We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sad to have left ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moonlight Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moonlight Bay Suites
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sad to have left ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Moonlight Suites top floor over looking the bay from our balcony. Loved it. Woke up every morning to the beautiful sight of the bay. So peaceful. Swimming pool and gym.Self contained unit, with big shower and spa. Matsos Brewery right across the road, delicious food and beer. We ordered from our room and Matsos delivered to our door. Bus stop right outside Matsos, stops off at the major places like China Town, Boulevard Shopping Center and ofcourse Cable Beach. Loved it. Sad to have left. Definitely going back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    136
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
71
163
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had been recommended to stay on Roebuck Bay, as the hotels at Cable Beach are not on the beach and don't have sea views. On arrival we were disappointed with our garden view room, it overlooked a side street, and we were fortunate to be able to change after two nights to a ground unit near the pool. But I would highly recommend booking early, spending extra and having an upstairs room with private balcony, ensuring it was one with a view of the bay. As others have commented, the bottom rooms do not afford much privacy, you need to go to the pool/lawn area if you want to be outside as your doors open to the common walkways, and you also need to keep your shutters down if you don't want people walking by to look in your room. This means you lose a little of the feeling of the place.

My teen daughter enjoyed the gym.

My girls enjoyed the pool area, however it is unfortunate the pool isn't a little warmer, its peak season with many families here, and the pool is like ice, only my 8 year old was brave (silly?!) enough to be able to be in the pool for longer than a 30 second dip. others were also disappointed.

The staff were lovely, waiting times at reception can be long as there has only ever been one staff member there when i've been in, so just allow a little time. However all requests have been very expertly handled, and you can book tours through the desk.

Rooms are good, we've had two whilst here, great to be able to prepare our own meals as eating out in Broome can be expensive, and the bbq was spotless. A large fridge was helpful. Ceiling fans and air conditioner were noisy but essential. Hard to sleep with fan on high speed, which is a little frustrating.

Great location for accessing the shops, and a drink at Matso's next door a must. We had a car so town access not an issue but people are either walking the short distance or commenting how easy the bus is to use.

Note that despite being on the Bay, you can't swim here and there are mangroves between the hotel and the bay. Save your $$$$ and stay this side of town, i don't think you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose upstairs with balcony if you want privacy. Request a room with a view over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juden69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Everything about Moonlight Bay is luxurious, I had such a lovely 11 night stay there. I stayed in a self contained Bay View suite on the 1st floor with the bedroom separate from the living area. There is no Restaurant/Cafe on site however Matso's Brewery Restaurant/Cafe is owned by the same company who run this resort and is across the road from Moonlight Bay Suites, Matso's is very good for breakfast and I can highly recommend the Pearler's Pale Ale beer in the evening. The resort is an easy 10 minute walk downhill to the town centre including Chinatown, the shopping centre including Coles supermarket and the famous Sun Picture Garden Cinema and when returning to your suite the town bus stops right out the front of Matso's, this hotel is very well situated, the suite was spacious with full self cooking facilities with stove/oven and a upright household fridge, nice comfortable bed, the staff were very exceptional helpful and friendly. (thanks Steve and Deb). Also the cleaning staff of the rooms were very good & friendly.
Stunning views of Roebuck bay with a large swimming pool. 2 BBQ facilities. If you want to stay in the township of Broome - the Moonlight Bay Suites is a good choice - the staff are unbeatable in friendliness and the suites are very comfortable.
Recommend pay extra for a Bay View suite on the 1st floor rather than a garden suite.

Room Tip: Recommend pay extra for a Bay View suite on the 1st floor rather than a garden suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great spot. We were unlucky to be in a room on the lower level, it did not afford any privacy. Not able to have door open, knowwhere to sit outside opposed to upper levels which had balcony with seating. Disappointing as this was discussed at time of booking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I spent four nights here on a recent trip to this part of Australia.

Location: The hotel is about half way between the town centre and Town Beach, so is reasonably convenient for both.

Accommodation: The suites are a good size, with a fully equipped kitchen. The air conditioning is noisy though, as are the fans, and I had to turn these off, or at least down, at night or sleep would have been impossible.

Catering: There is no restaurant in the actual hotel, though you can buy a light breakfast pack. However, the associated brewery/restaurant, Matso's, is just across the road and offers a great range of foods, including cooked breakfast. The ales are good - my favourite was "Hit The Toad", and not just because of the name!

Amenities: There is a reasonably priced laundry, including driers, and a small gym. I liked the pool area very much, but watch out for that water - it's cold!

Reception: Great staff, very helpful and welcoming.

All in all, this was a positive experience. I particularly appreciated the restfulness of the place after a week's camping tour.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Commodore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Overall the place is neat, clean and tidy with helpful staff. The rooms are generous, not luxury but very comfortable with a flat screen TV. The rooms have several Foxtel channels but they don't provide a Foxtel TV guide! The bathroom is very acceptable and it comes with a full kitchen but no dishwasher. The grounds were well kept with two BBQs and the pool looked very inviting. So far all good. We booked many many months before our stay and selected this resort because of the promised views of the sea 'which comes up to the edge of our property'. That also sounds good .... But they just forgot to mention that the mangroves extend from their property for some 300 mtrs or more and that at low tide the mud flats then extend for 100's of mtrs more. So the sea view is a rather 'distant sea view'. To be fair, sea views do not dominate in their own photos of the property. Plus the huge tides in Broome make the exposed mud flats inevitable! We upgraded to a Bay View Suite, only trouble was that we could not see the Bay! Management may deny it but some Bay View Rooms do not have bay views, so why advertise them as Bay Views Suites??? So after having travelled over 3000kms don 't expect to unwind by sitting on your balcony looking at the 'sea/bay views' from your Bay View Suite. Why? Bay View Suites don't have a balcony to sit on! But they do have a common walkway for other guests to have access to their rooms. They do provide a computer with Internet access at reception but there is no free Wi Fi in the rooms. So would I stay at this resort if I returned to Broome? Yes, value for money in Broome, on balance, this would be my preferred place to stay. Plus there is a bus stop very near the resort and from there you can tour the town and even go to Cable Beach for sunset and return by bus. If tempted to go to Broome then do your homework to avoid disappointment.

Room Tip: The far more expensive rooms do come with a private balcony and better views of the mangroves, mud f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mornington, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a 4 night stay at Moonlight Bay Suites. The location is ideal - a short walk to the town. There is also a bus stop nearby. Moonlight is across the road from Matso's Brewery which has good meals and is open from breakfast until late. The apartment was very clean and comfortable with everything we needed. We did not cook any meals but everything is supplied if required. The pool was clean and refreshing. Very good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ziggy284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broome hotels
3.0 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#6 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#4 of 11 in Broome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Broome
Mercure Broome
#9 of 11 in Broome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Bay Suites

Property: Moonlight Bay Suites
Address: 51 Carnarvon St, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonlight Bay Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moonlight Bay Suites, situated near the heart of Broome and on the water’s edge of the spectacular Roebuck Bay. We offer accommodation that is considered to be one of Broome’s finest properties featuring one and two bedroom fully self-contained suites. Of our 50 suites, 25 feature views over the turquoise waters of the bay and the property’s huge sparkling blue pool. If you want to stay close to the water and enjoy world-class ocean scenery, choose Moonlight Bay Suites as your accommodation when in Broome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Moonlight Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonlight Bay Hotel Broome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing