We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So So...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bokchoy Tang

Bokchoy Tang
Ranked #1,264 of 3,851 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$40
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sydney
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“So So...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Went for yum cha. Food was fine but nothing special. Portions are slightly small $7-15. Service was very good but they weren't very busy at all.

I wont be going back in a hurry.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShyFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    24
    10
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
152 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“An interesting combination of food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We decided to try BokchoiyTang prior to going to a show, and rather than choose from an extensive list of what appeared to be pricy courses settled for Banquet 1 at $42.00 per person. There were, I think, six courses of which the two outstanding courses were the Crispy Barramundi with lemon honey sauce. It was presented in a most unusual fashion and made me regret that I didn't have my camera with me. The next course, the Spicy Szechwan Chicken was a surprize of a mild chilli taste tempered with rock salt. Even if I am not right in my description, it wasn't too hot, but the taste certainly was different. The meal was served promptly, and we had plenty of time to get to the theatre. We will be back! (The wines were on the expensive side.)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phebianMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langkawi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not easy to find but it's worth it since the food is great and the service excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Took my 10 year old daughter for a quick dinner before seeing King Kong. Only 2 other tables occupied due, I think, to the restaurant being tucked away in the corner of Federation Square. We told the waiter that we needed to be at the theatre at 8pm and he made sure the dishes were served promptly but with breathing space in between. Excellent food and good value. A definite must!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dont eat here if you are vegetarian”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We went here with a large group and as vegetarians were pre ordered this way. Our food (there were several vegetarians) was really awful and no thought as too protein or any food value was put into it. One of our courses was a plate of over boiled green beans That was it and they were too salty. One of the courses was sent back as it was a small bowl of green leaves (boiled to an unrecognisable state) with three tiny balls of boiled pumpkin. We had to eat out after we paid 100 for two people here. Really disappointing as it is a lovely looking venue. The staff were not the least bit put out and appeared not to care that none of the meals was edible.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SerendipityGallery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwood
Level Contributor
188 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Central and cosy. Great food selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

This upstairs restaurant on the eastern side of Federation Square is one that you shouldn't walk past. We were invited in for the Yum Cha lunch and we were not disappointed. Great selection of delightful dishes and the staff were very helpful in helping us decide on the appropriate mix for our little group.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaFi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bokchoy Tang also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Bokchoy Tang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing