We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place we have stayed in Broome Town Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moonlight Bay Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Place we have stayed in Broome Town Centre”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We work in the Kimberlies and come to stay in Broome often for a bit of R&R. As a result, we have stayed in a number of different places in Broome and this hotel is the best we have stayed in in the center of Broome!!

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with another couple and the room was very good. It was spacious and comfortable. Unlike the Oaks just down the road, the kitchen was very large and functional (You could actually prepare a meal in there). There was plenty of cutlery, plates, salad bowls etc.

The rooms have been recently renovated and the fittings and furnishings are very nice. There is 3 air conditioners in the rooms and they all work perfectly. We got a room overlooking the Bay and the view is spectacular!!!

The pool is brilliant and there is two BBQ areas for guests!! Further to this, There is a large grassed area overlooking the bay where kids can play!!!

If I had one gripe, it would be that the room's spa is far to small. It is one of those Bath's with jets in it, not a corner spa. Good for one person but definitely no good for a romantic spa for two!!

The customer service here was second to none. They were very helpful and even allowed one couple to stay in the 2 bedroom apartment on the third night for the price of the 1 bedroom apartment rather than making them move rooms!!!! Very helpful!

Overall,I was very impressed with the Moonlight Bay Suites and would recommend it anyone wanting a brilliant place to stay in the center of town.

Room Tip: Don't get a garden view room......it just overlooks the carpark!! Pay the extra for the ocean vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilnBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    141
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
73
173
28
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Well located across road from Matso's which is a great venue for food, drink (try the ginger beer), and atmosphere. Easy to get a bus or walk to Chinatown. Very comfortable, clean and well appointed rooms with kitchen facilities. Steve and Kathy are great hosts as well.
Very enjoyable stay.
Gillian L

Room Tip: Location especially if you do not have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I stayed here accidentally as I missed my connection and loved the room and the position.
The staff went out of their way to be helpful in recovering a camera left in a taxi, giving free drink vouchers for Matso's and transport to Cable Beach.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My wife and myself stayed in the Moonlight Bay Suites in Broome from 1-5 July 2012. The location was excellent, only a 5 minute walk to the shops. The accommodation was very clean and well appointed and the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms were serviced daily. It was great to have both a shower and a bath in our suite and feel that this is a good marketing point. Also it was a pleasant surprise to sit in a comfortable lounge and watch television. Whilst the water was still too cool for us to have a swim, the grassed area near the pool overlooking the bay, was a fantastic spot to view the Staircase to the Moon phenomena, which we were fortunate to see.
We will certainly be recomemding this accommodation to our friends

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

An excellent spot in Broome with views of Roebuck Bay, right on the very convenient 'Town Bus' route, and close to Matso's Brewery/Pub/Restaurant. The only minor downside are the stairs you must climb with your baggage to get to your rooms-not what you want after a long trip! Otherwise, excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side with bay views & on the upper storey if you don't mind stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Sometimes you get what you pay for, sometimes you don’t. Yet now and then you make your reservation, check in, open the door and simply go Wow!

I was up in Broome recently to train some of our staff working in that particular neck of the woods. I booked via our companies travel provider and in their list of recommendations was the Moonlight Bay Resort. To be honest I’d never heard of them but the price looked reasonable, the reviews were generally positive (except for one bloke where I think he was getting his resorts confused) and it was close to the training venue so I took a punt and hit the ‘Book’ button.

The first positive was check-in. It was late, I was tired but the lady behind the counter was so friendly I could not help but smile. To put the icing on the cake she gave me a voucher for a free beer at Matso’s with the comment “You look like you need a beer on us”. Fantastic gesture and she was right, I did need a beer.

First impressions of the resort itself were good. It did look like it harked back from the late 70’s / early 80’s but they obviously had a gardener who took exceptional pride in their work as the lawns, plants and palms were immaculate. The view from my apartment complex was also a sight to behold, looking over a very inviting pool, more immaculate lawns and ending with a 180-degree vista of Roebuck Bay. It was that time of day where the sun had just gone down below the horizon, the ocean was a still, gunmetal grey and the sky was every shade of pink. Absolutely stunning! I must have looked like a bit of berk standing there but I didn’t care, it was that pretty.

I finally managed to tear myself away from the view and opened the door. It was then that the “Wow” moment hit. The room was huge and at half the price that I would normally pay for a 20-year old shoebox in Karratha. I’d booked a superior room so either they’d given me a discrete upgrade or they really place some credence in the word “superior”! I’ve lived in apartments smaller than this.

To the left was a full kitchen, in the middle a 4 piece dining suite and to the right a large LCD TV, coffee table, study table and couch. At the rear of the room, through a set of dividing doors was the bedroom with a comfortable looking bed and plenty of space for luggage, laptops etc. Adjacent to the bedroom was the bathroom with all the modern conveniences and joy of joys a bathtub big enough for a professional basket-baller to stretch out in. The room did have shades of the 1980’s to it, with plenty of pinks and ‘burnt sienna’ but I tend to like that retro touch whether it is deliberate or not.

I really, truly cannot think of anything negative to say about the Moonlight Bay Resort. The rooms were serviced daily, everything I need and more was there at my fingertips and the staff were unfailingly polite and attentive. Probably the only thing I can think of that could be improved up is the air conditioning unit. Due to the heat and humidity that this region is famous (infamous) for it smelled a little musty when I first turned it on. I had the same problem with my own air conditioning when I lived in Karratha and I found regular cleaning of the filters with a bit of bleach did the trick.

Will I be back, you bet I will!

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with views of Roebuck Bay. The sunsets are worth seeing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We enjoyed our 7 night stay in a one bedroom bayview suite. It is ideal for couples as it is quiet with well maintained grounds, pool and BBQ areas. Rooms were more than adequate and bed was comfortable. Our rooms were serviced daily which was a bonus. Bathroom was in need of some repair. It was in walking distance to town, close to Matso's brewery and bus stop outside. Staff were friendly. Great location to see Staircase to the Moon and Night Markets.Thank you.

Room Tip: One with bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jas060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broome hotels
3.0 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#7 of 11 in Broome
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#3 of 11 in Broome
356 reviews
27.5 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Mercure Broome
Mercure Broome
#9 of 11 in Broome
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Bay Suites

Property: Moonlight Bay Suites
Address: 51 Carnarvon St, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonlight Bay Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moonlight Bay Suites, situated near the heart of Broome and on the water’s edge of the spectacular Roebuck Bay. We offer accommodation that is considered to be one of Broome’s finest properties featuring one and two bedroom fully self-contained suites. Of our 50 suites, 25 feature views over the turquoise waters of the bay and the property’s huge sparkling blue pool. If you want to stay close to the water and enjoy world-class ocean scenery, choose Moonlight Bay Suites as your accommodation when in Broome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Moonlight Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonlight Bay Hotel Broome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing