We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and property”
Review of Seashells Broome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seashells Broome
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good location and property”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Stayed in a two bedroom first floor apartment for 10 nights in June 2011. Good location 5-10 minute walk to Cable Beach, right next door to The Old Zoo Cafe and the bus stop to town is a one minute walk (bus every 30 minutes) or if you are up for a longer walk, it's about an hour to town. We got the free shuttle from the airport when we arrived and took a taxi back to the airport ($20) when we were leaving. Really enjoyed morning breakfast on the balcony - don't turn your back or the birds will take your toast! Room was clean and everything in good working order although the kitchen was looking a bit tired and in need of refurbishment. Property was relatively quiet at night. Pool great and BBQ very clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravel032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    90
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
80
82
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed for a week with 3 families 7 kids in all. Great pool and a short walknto Cable Beach the grounds are really well kept .
Would recommend that if you are staying with a group that you request rooms next to eachbother.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMac-Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

5 of us stayed for 2 nights and the resort had the beds set up as requested when we arrived. the resort was beautifully maintained with a great pool and BBQ area. Our room was spacious with plenty of fresh air.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
126 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed for a week in an 3 dbedroom apartment with friends. The rooms were very well appointed, clean and the location was excelent - wlaking distance to Cable Beach and some great restaurants. The pool wasfantastic, lots of room to spread out. We had some noisey neighbours but the management sorted them out as soon as we informed them.
The rooms were nice and airey with big comfortable beds. The staff were very helpfull with organising tours and the like. The small shop is a little expensive, but it is not far to a shop around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caggsMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We were there for our honeymoon and we have been given a super dark small appartments close to the garbage bins(!!) When we requested to have something a bit better they told us they were fully booked. The apartment was at ground floor looking on a street.. unpleasant and unsafe. During the night while we were sleeping we opened a bit the window as it was pretty warm..We woke up and somebody entered our room while we were in there and stole out cash..scary!!! The owner came ( and after her also the police) telling us that she was sorry and that we should have super locked ourselves because little criminality is frequent there (would have been nice to know in advance!). After I cried in front of her, all of a sudden a better apartment on an upper floor was available (while the evening before they were fully booked..). When we left we saw the police again as somebody else was just been robbed (key of their car and car itself) ..speechless and I felt more secure in the Bronx!.. I am sorry for this review as the owner seemed nice but this place is extremly unsafe and doesn't deserve more than 2,5 stars and I still think that a place that costs 200 euro per night should have housekkeping every day and not once a week and also not such a old bathroom. A Resort it's really something else.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Giulia74Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeashellsHospitality, General Manager at Seashells Broome, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Dear Giulia74Amsterdam

Thank you for taking the time to review Seashells Broome. We value feedback from our guests, good and bad to ensure we continually improve and maintain our high standards.

I was disappointed to read your review. As discussed at the time, I believe we did all we could to to advise you of how to make your stay with us enjoyable and importantly, secure. The security of our guests is of utmost importance to us. You will recall when you checked into the resort we advised you, as we do all guests, to ensure you keep your doors and windows locked at all times. This is also noted in the welcome letter you received on arrival and there are stickers on each door as another reminder. Unfortunately, there has been incidents of break-ins recently in Broome, all through doors being left unlocked. We were fully booked on the night this occurred so we were unable to move you immediately to an upstairs room until one became available the next day, when this was then offered to you.

In regard to room cleaning, we are a fully self contained property with a weekly housekeeping service which is outlined in our marketing and I apologise if you were mislead as to the style of accommodation you booked.

Thank you again for sharing your concerns.

Kind regards
Deb Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Probably a great place to stay with kids,nice pool - open until 9pm
We had moved from Moonlight Bay Suites - which we loved & by comparison the room at Sea Shells didn't quite do it - the garden balcony was rather oversold,pool towels were available to hire.
Most of all we didn't like the general feel - as to us it felt rather "American" rather than Australian.
Like so many other places they have a 10.00am checkout - "for the convenience of our incoming guests" It is solely for the convenience of the management & makes a mockery of these premises ( all 10.00 am checkouts not just seashells) being part of the " hospitality" industry. No wonder so few Spaniards come to Oz :)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elestoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We travelled to Broome at the beginning of jan - during the wet season, so we experienced some rain and some thunder & lightning, which wasn't too much of a problem overall.
We enjoyed our stay in a 1 bedroom appt the staff were very accommodating and I phoned prior to arrival and asked for air conditioning in the bedroom, so they were able to offer us a suitable room. I am glad we had cooking facilities as eating out is very expensive so we went to the local supermarket and stocked up on provisions.
We decided not to hire a car as the bus route is so good. We paid for a day pass and could stop off as many places as we wanted for aprox $10 or alternatively aprox $3 each way
The resort has a great pool and outdoor spa and is well maintained, they also have a small shop where you can buy gifts as well as some provisions.
The location was great a 5 min walk to Cable beach , and next door was Willie pearl shop and coffee shop restaurant as well as a bus virtually outside the resort, and close walking distance to the Malcolm Douglas croc park..
Staff were very helpful and even let us borrow an umbrella when it rained! Great place to stay - thanks Seashells :-)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnsonmary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broome hotels
0.4 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#3 of 11 in Broome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
0.1 mi away
Blue Seas Resort
Blue Seas Resort
#4 of 11 in Broome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cocos Beach Bungalows
Cocos Beach Bungalows
#2 of 11 in Broome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seashells Broome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashells Broome

Property: Seashells Broome
Address: 4-6 Challenor Dr | Cable Beach, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seashells Broome 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seashells Broome (4.5 star) has been specifically designed to allow families and couples to indulge in the peace and tranquility of this tropical paradise. Refurbished, fully self-contained apartments and bungalows are hidden amongst lush and secluded gardens. The resort is located just 300 metres from Cable Beach, Broome in the Kimberley region of Western Australia. Once the pearling capital of the world, Broome has a romantic and often flamboyant past. Today Broome is perhaps most well known for its spectacular 22km stretch of white sand and sparkling blue sea, which is why Cable Beach is rated amongst the top beaches in the world. Seashells Broome provides a variety of 4.5 star AAA rated fully self-contained apartments and bungalows. The accommodation is decorated with tiled floors, quality timber furnishings, well-appointed kitchens and laundries, spacious lounge and dining areas, and individual balconies or verandas. All feature Foxtel (cable TV), free in-house movies, DVD and CD players, wireless broadband internet access, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, ISD/STD telephones, coffee pod machines and a weekly housekeeping service (daily on request for additional fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seashells Broome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashells Broome Hotel Broome
Seashells Hotel Broome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing