We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood surprise inner suburbs”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Albert Park Hotel

Albert Park Hotel
Ranked #2,998 of 4,053 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: US$13 - US$45
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighbourhood: Albert Park
Sydney
Level Contributor
112 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Seafood surprise inner suburbs”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Lovely lunch in garden area of the pub. Fresh flavours and simply served. Had a mix of dips, seafood salad and other small plates. Good wine list.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katelouisemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    13
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Huge surprise to find such delicious tastes!”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

What a surprise to find such amazing food in a Pub! Probably shouldn't be as this was Melbourne a great foodie city. I dined with girlfriends on this occasion and while the service was a bit slow, the quality of the food and taste sensations far made up for it. We tried many dishes on the menu and none disappointed. The seafood was fabulous but the pork belly cannot go without a mention mmmmm - then came the desert special of the day which had us all hoeing in - and some even claimed they don't eat desert - I had to fight for my share it was so good :-)
Overall brilliant pub meal

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Passionflower200050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Tasty and fresh seafood and even better duck!”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

The quality of the seafood here is generally high - for starters we had deep fried school prawns (they were so tender you ate them shells, heads and all). a soft shelled crab dish, a spice crusted seared tuna and also a great pork Shanghai style dumplings. We even received a complimentary dish of ocean trout sashimi to try - they were thinking of adding it to the menu and were seeking feedback on the night.

For mains we tried the rock flathead (expertly boned at the table by our waitress) and a really great Asian inspired duck.

This is a really nice place for a couple or for small and large groups. The ambience and layout of the restaurant is very good and the service on the night was of a very high standard.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robbo_from_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great seafood”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We had been to this pub on previous visits to Melbourne but had not eaten here, on this visit we met relatives there who live nearby on the promise of a creme brulee for dessert.
The street food dishes we tried ( scallop and empanada) were very nice but maybe a bit pricey for what they were.
The fish was all really nice, we shared a couple of dishes with different sauces and sides of asian coleslaw and the chips which were all fantastic.
Once we had gotten through this we were too full for dessert and a good thing for me on this visit anyway - there was no longer a brulee on the menu.
Will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMM71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Christmas Day Lunch 2012”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Visiting son and partner in Melbourne for Christmas so booked lunch for the 5 of us. The menu sounded great with good choices. Unfortunately the meal itself was a let down. The entrees were fine, mains were ok except for my husbands. He ordered the Cape Grim rib fillet medium. The first time it was bought to table it didn't even make rare and was sent back. The second time it at lease was rare and sent back again with a comment from the waiter that I must want it well done which wasnt appreciated or needed. Finally on the third attempt (by which time every one else had already eaten their meals) the steak came back medium rare (close enough).
Then dessert everyone was happy but me I had ordered the Spiced rice wine poached peaches (note plural) with ginger panna cotta. What I got was one cheek of a small peach. What happened to the word PEACHES I didnt even get a whole peach. At least 3 out of 5 diners were happy with their meal experience.
I would point out that our son is a Chef with experience in Sydney Melbourne and Canada and even he agreed that the food wasnt up to standard

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sydneytraveller41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Albert Park Hotel also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Albert Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing