc.
Staff were friendly and room was quiet which is great. Room a bit poorly designed and pokey in parts but it was good to have a kitchenette and fine for a couple of nights.
Value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay with us and happy to hear the feedback on staff, I will pass this on.

We hope you stay with us in the future, please book our 1bedroom apartment which is double the floor space.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our room was on the 25th floor and the view from our balcony and room was FASTASTIC!!! The room was clean, very spacious for my toddler to roam freely, the kitchen area was big and everything was provided (cutlery, pots, pans). There's a washer/dryer in the toilet but do note that you cannot have a lot of garments in it if you intend to wash and dry. The free tram is within walking distance and there's a minimart just outside the lobby. If you take the skybus from the airport, take the free hotel shuttle and alight at Marriott Hotel. Oaks on Lonsdale is less than 5 min walk.

Room Tip: Book a city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hafidzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay with us at Oaks on Lonsdale and by the looks of things, you had a fantastic view of the city & MCG by booking our 1bed city view apartments. Although the machines in the rooms take limited clothing for it to be washed & dried, we do have extra machines located on level 1 for guest use.

Once again, thank you for your review. We hope you stay with us again in the near future and perhaps try our 1bed sky high apartments located on level 29 - the views are amazing. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel is in a good location - right near the theater district. Short walk into the main shopping streets and china town.

I stayed in a studio room, which was adequately sized, the little kitchen space was quite handy and there is a couple of supermarkets nearby to get breakfast supplied.

The views were quite good from the higher floors as well.

Staff were all very friendly and happy to hold bags etc which was great.

Room Tip: Upgrading to the 1 bed suite would be worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squishy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the location to be perfect for your needs. As you experienced, everything was within close distance to the property.

Your feedback has been passed onto the team. We hope you endeavour to stay with us again in the future, please feel free to try a different apartment style for your next stay which is indeed more spacious than a Studio apartment.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom, one bath apartment and it suited our family of four. Very good location. Not fancy, but clean. We didn't have a view, so I'm not sure if there are any at this hotel. Overall satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your time with us and happy to hear the apartment suited you and your family. For future reference, we do have other apartments available and urge you to please try our 2 bedroom executive - these apartments is a 2 bed 2 bath apartment and is guaranteed a room on level 18 and above.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

When we came in we were welcomed with a strong pungent smell from the washing machine. We were promised a penthouse room but were clearly given something much less than advertised. The 'king' bed that we slept in was just 2 single beds pushed together which gave us the most uncomfortable nights of sleep, the tv in our bedroom's LCD screen was broken and the washing machine, besides the off-putting smell that came off it, made the loudest noise and would shake viciously in the cupboard which would ultimately ruin any movie or television show that we were watching in the living room. Overall, we were expecting the best room in the hotel but instead got a less than average apartment.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Clara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We don't actually have penthouse apartments here and we don't advertise that at all - our highest room type is a 1bed sky high. Going by what you've reviewed, I'm not certain of what room type you booked but thank you for bringing to our attention of the issues in the room. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we will be looking into this further.

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay but hope that you do try us again or one of our other Oaks properties in Melbourne. Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benowa, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed the hotel itself for the location. The room was big and clean. The only reason I would not stay again was the most horrible hard beds. Both rooms were unbareable to get a good nights sleep which was a pity as we were there for 3 nights. If the beds were replaced with soft hotel standard I'd book there again without hesitant

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielmc91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay with us and the location was to your liking. Your feedback has been passed to our Housekeeping Department.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Chinatown
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#121 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Property: Oaks on Lonsdale
Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#73 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing