We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value, HUGE Rooms, Quiet, Clean & Friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moonlight Bay Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, HUGE Rooms, Quiet, Clean & Friendly.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

24M Pool, Gigantic rooms with a queen bed and a single, full kitchen, separate bath and shower, wc in an alcove off the bathroom. The queen bed is in a separate room to the single, which is in the lounge area. The place is quiet, clean and well appointed so a great nights sleep is assured. Matsos Restaurant over the road serves great coffee and a good breakfast. We dined next door for lunch and dinner at the Mangrove Hotel which is a very upmarket establishment with spectacular views across Roebuck Bay from the garden dining area. Two blocks easy walking from Broome Town Centre and Chinatown.

Room Tip: All good, Higher floor has better views but the better the view (Ocean), the more you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuzzyrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    137
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
73
165
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Convenient walk into Broom with bus stop across the road. Rooms very spacious & well appointed. Clean, soft towels & very comfy bed. Highly recommend restaurant across the road Matsos (I think) great for any meal of the day.

Room Tip: No lift so ask for ground floor if you can't carry your luggage upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

All the staff at this resort deserve mention for their superb service and friendliness; at one point, having missed the tour bus, I was driven directly to the departure point a few kms away by a member of staff (Katie) so that I would not miss my whale watching experience. The apartment itself was very well equipped with all the facilities one would wish for but It would not rate as exceptional in terms of decor and quality of mattress, pillows, etc. just a good 4* apartment. There is free Laundry facilities too and an excellent location. Matsos is a restaurant owned by the resort and it is a lovely venue for a chilled meal at any time of the day. Prices in Broome are high for everything, so accommodation and food is going to be expensive, be aware! I would certainly recommend this resort for what is probably one of the cheaper options in Broome, if nothing else, the staff make it worth it!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustavo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at Moonlight Bay Suites in April for 6 nights and again in June for 5 nights. I chose it because it was more convenient to Broome township than Cable Beach. The rooms are very large with dining table, lounge area and the bedroom can be closed off. The bathrooms have a full bath and separate shower plus fully equipped kitchens and both ceiling fans and aircon. There is also a large laundry and a gym, pool and spa. All the staff are very helpful, although I found that this is typical of Broome. I have stayed in both garden view rooms and an updated bay view room.Similar layout - just a different view. The sunset and sunrises are worth paying the extra for the bay view. Matsos Craft Brewery and Restaurant is open for breakfast lunch and dinner and charges back to Moonlight Bay and its only a 10minute walk or a 3 minute bus trip to Chinatown.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms look over Roebuck Bay. There are no lifts so if you don't want to carry luggage u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelling_annie
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in July with a small baby. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff from helping us find car and stroller rental to recommendations for dinner.
Service is often not a priority in the hospitality industry in WA but the Moonlight Bay have top notch staff who go out of their way to provide friendly, efficient service.
The hotel is also perfectly located for the Town Bus for days out at Cable Beach and you can walk to China Town and Town Beach. The grounds are well maintained and we were pleasantly surprised by how well equipped the rooms were.
My only tiny issue was that the taps in the shower kept coming off so as soon as they fix that it will be perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stamphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We recently spent a very pleasant week at the Moonlight Bay Suites in Broome. We chose to stay on Roebuck Bay because of its walking distance proximity to town and the famous Matso's hotel.

We also wanted somewhere with sea views (which Moonlight Bay Suites have) Most of the resorts we looked at on the Cable Beach side of Broome were on side streets with no sea views.

Our one bedroom apartment was spacious and comfortable. As I am gluten-intolerant, I also wanted accommodation with a small kitchen where I could prepare my own meals, if necessary.

Moonlight Bay Suites ticked all my requirement boxes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussieschoolteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oatley, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a 6 night stay here in mid July, occupying a 2nd floor 2 bedroom apartment. We had opted for the 2 bedroom alternative in order to ensure a good view of the famous "Staircase to the Moon" phenomenon when tide and moonrise combine to provide a visual delight. (I've attached a pic from our 2nd floor balcony).

The apartment itself was spacious and had all the comforts of home: large fully equipped kitchen, spacious dining and lounge areas, and a king size bed. The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming and quickly came to our rescue late one night when our closet safe started 'beeping' randomly !

Location is a strong point here. The complex is brilliantly situated to take advantage of the views over Roebuck Bay. and of course, you're in an excellent position if you're lucky enough to be there when the elements align to reveal 'the stairway'.

Likewise, location is great for proximity to the Broome township, being only a 10 min walk to the local retail district. The only downside would be distance from Cable Beach. You can either catch the regular local bus ($4) or drive if you want to get to the other side of Broome and enjoy the splendour of Cable Beach. (We ended up hiring a car for a day).

Strongly recommended if you're looking for apartment-style accommodation in Broome, especially if you want to be close to the township and Roebuck Bay.

Room Tip: If you want a view of "Staircase to the Moon", check the room specs online before you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SageAU1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broome hotels
3.0 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#2 of 11 in Broome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#7 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Broome
Mercure Broome
#9 of 11 in Broome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Bay Suites

Property: Moonlight Bay Suites
Address: 51 Carnarvon St, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonlight Bay Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moonlight Bay Suites, situated near the heart of Broome and on the water’s edge of the spectacular Roebuck Bay. We offer accommodation that is considered to be one of Broome’s finest properties featuring one and two bedroom fully self-contained suites. Of our 50 suites, 25 feature views over the turquoise waters of the bay and the property’s huge sparkling blue pool. If you want to stay close to the water and enjoy world-class ocean scenery, choose Moonlight Bay Suites as your accommodation when in Broome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moonlight Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonlight Bay Hotel Broome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing