We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly excellent dumplings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanghai Village Chinese Restaurant

Shanghai Village Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #699 of 3,851 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: US$0 - US$18
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
464 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Truly excellent dumplings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

The line out the front is testimony to the experience this restaurant provides. Nothing but excellent dumplings, don't expect silver service and being waited in hand and foot, or even proper champagne or beer glasses (it is BYO beer, wine etc). But do expect to get a great feed of dumplings and come out feeling fully stuffed. 7 of us, had a great meal of dumplings, fried rice, calamari and noodles for $126. - amazing. We did book ahead and were able to go straight to our table, rather than stand in line for a table. Do not expect to sit and occupy the table if you are not eating. The service is brisk, the food comes out piping hot and in any order. As soon as you stop eating and don't order more, out comes the bill, CASH ONLY, and you must vacate the table. We will go back again and again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigRuss1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    84
    44
    12
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It's an adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Wow, what an experience to have dinner here. The cue in front of the door is longer than at most night clubs, the place inside busier than a shopping mall during christmas, the service is basically non existent (this said it is a b-y-o) and the dumplings are probably the best you can get in Australia. On top of that the price/quality relation is fantastic. So if you want a rather unique experience which has nothing to do with fine dining or any sort of dining really, this is the place to be!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VaciAVaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lottery draw for food, not much to expect for service but good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Been to this restaurant for many years now. Food can range from very good to just average, not sure depending on chef on the day or what. Best things on the menu we find are the steam pork dumplings and Shanghai fried noodle which are average at minimum and very good on some visits. Other food we tried on the menu were not so good. We had some rice dishes and noodle soup before but found them below average. Fried dumplings were too oily, like they were fried in old oil that's rather thick and dark.

We don't expect much service from this kind of place but can be lacking at times. At my last visit last week, a table nearby found a maggot on their vegetarian dumpling plate. They took photo and left. Strange enough that didn't make us leave even though our food hadn't arrived. Maybe that's because we didn't actually see the maggot. The table next to them who would have seen the culprit maggot didn't leave either.

Overall,this place offers good value for money for pork dumplings and shanghai fried noodle. But if you want more, this is probably not the place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tannythestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average in all aspects”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you are a real fan of Dumplings you may enjoy this restaurant but let them cool for a while as all the ones we tried erupted with scalding liquid and oil. The noodle soup with vegetables and chicken was bland even the addition of soya sauce failed to lift it. If you are looking for a cheap eats place with average service, surrounds and food this should fulfil those requirements. It was busy so has its fans, but we were disappointed on our visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankPerth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average meal/service in a competitive area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I have been twice to this restaurant, once for dumplings and the other for a la carte. The dumplings were good, with the vegetarian dumpling a stand out. The service was efficient without being welcoming and the prices cheap. The second visit was for a la carte. My mixed vegetables were a combination of bok choy and bean shoots - tasty but skimpy and not worth the price. My main was fine - Fish, however like mine my guest's chicken was heavily salted, re4sulting in an unappetising meal. The service at best could be described as unfriendly boardering on surly. With so much competition in China Town there are many other finer restaurants than this, where "average" is not up to the standard required or expected.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shanghai Village Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Shanghai Village Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing