We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious, yet intimate and friendly resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Broome
Certificate of Excellence
Yinnar, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A luxurious, yet intimate and friendly resort”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We often visit Broome as we have family inland in the Kimberley - usually 2 or 3 times a year. For this reason we have stayed at a number of Broom'e resorts/hotels - usually for just one or two nights before we travel out. This was the first time we had stayed at the Pinctada. As it was out of season we gained a very good rate for two nights. If we were in the cheapest rooms (Shinju Studio overlooking the pool), then the standard must be extremely high - our room was large, luxurious, with a very comfortable king sized bed. Personal coffee maker was a nice touch. We had a lovely view over the pool from the second floor. We had dinner in the Selene brasserie - very pleasantly surprised by the lovely food. I'd highly recommend the Lobster Tail Gnocci - to die for!!

We had such a great time that we booked another night on our return back into Broome before flying out. Again very enjoyable!

There is a very large resort right on cable beach (Cable Beach Resort) that places you closer to the beach and the magnificent sunsets. It might have more options for families with young children, but I preferred the more intimate feel of a resort that has all the luxurious facilities, but is more scaleable. You don't feel you need a golf buggy to reach your suite! A little further from the beach yes, but still very well placed at Cable Beach. There is a bus stop just outside the resort so easy to get into town.

Professionally trained hospitality people know how to project a positive image, however we were impressed with the obvious friendliness and interest staff showed in us - nothing fake about it.

We will definitely be staying at the Pinctada again when we travel up to Broome. Thanks again to matthew the GM and his staff who made our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Shinju studio s on thew second floor overlooking the pool are well situated to all facilities and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzzyIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Ozzylan,
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback and kind recommendations from your recent stay. On behalf of our team at Pinctada, and myself it was a pleasure to look after you and I look forward to being able to welcome you back again when you next visit Broome.

Kind Regards,
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    198
    79
    25
    13
See reviews for
58
365
44
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Pinctada Hotel at Cable Beach is a boutique hotel only minutes from Broome's famous Cable Beach. The rooms are spacious, clean and modern as you would expect from any 5 star hotel but the big difference for me was the friendly, courteous and helpful staff.

Everyone is laid back in Broome and the locals operate on "Broome Time" which means no one is ever in a hurry. That doesn't mean the staff weren't efficient though - quite the opposite. They were absolutely great. And the breakfasts are sensational with real table service and lots of unexpected special touches.

Broome is a very relaxed place and the home of cultured pearls so there's plenty of Pearl Lugger tours, scenic flights over the beautiful Kimberley Coast, not to mention fishing charters and scenic helicopter flights.

The pool at the Pinctada is also great but it's more like being in a spa because, like the beach, the water is always incredibly warm.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Tony S,
Thankyou for taking the time to post feedback from your recent stay and your kind recommendations. I was delighted to see that the staff have made such an positive impression on your stay. I look forward to being able to welcome you back when you next have an opportunity to return to Broome.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed at this resort before going on a cruise. it was a lovely hotel, well appointed and the rooms were very comfortable. The restaurant was ecellent and the breakfast selection was exceptional Not on the beach, but an easy walk. also, near a bus stop so you can get the bus to Broom town centre, or take a 10 min taxi ride.

Room Tip: All rooms seem OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ctravelhappylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear MrandMrsMature,
Thank you for taking the time to post comments from you stay with us at Pinctada. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that you enjoyed the cruise that followed. I hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back for an extended stay in Broome in the future.

Kind Regards,
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was our first visit to Broome & we will go back. We loved Pinctada. We had a room with a private courtyard which was right near the pool. Unlike others, we found the pool refreshing & the staff courteous, helpful & always on hand. We were greeted on our arrival, which was fairly late & given a welcome drink which was ice cold & delicious. Before we hired a car we caught the bus with the bus stop just up the street. It was very hot whilst we were there, but we didn't mind the walk to the beach. There is a tavern at the end of the street & a shop across from that where you can get meals from if you don't want to eat at the resort.
We enjoyed both breakfast & dinner at Pinctada & both times excellent food as well as staff attentiveness. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this resort to others.(our trip was December 2012)

Room Tip: Private plunge pool would be nice but we were on the ground floor with a private courtyard near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Fat7,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review from your stay with us and for the kind recommendation. I am very pleased to see that you had such an enjoyable experience during your first trip to Broome and I hope that can welcome you back when you have an opportunity to return for another "great stay".

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I had such high expectations of this hotel but as my stay went on it went downhill. Lovely spacious room, but toilet kept running and other maintenance issues. Messy gardens and weren't told about the staining of the decking, so was disappointing. Pool was very warm, no staff at the bar and day spa was open when we wanted to go so we had to go to another resorts day spa.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tashy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Tashy22,
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback of your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to see that you had an issue with the room. I only wish that you had reported your concerns during your stay as it would have been actioned promptly. As you had observed we were conducting routine maintenance with deck staining in early January. During this period the pool bar was inaccessible but we were running service from our Nyx bar. I am sorry that we did not have an opportunity to discuss this during your stay but I do hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit from Perth, possibly when it is a little cooler?

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Not really into spa so were more interested in a good stay experience which did not happen for us apparently due to partly to some wet weather, few other guests, deserted areas, main pool bar rarely open in good weather during our stay etc etc....Too hot to walk all the way to Cable Beach Car Park Area then fry on the open sand......and an hour between the local buses...we hired a car and found it more attractive to sit in the air conditioning in it rather than at the hotel so we could at least see the few tourist sites of Broome most of which offer little shade or respite from the burning sun and oppressive humidity... the area being so limited in scope we drove around and around again...Doubt we will visit the place for a return journey.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pumpkin266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Pumpkin266,
I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. It would appear however that you did not enjoy the destination of Broome at this time of year rather than your stay at the resort? I wish you well in your future travels.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Pinctada was wonderful. We stayed in a Honjin Family Villa and enjoyed the perks of a private plunge pool, pure indulgence! The room was a great size.

We spent time at the day spa enjoying a kodo relaxation massage, absolute professionalism allowed for complete relaxation! Thanks ladies

We ate at selenes as well as ordering food and beverage from
Brizos whilst by the pool, food was always delightful! Highly Recommend the watermelon Martinis!!

Thanks to all the staff at Pinctada for an enjoyable stay!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wanesssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C, General Manager at Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Wanessa,
I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you had an opportunity to enjoy all of the resort offerings. Thank you for taking the time to write a separate review of Selene’s Brasserie. I look forward to being able to welcome you back for another relaxing holiday the next time you have the opportunity to return to Broome.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Clowes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broome hotels
0.6 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
28.6 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#4 of 11 in Broome
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
2.4 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#6 of 11 in Broome
300 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa

Property: Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
Address: 10 Murray Rd | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia (Formerly Pinctada Cable Beach)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Broome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Broome
#5 Luxury Hotel in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimberley Sands Resort and Spa is Broome's newest full service spa resort located close to Cable Beach. Located in the Kimberley Region of Western Australia, our Award winning intimate 72 room & suite resort is created to nurture you. Here you'll find understated elegance and around the clock attention. Original art to the hand selected furnishings and decor, every detail reflects the Kimberley. Features include the 25m Maxima pool, guest gym, meditative gardens and day spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinctada Cable Beach Hotel Broome
Pinctada Cable Beach Broome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing