We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than 'average', but not good enough to be 'very good'”

City Orchids Garden
Ranked #2,767 of 4,108 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Better than 'average', but not good enough to be 'very good'”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Three of us were looking for somewhere to eat before going to 'Grease'. When asked, the staff said that would be possible and, once ordered, our meals did arrive quickly. We didn't order any entrees - just 3 main meals and they were very nice. We tried Honey Chicken, Spicy Lamb Stirfry with ginger & Peking Duck pancakes - all meals were a good size for sharing and all very tasty.

We were certainly able to eat in good time to get to the theatre just nearby. In hindsight, it was probably a little expensive. We didn't pay much attention to the pricing at the time of ordering, as we were in a hurry to eat.

Would probably try somewhere else next time. Also, the restaurant is also known as City Orchids Garden, when searching on Urbanspoon & on web.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R-M-W-65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    51
    30
    19
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Numurkah, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Banquet for two”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Terrible food some was not even hot. Sauce on meat dish was terrible burned fried rice . Rice in my ice cream and oily banana fritter. Not worth the money at all

Helpful?
2 Thank Korrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Authentic tasty food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We used our Trip Advisor app in Chinatown to locate a good place for dinner - this was a wonderful find! Daggy simple decor didn't bother us as all the efforts went into the food. West Lake Duck, Sweet and Sour Pork, and Kwai Teo noodles were so delicious we will be back during our short Melbourne stay to try the satay (we saw it on another table and suffered food envy...). Licensed restaurant with food we couldn't fault - great find and we'll deserving of all the positive reviews.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonny16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Golden Orchids Malay /Chinese restaurant has been consistently good for decades.......i first went there in the 90"s......and legendary Chinatown identity, owner George Chen, tells me they have been trading there for 37 years.
The menu has a wide range of choices, but i usually keep it simple and have the Westlake duck, which is a speciality of the place.......and a mixture of beef, pork and chicken satays which come with the best peanut sauce ive had.......and are always tender....served on the sizzling hotplate
George is a fanatical Magpie supporter who always finds a few minutes to talk his team up, and gives preferential service to fellow Collingwood supporters like myself (joking)
Golden Orchids and Owner George Chen are an asset to the bustling Chinatown restaurant scene

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mlebourne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ideal for Dinner Before Show”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The wonderful Golden Orchids serves a Malaysian and chinese menu, with star billing to the best satays is Melbourne. The food is exquisite, the staff friendly and efficient, and the prices will not hurt the pocket. Even wine price markups are very low. The wonderful George Chen, who established Golden Orchids over 40 years ago, still keeps a fatherly eye on everything, and greets diners personally. A true Melbourne institution.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Orchids Garden also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to City Orchids Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing