We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plum Carlton Serviced Apartments Melbourne
Ranked #107 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Location and Value”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Received a value package from Qantas for 4 nights. Good access to trams and Carlton sights/restaurants etc. DEspite being on floor 1 on Swanston St side, not to noisy to disturb sleep. Room comfortable and kitchen with hotplates and microwave was handy. Quite spacious, although hall and entrance were a bit run down. Had a mixed experience with service - reception attended quickly to blown light-bulb; Skybus booking pickup to leave was made 30mins earlier so missed connection - although this could be a misunderstanding I have had a problem before with reception with another establishment not making a booking - lesson learned, I will always book myself in future; lost property returned after inquiry - being a value for money place I had to pay postage. May consider staying again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    39
    26
    19
    22
See reviews for
23
41
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Absolutely fantastic location, quiet, clean, good price - easy walking distance to CBD, Lygon St, Fitzroy, and Queen Vic Market. It's also right on the Swanson St tram line with a tram to CBD every few minutes. A bit difficult to find as the Skybus dropped us off around the corner quite late at night and there was no signage at all. You will need to look for the 528 sign.
However, there was one big problem. As we are a night owl/early bird combo we booked a one bedroom apartment for privacy, and noise and light management. Our one-bedroom apartment was in fact distinctly open-plan with no division between the bedroom and lounge. We asked two receptionists on two occasions in case we had been given a studio by mistake. While they were both surprised there was no door they assured us we were in fact in a one-bedroom apartment. One indicated we may have not noticed the door (ummm...no, we do know what a door looks like and I'm sure we would have seen it!), and then told us if we had wanted a door we should have asked for it in the "comments" section of the booking form. So I would recommend the place if you want a studio apartment, but if you want a one bedroom apartment so you can shut the door to block out light or TV noise, make sure you specifically ask for a door!

Room Tip: Ask for a door if you want a one bedroom apartment because you want privacy or quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertavv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Read the reviews before booking and was very nervous given the variation. So the thing is... just think about what kind of traveller you are. If you want a mint on your pillow and dream of the Hilton, then book there. If you are totally okay with 'okay' and want a great location, at a great price then this was perfect. The apartment, with the space of a separate bedroom, was what we really needed and I was very happy to have it at the price. The building itself is a tired but it is a fantastic location - top edge of the city, close to the museum, close to Fitzroy, close to the Vic Markets. What more could we ask. So again, I say, check in with yourself and ask what you expect at the price - I think it is a pretty good deal!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LBAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Good service, clean apartment special request provided help in departure after check out time

good location close to Melbourne cbd and quiet at the same time. i stayed with family , good place, felt safe
thanks

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oskrleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Also stayed for a week to attend the Melbourne Flower Show in Carlton Gardens, explore Melbourne city & use as a base to explore the gardens in the surrounding suburbs.

BOUQUETS: Location is excellent for short, level walks (5 - 8 mins) to surrounding Asian restaurants, Lygon St restaurants, Queen Victoria markets, the Hop-on-Hop-off City Circle tram; secure parking for additional fee (book in advance as there are limited spaces); room was clean; on-site laundromat; also easy to get out of the City quickly to explore further afield by car

We know it was an inexpensive deal, BUT, ...........

BRICK BATS: There's "tired" then there's "exhausted" which our room on the 1st floor was as were the common area halls; ALL need re-painting & re-carpeting; lighting in the kitchen/dining/lounge area equated to several glow worms level of illumination which tested one's skills when working in your shadow in the kitchen, whereas the light in the bedroom was almost blindingly fluorescent; noisy air-conditioning doesn't equate to comfortable ambiance; the change machine & soap dispenser in the laundromat were both empty for the week; there are firm mattresses, then there are ironing board-like mattresses like the one in Room 109; expensive Wi-Fi in a city where "hot spots" are few & far between.

Stay again or recommend Plum? Ahhhh...no. There is so much accommodation in the area, we'd pay more for better comfort & more up-to-date surrounds.

Room Tip: Try another hotel / apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntiquesOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Off the back of this, I've stayed in Plum before, but at the CBD location instead in Melbourne which was a lot better facilities and cleanliness wise. I went in expecting the same but was a little disappointed. It still had some of the charm, but not enough unfortunately.

Location still wasn't bad as Carlton has tonnes to offer, bedding was average, bathroom was average. But price was the same to match I guess, so it's not a bad choice for a shorter trip.

If location isn't an issue, give the CBD location a shot - for around the same price per night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoshuaRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed for a week...got the room on sale. Checking in was smooth but it was hard to find the entrance at first. Hallway was a bit musty but the apartment is ok. On the smallish side but clean and the kitchenette's a plus.Location's great..walking distance to the CBD, queen victoria market. The only complaint is the noise from the street. Requesting for a higher floor should resolve it though.

Room Tip: Room on higher floor to avoid the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smst83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#40 of 160 in Melbourne
320 reviews
Lygon Street
Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel
Arrow On Swanston
#134 of 160 in Melbourne
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Melbourne
British Apartments
British Apartments
#153 of 160 in Melbourne
30 reviews
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#116 of 160 in Melbourne
132 reviews
Alston Apartments Hotel
#28 of 136 in Melbourne
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plum Carlton Serviced Apartments Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plum Carlton Serviced Apartments Melbourne

Property: Plum Carlton Serviced Apartments Melbourne
Address: 528 Swanston St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plum Carlton Serviced Apartments Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Plum Carlton Serviced Apartments Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Carlton Serviced Apartments Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing