We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barn Hill Station Stay
Ranked #16 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Broome
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights on an unpowered site with fabulous views over the ocean. The beach with the rock formations is amazing, even though the sea is rather treacherous we managed to cool off in between waves. The atmosphere among the other campers where we were was great. The showers & toilets were a classic!! We were sorry to leave & if we had have had the time we would have stayed longer.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Roses00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Barn Hill Station Stay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Never stayed at Barn Hill before, however this trip on a caravan sojourn to Broome we stopped off for 2 nights, which ended up 4 nights.
Powered sites very shady and large. Everyone we came across was friendly and invited us to BBQ and to play bowls. They call it bare foot bowling and choice of bowls, there's not your own. The two greens a a bit rough but what fun. People cheering on the sidelines etc.
It definitely wasn't the winning it was the participation. Great fun.
The whole park, non powered, minimal power and full power catered for everyone. 9 Km's from highway on dirt road, easy travel. The beaches are absolutely fabulous and during our stay no bities around.
We will definitely return as we travel back from Broome.
It is worth the trip.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I have to agree with Linda F, the regulars (from WA ) were very inconsiderate and even rude. We must have stayed in the same spot, Kapok, another couple had told us the previous people had left early, and all the other information is the same. 'Regulars' can spoil it for everyone else being loud, walking through our site, sullage pipe on your site ( we did keep moving it off), large gatherings of their cronies. But it is a beautiful beach and has stunning sunsets and we didn't mind the open air facilities.
Management shouldn't let them behave like this, they were Very quick to have a go at our friend when her dog barked once, and he was less trouble than the regulars.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Noddy12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We booked in to stay for three nights , and paid for a 10 amp site $35 per night.Didnt look that great but was the only 10 amp site free . Turned out a " regular " was using the 10amp plug , we unplugged his cord and put it in the correct place and plugged in . The next thing a heap of regulars arrived then dashed off to let the other regular know . End of the day he got the 10amp power but had a good site , we had 4amp power and a crap site that was a thoroughfare for all and sundry , also one of the regulars had his waste hose across behind our van and we had his waste water running into our awning area . Our view was of the back end of the vans , the junk they didnt want to see and their washing strung across in the trees !! The " regulars " appear to be in charge of this site with an us and them attitude and management turn a blind eye !! Ablution blocks built by Ma and Pa Kettle , need to be rebuilt !!! Not nice either when you notice thru the gap between toilet door and wall that there is a man in the ladies hosing out the ablution block while you're there!!! Power cords run in all directions on the ground and in the trees with extensions joined and plug ends laying half buried in the dirt where people walk ! Free camp sites are better maintained eg : Goldwire , Stanley rest area
Just a few k's back towards Pardoo Station , now there is a place to stay Pardoo !!! Same price for powered site [ no restriction on use of power ] Everyone including staff are friendly and helpful , no us and them attitude !!! Ablution blocks are great [ they even have a roof !!! ] Nice grassed sites .
Sorry nothing nice to say about Barn Hill or it's management !!!!! We left after two nights although we had paid for three , Couldn't hack the place any longer would rather lose our money !!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
12  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at this basic camp ground. The dirt road wasn't too bad if you took it slowly. Luckily The powered camp site we had was on the edge, so we weren't too crowded, otherwise the powered sites were very crowded. It would have been better on an unpowered site as there was more room. Toilets were basic, clean, but probably need a major upgrade. $27.00 per night was okay. Beach and rock pools fantastic. Some more seating to watch the great sunsets would be welcome. Regulars and long timers have a great affinity and the Sunday mini market had some very nice hand made craft for sale. Fire pits to enable a camp fire would be welcome. Of the 40 odd hopeful fisher people, me included, no one caught a fish. Pity.

Room Tip: Get an unpowered site as the power is useless and you will have more room.
Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank monikar134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I had the best time staying in the unpowered site. The outdoor showers that let you look up at the stars were fun and the beach access was fantastic, sandy beaches and warm water to swim in thank you to all the staff, you are very accommodating and insitefull about the area.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Ebony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Currently living in Broome and had friends come visit. Showing my friends around and looking at places to stay. Arrived at Barn Hill to have a look around. Did not notice the sign saying something to the affect that I had to 'check in'. Had a quiet slow drive around the park and had a look at the beach, very pleasant picturesque spot. On the way out we were accosted by the park manager and berated and yelled at for not checking in and for 'hacking around' the park. When I could get a word in I apologised profusely and assured the man that I did not see the sign, nor did my friend. Amongst other things I was basically accused of lying and threatened with a call to the Bidgy Police (nearest police station) and being charged with trespassing.
Told him I was sorry but was just looking around for places to come stay at on weekends and with friends. I was then asked if I was booking in, when I said not anymore he then said well there is the exit!!!
I was appalled and embarrassed for my friend who had to witness the whole performance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
8  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broome hotels
3.7 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
32.1 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
30.9 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#8 of 12 in Broome
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.8 mi away
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
30.8 mi away
Moonlight Bay Suites
Moonlight Bay Suites
#3 of 12 in Broome
405 reviews
31.7 mi away
Palm Grove Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barn Hill Station Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barn Hill Station Stay

Address: Great Northern Highway, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Broome
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barn Hill Station Stay is a family run nature based park, situated on a cattle station perched on one of the most breath taking coastlines in the Kimberley. Our caravan park is pet friendly, and has a strong community feel with weekly activities. We are open from Easter to November. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing