We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where did Gurkha's Cafe disappear???”

Gurkha's Cafe Nepalese Restaurant
Cuisines: Asian, Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Neighbourhood: Lygon Street
Port Moresby, National Capital, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Where did Gurkha's Cafe disappear???”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

258 Lygon St ... is Mona Lisa... where did Gurkha's Cafe go? I have eaten there some time back... It was a great place... would appreciate if the owner can publish the new location...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sajani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great takeaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Service very good, helpful and quick, do not go past the mushrooms in the entrees! Delicious food and cheap.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcliffe, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent find in lower Flinders Street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

This restaurant is at 500 Flinders Street, which is the down market end opposite the Aquarium. Lots of graffiti and scratched windows but don't let that put you off. Excellent food and service - like Indian without the hotness. Well worht a visit if staying in town and not that expensive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
507 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Very friendly and good service, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

This place was very friendly indeed and the service was very good, though the food was in all honesty quite average.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nimitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Don't waste your money here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

The experience in this restaurant was very bad (that's probably why it's empty while the restaurants around it are so busy.
I will never go back to this place.

We had some beef and tofu skewers and they were really tough to chew and very salty.
We also ordered vegetable patties and they where really soggy and oily.
For dessert we had the most disgusting crepes ever, nothing inside and very expensive.
We didn't finish the green curry, and not because it was good, but because we were paying for it we asked for takeaway as it was almost untouched and they didn't allow us to get takeaway, they say that we had to pay extra.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gurkha's Cafe Nepalese Restaurant also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing