We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“respect for others” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roebuck Bay Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roebuck Bay Caravan Park
Ranked #22 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Broome
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“respect for others”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I often get on this just to read and have a laugh. Its amazing just what some people complain about.

The caretaker patrols the camp ground and so far has done a good job of keeping the noise down so some of us can get sleep before we get up for work.

Every other year the MCG has been known as the party ground. But this year many of the party goers that have returned have found out that its not anymore. To the benefit to the many.

If you are one of the few that have got on the wrong side of the caretaker i just have to ask why?

Would it be because you couldn't walk a few meters to charge your phone?
One of the many signs people are complaining about say you can charge at the office or at the caretakers van.

Instead we have to wait on your phone to be charged before we can cook our meals?


You left your mess so the rest of us or the caretaker had to clean up after you? (The please clean up after yourself sign).

Or you made noise to keep the rest of us campers awake.

Or were you one of the many that has tried to smuggle others into the camp ground.
Just to save a few bucks? Warning, he finds you.
How did the other person say, he creeps around after dark looking for the sneaky people smugglers.

As for 22 rules that cracked me up.
If anyone even bothered to read them they would see that the 22 rules are for the whole caravan park not just the camp grounds.

As for the cleaning I have seen them spay chemicals and scrub the benches yes they do use the hose but to wash off the excess chemicals.
And yes if you open and close the fridges all the time it will reduce the effectiveness to keep food cold. (Health and safety reasons for those signs.)

All signs are there for the benefit of all of us campers !!! As many of the travelers coming through don't seem to care or respect that some of us are here for the long term that we need to work ect.

On a number of occasions where i have to visit the office. I have found the staff extremely busy but friendly. Yes sometimes they seem a little under pressure trying to meet all the requests and demands made on them.

The phone seems like it never stops. Not to mention the abuse I witnessed someone give the staff member the other day when they couldn't give the customer a water front site. Or the amount of times they had to say they were full and didn't have any powered sites.

And here I noticed someone has complained that they got told about some thieves in the park. What you would prefer not to know. And just get robbed.

I did notice further down in the comments list about a dump point being a hole in the ground in the toilet block.
If you had of asked the staff where it was I am sure they would have told you they are in the laundry. Not the drain in the shower block.

In my time at this park so far I have witnessed many things that astound me and many things where simple respect or common decency would go a long way.

So if you want to have a pleasant stay and don't want to get on the wrong side of the caretaker do what the rest of us do, Obey the few simple rules that are in place for all of us !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ozylady_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    36
    26
    14
    27
See reviews for
12
74
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

When we arrive at the office we booked directly for a week my boyfriend and I. The staff at the office was unfriendly except the boss! We are backpackers so we were at the MCG but you can call it prison or ghetto, it's the same.. The only thing who can say the caretaker is " I don't care ok?!" He is stupid and embittered by life. No smile, no respect, anything.
After one night we left this prison for a powered campsite with a really nice view to the beach! There is just ONE kitchen with only 3 gas cookers and 5 fridges, the sixth one is not for food. Why? all the fridges are full at all time! And this kitchen is at the MCG! so we had to walk everyday at the opposit of our campsite to take the food we needed..
The shower are really small and dirty, you can't see yourself on the mirror because it's so dirty! No soap available.
You don't feel welcome. It's a shame, because it could be a really nice spot but some person from the staff messed up!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Broome hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Having just spent 4 nights in the worst camp in WA, might I just say...
The view from our waterfront site was great and the site was well sheltered and had plenty of room.
BUT...
The ablution blocks were an absolute disgrace, 4 loos and 4 showers, 1 basin and what I think was a mirror. Probably built in the 1960's and never been upgraded or cleaned since.
Come on RBCP you are making HEAPS during the on season, invest a bit back so that we Aussie travellers might be encouraged to come back again. How about paying for a security patrol at night - that would have saved us the $300.00 we lost to some nimble thief who stole our funds from inside our trailer when we were in it.
Obviously you are only in the place to rip people off otherwise you would renovate (or demolish and rebuild) the ablutions, pay for adequate security, pay people to actually maintain the grounds (our site was littered with paper scraps and cigarette butts). At $49 per night I expect more.
We moved down the road to the Vacation Village in Broome, what a difference, very welcoming staff, unlike the rude people who man the reception at RBPC, well maintained sites and an ablution block that is CLEAN. How do I know, you can smell the disinfectant.
I know where I'll be staying next time I visit Broome - Vacation Village.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clareville251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We came to this camping because it was recommended in the Lonely Planet 2012, with "great facilities". We honestly have no idea when they checked this place!

The only camp kitchen is in the fenced backpacker's area (which is more looking like a refugee camp due to the separation), and the amenities are really poor: The showers are very small and quite dirty and the mirrors are so low quality that you can't see yourself properly in it.

The staff is quite unfriendly and you don't feel very welcome. Also, we were briefly informed that there are a lot of thieves around the park - that makes you feel comfortable!!

But the worst of all: The rules and the signs everywhere (as other reviewers already mentioned) - nearly every second meter you can see a warning sign (not to do this or that etc). The best one: "1 washing machine = 1 person" - as if a couple would wash all their clothes separately... Killing every bit of a good atmosphere.

The fact that the park is directly at the beach saves it, otherwise not recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soulaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLDH36D
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed in a powered beachfront site for a few nights. We had a superb view of the 'staircase to the moon', even though we have now found out that is a rather uninspiring event. The people staying around us were all very pleasant and were short stayers like us. The atmosphere was good, grass freshly cut and bbq's clean.

BUT...

Ablutions were very dated and poorly cleaned, with no soap available, I note that previous reviews refer to them as being 'prison-like'... I have to agree.

Customer service. Poor. See other reviews for elaboration.

Our neighbours warned us that the people on the site before us had money stolen out the tent while they were in the next caravan. We were extra cautious.

If you can get a beachfront site during the staircase to the moon then there is no reason not to get this place for a night. Any other time don't bother.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MLDH36D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

beautiful, quiet campground, for a few extra dollars you can get a beachfront. Staff are super friendly, place is very clean. Backpackers complain that they are hated upon, that isn't true. We are backpackers and if you don't want a grassy site on the other side of the road, ask for a powered site, otherwise, yes, you will go to unpowered tent community full of backpackers who party till late hours!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keitysja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic surprise to arrive at Roebuck Bay caravan park and be greeted by a friendly helpful happy young receptionist.we paid for a waterfront powered site for our van and it didn't disappoint postcard picture over Roebuck Bay and jetty stunning. Spotless clean toilets, shower and laundry even though they are old. Value here was fantastic we were expecting exorbitant but paid same price as kalbarri. We loved our short stay and will be back .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Bondyzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broome hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Broome
Mercure Broome
#9 of 11 in Broome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.9 mi away
Palm Grove Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Beaches of Broome
Beaches of Broome
#7 of 30 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Reflections Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Moonlight Bay Suites
Moonlight Bay Suites
#3 of 30 in Broome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roebuck Bay Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roebuck Bay Caravan Park

Property: Roebuck Bay Caravan Park
Address: 91 Walcott Street, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Broome
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roebuck Bay Caravan Park 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broome's only Park on a Beach! Roebuck Bay Caravan Park is the most popular park in Broome. The caravan park, located right on Town Beach Roebuck Bay, is a shady grassed park, with a range of accommodation including on-site vans, powered and unpowered sites. Roebuck Bay Caravan Park is the closest to Broome township and handy to shops, a variety of restaurants and entertainment. Broome simply oozes with colour. It's Western Australia's secret getaway - right on the Indian Ocean's doorstep and the gateway to Australia's last frontier of pristine wilderness - the Kimberley. The colours and moods of Broome will capture your soul and you will never want to leave. View the "Staircase To The Moon" from your front doorstep. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing