We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a word 'DON'T'”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roebuck Bay Caravan Park
Ranked #22 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Broome
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“In a word 'DON'T'”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Having just spent 4 nights in the worst camp in WA, might I just say...
The view from our waterfront site was great and the site was well sheltered and had plenty of room.
BUT...
The ablution blocks were an absolute disgrace, 4 loos and 4 showers, 1 basin and what I think was a mirror. Probably built in the 1960's and never been upgraded or cleaned since.
Come on RBCP you are making HEAPS during the on season, invest a bit back so that we Aussie travellers might be encouraged to come back again. How about paying for a security patrol at night - that would have saved us the $300.00 we lost to some nimble thief who stole our funds from inside our trailer when we were in it.
Obviously you are only in the place to rip people off otherwise you would renovate (or demolish and rebuild) the ablutions, pay for adequate security, pay people to actually maintain the grounds (our site was littered with paper scraps and cigarette butts). At $49 per night I expect more.
We moved down the road to the Vacation Village in Broome, what a difference, very welcoming staff, unlike the rude people who man the reception at RBPC, well maintained sites and an ablution block that is CLEAN. How do I know, you can smell the disinfectant.
I know where I'll be staying next time I visit Broome - Vacation Village.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Clareville251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    40
    31
    17
    29
See reviews for
17
82
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Broome
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We came to this camping because it was recommended in the Lonely Planet 2012, with "great facilities". We honestly have no idea when they checked this place!

The only camp kitchen is in the fenced backpacker's area (which is more looking like a refugee camp due to the separation), and the amenities are really poor: The showers are very small and quite dirty and the mirrors are so low quality that you can't see yourself properly in it.

The staff is quite unfriendly and you don't feel very welcome. Also, we were briefly informed that there are a lot of thieves around the park - that makes you feel comfortable!!

But the worst of all: The rules and the signs everywhere (as other reviewers already mentioned) - nearly every second meter you can see a warning sign (not to do this or that etc). The best one: "1 washing machine = 1 person" - as if a couple would wash all their clothes separately... Killing every bit of a good atmosphere.

The fact that the park is directly at the beach saves it, otherwise not recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soulaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Broome hotels

MLDH36D
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed in a powered beachfront site for a few nights. We had a superb view of the 'staircase to the moon', even though we have now found out that is a rather uninspiring event. The people staying around us were all very pleasant and were short stayers like us. The atmosphere was good, grass freshly cut and bbq's clean.

BUT...

Ablutions were very dated and poorly cleaned, with no soap available, I note that previous reviews refer to them as being 'prison-like'... I have to agree.

Customer service. Poor. See other reviews for elaboration.

Our neighbours warned us that the people on the site before us had money stolen out the tent while they were in the next caravan. We were extra cautious.

If you can get a beachfront site during the staircase to the moon then there is no reason not to get this place for a night. Any other time don't bother.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MLDH36D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

beautiful, quiet campground, for a few extra dollars you can get a beachfront. Staff are super friendly, place is very clean. Backpackers complain that they are hated upon, that isn't true. We are backpackers and if you don't want a grassy site on the other side of the road, ask for a powered site, otherwise, yes, you will go to unpowered tent community full of backpackers who party till late hours!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keitysja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic surprise to arrive at Roebuck Bay caravan park and be greeted by a friendly helpful happy young receptionist.we paid for a waterfront powered site for our van and it didn't disappoint postcard picture over Roebuck Bay and jetty stunning. Spotless clean toilets, shower and laundry even though they are old. Value here was fantastic we were expecting exorbitant but paid same price as kalbarri. We loved our short stay and will be back .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Bondyzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Where to begin
- staff was rude while checking it
- no visitors are allowed
- lights didn't work in kitchen or bathroom
- employee sprayed us while hosing out kitchen
- nagged on all morning to pack up and leave
- no soap in washrooms
- can't use power points
- no proper sitess just a field that you can set up wherever
- Annoying signs all around campground reminding you of all the rules
- and it costs 15$ per person

Travelling around the west coast camping and this has got to be the worst campground in the whole of WA.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travellingbrontie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I agree with all the 1star reviews, this site is awful, the staff are unfriendly and rude, the signs are intimidating and ridiculous and the amenities are awful.

Firstly, they seem to hate backpackers and we were shoved into a disgusting field site, the MCG, that other people have mentioned. The kitchen in there was awful, the light was broken and there are signs all over it telling you what to do. The staff when we booked in were unfriendly and we felt like we were hassling them. On the morning we left (we only stayed one night thank god) we were sat chatting at about 8:45am and the caretaker of our area walked past and interupted our conversation to tell us check out was at 10am. he then came back 30seconds later and said the same thing. then at 9am (an hour til checkout) he came over again and told us 'checkouts at 10am', we said 'yes we know', he said 'you should start packing up'!!!! like we were idiots!!!!!! we started packing up at 9:30 and checked out by 9:50! SO RUDE!

Secondly, the signs, THE SIGNS, they are everywhere! telling you not to use the sockets or you WILL get evicted. Telling you that opening and closing the fridge makes it not work, what's the point of a fridge you can't open?! Also on the back of the campsite maps there are TWENTY TWO RULES. how can a campsite need that many rules?! also the rules were ridiculous and basically stopped anyone from having any fun whatsoever!!!

Lastly, the amenities, the kitchen gets hosed down at night, thats how they clean it?!?! we were sat outside as they did this and got no warning so we got soaked!! The bathroom light just stopped working while we were there. When we went to the bathroom before bed in the evening we came back to find the caretaker waiting creepily by the table to ask us accusatorily if we were going to clean up our cans etc. which obviously we were, but the way he was creeping about and expecting us not to made me want to not bother!

honestly i can't express what a horrible place this is, just don't go.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank asgreen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broome hotels
1.4 mi away
Broome Time Accommodation
2.8 mi away
Palm Grove Holiday Resort
1.4 mi away
Broome Vacation Village
Broome Vacation Village
#23 of 29 in Broome
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Roebuck Plains Roadhouse
3.1 mi away
Beaches of Broome
Beaches of Broome
#6 of 29 in Broome
185 reviews
7.2 mi away
Broome Bird Observatory
Broome Bird Observatory
#17 of 29 in Broome
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roebuck Bay Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roebuck Bay Caravan Park

Property: Roebuck Bay Caravan Park
Address: 91 Walcott Street, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Broome
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roebuck Bay Caravan Park 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broome's only Park on a Beach! Roebuck Bay Caravan Park is the most popular park in Broome. The caravan park, located right on Town Beach Roebuck Bay, is a shady grassed park, with a range of accommodation including on-site vans, powered and unpowered sites. Roebuck Bay Caravan Park is the closest to Broome township and handy to shops, a variety of restaurants and entertainment. Broome simply oozes with colour. It's Western Australia's secret getaway - right on the Indian Ocean's doorstep and the gateway to Australia's last frontier of pristine wilderness - the Kimberley. The colours and moods of Broome will capture your soul and you will never want to leave. View the "Staircase To The Moon" from your front doorstep. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing