We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my faves on my Oz tour!”
Review of Kimberley Klub

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimberley Klub
Ranked #23 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Broome
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I stayed in Broome as a sole traveller for one month right in the middle of the wet (hot) season and my only issue with the KK was the fact that there was no air-con in dorm rooms, only fans and it was pretty uncomfortable at the hottest times but bearable otherwise. The hostel itself was amazing though, the staff were great fun and extremely helpful, the pool was lush, the kitchen was well stocked, the bar was reasonably priced, the hammock chairs were so comfortable and the location and price of the hostel was great. I was only gonna stay for a couple of days and ended up staying a month, so that has to say something. And from what I can remember, the weekly rate was pretty good too and you got quite a few freebies depending on what was going on, for example the bus into town on Thursdays, meal vouchers etc

Room Tip: Second floor round the back is definitely quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie_Smith83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2011

$130/night for a twin. Sullen staff, cinderblock room, neighbors raising hell until 4:30am, and I woke up covered in ants.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
3  Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

The best part about staying at the Kimberley Klub is that you can walk there from the airport. Their double rooms are also reasonably priced compared to what else is available in Broome during high season. However, if I were to stay in Broome for a few days rather than just one night I'd spend $40 or $50 dollars more per night to get a larger room with ensuite, TV, aircon (rather than a fan) and tea and coffee making facilities. Kimberley Klub has a bar and a kitchen for you to cook your own meals. If you'd rather dine out it's a 10 to 15-minute walk into town. The Klub offers two free daily transfers to Cable Beach. However, the town bus also passes nearby every half hour until sunset. The atmosphere at the Klub is relaxing, there is a swimming pool and lots of chairs and even some hammocks to lounge around in. It's a great place for backpackers on a budget, but probably not the right place if you consider yourself a "flashpacker". However, you'll always have to remember that decent low-budget accommodation choices in Broome are rather limited.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lutzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

stayed for around three and a half months working in the centre of town,theres nothing more relaxing than finishing work at 7am and chilling out the hammocks on the second floor decked balcony was nice and quiet at that hour of the day. The bar in the place was a little expensive and some of the staff could be arses when they wanted to be! nice access to both of the towns beaches and a bus running to city beach a few times a day which was really useful.
the kitchen was a bit small for the number of guests and most the fridges were so full you couldnt fit much in them or they did'nt work properly cause of it!
nice place,little expensive thinking i spent nearly $3000 on accom while i was there,no discounts for long periods of stay or otherwise, but fantastic location and relaxed feel to the place.would go there again for sure

Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
1  Thank brude17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

for me the kimberley klub was the best place i stayed during my trip in oz. I mean the hostel itself is really beautiful with a lots of plants evrywhere a big swimming pool and a bar where you are sure to met some awesome backpackers!
The staff is awesome and really helpful. they are actually really cool and they always tried to make my time in broome great!
twice a day you can catch the free bus to the beach, every thursday night a free bus is driving you down town for the big night out! internet is pretty fast and the kitchen is big enough to be able to cook nicely!
the music isnt too loud and at 11 the bar shuts down and within 10 minutes the hostel becomes quiet!
guys and girls if you wanna have fun in broome: GO TO THE KK!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Travelling as a lone female I found this hostel to be perfect for my needs. 10mins walk from town / supermarket and less than 1 min from the shuttle bus that runs to the beach. Very close to the airport too. Lovely pool and nice bar area - other guests were friendly. Good range of tours available and helpful reception staff - they booked a camel ride for me on the beach which was excellent. I did ask for another room as they originally put me in a 6 person dorm with 5 others and I knew there was a completely free room next door so was lucky enough to get that to myself (after asking nicely). Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snotfaced-ninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

I've stayed in KK one night before and one after a guided tour in Kimberley. Before moving to Cable Beach I tought it was nice to spend time in Broome. The place it's actually ok, I've stayed in a dorm and it was clean enough, just the bath/shower area really could do with more showers and a re-fit. I haven't use the kitchen so I can't say. The area around the bar/swimming pool it's always very busy and noisy, but the music stop at a decent time.The staff are really friendly and helpfull and the location it's perfect:between the airport, and the city center with a bus stop in front of it that can take you to the beach. If you wanna be in Broome it seemed to me a decent price, but with a bit more you can be in Cable Beach by the sea and in a better accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crislondon08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broome hotels
0.9 mi away
Broome Time Accommodation
0.5 mi away
Moonlight Bay Suites
Moonlight Bay Suites
#3 of 12 in Broome
425 reviews
27.7 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Roey
The Roey
#12 of 14 in Broome
37 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beaches of Broome
Beaches of Broome
#6 of 28 in Broome
191 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cable Beach Backpackers
Cable Beach Backpackers
#11 of 28 in Broome
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Klub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Klub

Address: 62 Fredrick Street, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Broome
Price Range: £10 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kimberley Klub 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located near the centre of town and within walking distance to the airport and bus station. The Kimberley Klub is ideal for a relaxing or adventure filled holiday whether you wish to explore Broome or venture further afield into the beautiful Kimberley region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimberley Klub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing