We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ribs and steak” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Squires Loft

Squires Loft
Reserve with
Squires Loft is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #83 of 3,851 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$42
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Chapel Street
Description: The first Squires Loft was opened in 1992 in Church Street Brighton. Our reputation for consistently delivering great steaks and unique flavours led us to a larger store in South Yarra where we are still located today. The success of the Squires Loft formula and demand for Squires Loft branded products led to substantial interest from staff, customers and business owners who wanted to duplicate the business. This has resulted in 15 steakhouse restaurants operating around Australia. These steakhouses are located around Melbourne, Country Victoria, Brisbane, Gold Coast and Western Australia. Further steakhouses are in the pipeline and there is significant interest, which we believe should lead to more Squires Loft steakhouses opening. As a result of this demand and significant recognition of the Squires Loft name, Squires Loft FRANCHISE Pty Ltd has been formed to enable the expansion of the brand.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great ribs and steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Convenient to train or tram and serving the Best carnivore fare. The menu is not large(nor need it be) with an affordable wine list with plenty of variety. The decor is unpretentious and the service good.
Try it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ItchFeet58Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    94
    25
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seriously if your a meat person. Just go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I have been to nearly all of the squires loft restaurants including the grill room in albert park and they are no doubt the best steak i have ever had but the ribs are seriously to kill for!! The flavour is packed and it stays in your mouth all night and you will not be able to stop talking about it... If your a meat person no more to say other than............ Just do it... thank me later!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We decided we would try squires at docklands during our stay in Melbourne as it had been recommended to us. We didn't have a booking however thought we would try and get a table as we were in the area. The guy at the front said unfortunately it was fully booked for the night so we proceeded to keep walking. A minute later he was calling us back from down the walkway to tell us a group had just turned up for their booking but we're missing a few people so they could separate some tables for us.
The service was excellent and the steaks and chicken we had were beautiful - one of the best steaks I have had.
Coming from Sydney we also thought it was very good value for money!
We will definitely be back (and make a booking this time) when we return to Melbourne!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katiegirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramallah, Palestinian Territories
Level Contributor
182 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Almost the best steak ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

The steak here was superb - the perfect combination of juicy, tender and flavoursome.The service was friendly and helpful - even after we changed our numbers 3 times. The salads and baked potato were good accompaniments, and the wine list great. We will definitely return next time we are in Melbourne

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gabby b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Overrated, overpriced, loud and underserved”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

There are a lot of choices in this area of Melbourne and unfortunately we choose this place.

It was loud both because of the decor and the fact that there was a 16 person stag/buck's night.

However that was not the primary reason for the low rating. The biggest disappointment is because it bills itself as a steakhouse complete with the pricing of a steakhouse but doesn't offer the service, atmosphere, wine list or any of the little touches you would expect. The steak quality was okay but not as good as a top steak house either. I don't mind paying top dollar if the service is there but this was a huge disappointment - even without the noise.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank OnTheGoCFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Squires Loft also viewed

 

Been to Squires Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing