We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”

Essence on Exhibition
Reserve with
Essence on Exhibition is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #740 of 4,023 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: US$19 - US$38
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Essence on Exhibition Restaurant radiates with character with 180 degree views of the Melbourne CBD. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the menu offers exquisite Modern Australian cuisine with an excellent selection of wines. Essence embraces the best of Victoria`s local seasonal produce to create inspired dishes from traditional to modern.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant. Great service and food. Breakfast was especially great with omelets etc being made to order. So many different things to choose from. Loved the smoothies! You won't be disappointed!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ljr2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    61
    25
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fast food and friendly service”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We had a light lunch here last Saturday. The waitstaff were friendly and attentive, one of whom picked up on my looking around for the bar and came to our table to offer us another drink. We both had beef burgers which were delicious, plus with the restaurant being just off the lobby to our hotel was a big plus.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrento, VIC, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A real surprise in Melbourne's theatre district”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I had the chicken caesar salad which was exceptional ... perhaps the best caesar that I've had ... ever. My partner had the sweet corn soup which was acceptable but not quite there. But we'll definitely return as the prices were very competitive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“The Essence of Melbourne!”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Marriott Hotel's restaurant has an elegant ambience about it, but it is not at all intimidating. Many people know it for pre-theatre dinner specials - as the Comedy and Her Majesty's are just across the road - but it is an ideal spot to dine and observe Melbourne through huge panorama windows that reveal the city' s diverse architecture. The staff are very attentive and the food very interestingly presented and delicious. Even the glass of wine that came 'free' with the pre-theatre menu was good! Prices are typical of restaurants of this stature; a steak costs $35 but there are other dishes from the menu that are less expensive. Check out their website for more info.
I have been here many times over the years and it has never disappointed. On this occasion, my Gen Y dinner companion raved about the food, and the 180 degree view of Melbourne at street level! You can see it all while seated at the tables by the window - or request the comfortable banquette seating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtleford, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Try the Seafood Stack for two”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Great service from our waiter who was attentiive without being annoying.....the seafood staff was huge with Calamari, fish skewers, oysters, mussels,blue swimmer crab,octopus,tempura fish and prawns....the two of us couldn't finish it and the accompanying homemade tartare and seafood sauce were to die for. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jallen160808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Essence on Exhibition also viewed

 

Been to Essence on Exhibition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing