We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too noisy and overcrowded.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palm Grove Holiday Resort
Ranked #17 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Broome
Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

We had booked a site 5 months earlier but when we arrived we were put in the overflow area. Tiny cramped sites that barely fit the van and the car. Worst of all the site was next to the cafe so you heard the extractor fan buzzing all day. Then at night the live bands at the divers tavern kicked in and it was LOUD until at least 11pm every night of the week.
We cancelled the rest of our booking. We would rather camp beside the road then come back here.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mumbles44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in the tent camping area. It is a great location a short walk to beautiful Cable Beach.
There seemed to be only 1 person cleaning, and although she did a good job on the surface, the bathrooms need a thorough clean.
The kitchen area appeared well equipped but the BBQ grease container had not been emptied in forever and the fridges were dirty and 1 was iced up.
Also the campground is very close to the airport and we were woken by loud aircraft noise at 4am each day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nancybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We are staying here for 3 weeks and like some other reviewers I would have to agree that this caravan park (resort seems a slight exaggeration) is average. The main amenities block needs a make over and if you are unfortunate enough to be allocated a spot in the 'overflow' section, I hope it's not on a Fri, Sat. or Sund. night! Even where we were, further away from the road, the noise of bands playing at the Divers Tavern directly opposite will keep you up till midnight and was a bit annoying. The pool is OK but there's no playground. We had a squiz at Cable Beach caravan park and it seems much nicer - much better pool, small playground, and nicer grounds overall.
I would say that if you can't get in to any other caravan parks in Cable Beach, this one is still OK, but be prepared for average ratings. The location is still good, and it's handy to a cafe on the corner, bus pick up, and of course Cable Beach itself is only a 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Merdy2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We visited some friends that were staying here about 5 years ago & we were impressed by the grounds of the park as well as the rooms. How times have changed! We are currently on night 3 of a 4 night stay & the only reason why we havent changed accomodation is that we have already paid up front. Complaints are: Studio room is a tacky all in one room where the bed, kitchen & dining are all in one space. I can live with that except...room is dirty with spiders & cobwebs throughout. Fan doesnt work at all, tv has terrible reception & shower head is so calcified that it sprays in all directions & the spray that comes out in some spots is so strong its hurts when in contact with your skin. Overall room is tired & in desperate need of an overhaul. Worst of all, we are paying $150 per night when friends of ours are staying in much nicer hotels (frangipani, seashells & pinctada) for less! Sorely disappointed & will definitely not be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank leighandbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed here many times over the years as the location is quite good . After checking out a few other places last time in Broome we will never stay at palm grove again . The old duck at reception is rude, arrogant and unhelpful . The rooms are outdated and absolutely filthy . My addvice DON'T STAY HERE , there are many other cheap options in Broome other then this mess of a place . If you see palm grove ... Keep driving

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Westy237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Stayed for 5 nights in a 2 bedroom cabin - the decor is dated but perfectly clean and very well equipped. Excellent air conditioning. Excellent location to walk to Cable Beach, town tourist bus stops right outside the door and runs every 1/2 hr. Pool well kept and clean. Compared to everywhere else in Cable Beach the rate per night was reasonable. Biggest disappointment was the sour faced rude young girl at reception - she was fast and efficient but unable to make eye contact or even smile. I would however stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Belgian_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This is not a fancy pants resort, rather a very well-located and serviced holiday park with cabins and caravan/tent areas. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin for a week, with full kitchen and laundry, great-sized verandah and loved it. The cabin was spacious with a living area with 2 lounges and a small dining table closer to the kitchen. Many a lazy afternoon was wiled away with a few beers on the verandah watching the odd roo jump past, listening to the bird life and greeting passing neighbours.

The Cable Beach shop is right next to the park (with great coffee and hamburgers, free chips on Tuesday!), and the fantastic Divers Tavern and bar just across the road. The main road doesn't get a crazy amount of traffic and there is not a huge amount of noise that I could discern or found annoying in any way.

Cable beach, the quieter section further away from the Cable Beach Club, is just across the main road (walking over some awesome large dunes). If you prefer lounges to bumming on the sand you can walk down a short strech of beach to the Beach Hut and grab 2 lounges with umbrella for about $25 for 4 hours.

The reception staff are lovely and helpful, as were the cleaning staff when we wanted our towels changed.

The pool is not huge but it's clean and enough for a dip and lazy paddle in between visits to the beach.

The park has a really nice atmosphere, with some longer-term as well as shorter stay visitors.

We'll be back.

Room Tip: Just let the staff know your needs and preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MayaDeePee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broome hotels
0.5 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
28.6 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Moonlight Bay Suites
Moonlight Bay Suites
#2 of 12 in Broome
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#5 of 12 in Broome
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaches of Broome
Beaches of Broome
#6 of 28 in Broome
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Grove Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Grove Holiday Resort

Address: 1 Murray Rd | PO Box 5499, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Broome
Price Range: £79 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Grove Holiday Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located splashing distance from beautiful Cable Beach, Palm Grove Holiday Resort combines one of Broome's finest locations with quality accomadation at very competitive rates. With its landscaped setting and deluxe amenities, such as a swimming pool and mini golf facilities, Palm Grove is the perfect place to relax for a couple of days - or a few months. Opened in 1996, Palm Grove has establishd itself as one of the leading caravan resorts in town in terms of facilities, variety of accommodation and the high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Palm Grove Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Grove Holiday Hotel Broome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing