We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an amazing experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ginza Teppanyaki

Ginza Teppanyaki
Ranked #216 of 3,850 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$38 - US$115
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Description: The art of Teppanyaki orginates in Osaka 200 years ago and has become extremely popular with gourmets around the world Teppanyaki, which is Japanese barbeque style seafood, quality fillet of meat, etc - presented unprepared and the chefs skillfully display their expertise on the hot plate in front of you. Your meal is personally prepared to your requested taste. Ginza Teppanyaki located at 139 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne (China Town) was established in 1995. We continue to be one of the impeccable restaurants in the Melbourne CBD. High qualities of food and chefs' superior skills has attracted many regular customers and overseas tourists. Unlike other teppanyaki restaurants, we use cast iron as grill for cooking. It boosts the iron intake which is essential for maintaining energy levels and helps to strengthen the immune systems. We welcome you to come if you are looking for ice-breaking interaction with our teppanyaki chefs and a dinner that covered with joy and laughter. Our restaurant can cater for a party up to 200 people. Functions we have catered for including end of financial year and Christmas celebrations, bucks and hen's night, school excursion, anniversary, birthday and many special occasions as requested by our customers.
Alexandra Headland, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What an amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Whilst in Melbourne we wanted to take our daughter to a Japanese restaurant so that she could experience how wonderful eating at a Teppanyaki restaurant is. We chose Ginza Teppanyaki because of the atmosphere we could see from the street and we were "NOT" disappointed. The food was amazing, the service was amazing, we sat with another family who were celebrating a birthday and as there was only 3 of us we were made to feel a part of their group which was great. Can recommend this for a wonderful night out with a whole group or just a lovely meal which will be very memorable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    50
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great fun for night out. Entertaining staff and be ready for good laugh. Food very good and reasonably priced.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kiwikate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skennars Head, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun, Fun, Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Great night out. If you go to Melbourne you must eat here. Food and service very entertaining. The quality of the food is amazing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 123288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Once again a restaurant and experience you should try and not believe everything you read. Took 10 friends for my birthday dinner and had great fun. Food and service was fabulous. It's not five star but it is fun and delicious. Will definetly return!

Helpful?
1 Thank LauraHarris183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I decided on a teppanyaki meal for my birthday and chose the Ginza based on Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. We had the number 2 meal and the huge prawns were to die for, in fact every dish was excellent.
The entertainment by the chefs was great fun (although I got some food on my clothes), and with the great food and friendly service we left feeling we couldn't have enjoyed the night more.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Warwick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ginza Teppanyaki also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Ginza Teppanyaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing