We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broome whale watching”

Broome Whale Watching
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Broome Whale Watching and Sentosa Charters offers you the most unforgettable Eco experience the Kimberley has to offer. Enjoy an afternoon cruising Broomes tranquil waters aboard "Ballena", our 42 foot sailing catamaran. With different viewing areas "Ballena"is a fantastic stable platform to get up close and personal with the worlds largest population of Humpback whales. Enjoy a glass of wine and a cheese platter, while our beautiful whales keep you entertained. As we return to Gantheaume Point a magnificent Broome sunset ends your perfect day.In the quieter season, enjoy a beautiful Eco cruise through the stunning Roebuck Bay. Meet our local and rare Australian snub fin dolphins and search for other marine life in the bay. Let our experienced crew share the historical stories and the diversity of our recently declared marine park Roebuck Bay.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Broome whale watching”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I went out whale watching yesterday, after a local from Broome recommended it. What an awesome experience. It was absolutely brilliant. The group of people were great the crew excellent. Not in my wildest dreams did I ever expect it to be that good.. I got some great shots of our friendly whale which hung around for ages and put on a great show. Once again fantastic trip.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozzy_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    15
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An experience not to be missed”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Had an absolutely fantastic afternoon out on the water on Tradewinds III. We started seeing whales within about 20 minutes, saw some tail slaps and lots of blowholes but the highlight was a pair of whales who started breaching approx. 300m off the port side of the boat. Of course this doesn't happen on every trip, so we were very, very lucky. The crew were fantastic, extremely attentive with drinks service and nibbles etc, and the boat itself is great - not too big, and not too small either, just right. As we came back in to cable beach to disembark we witnessed a magnificent sunset which was a fantastic way to finish off what was an amazing afternoon. Highly recommend this activity, however keep in mind that whales are wild animals and cannot be predicted. However, it was a lot of fun just sailing around, having a few drinks and watching the sunset.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Whales shy this day”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We saw four humpback whales, which were beautiful. It took 2 hours to find them and the whales weren't in an exhibitionist mood when we did. The skipper did everything possible to make the trip good including staying out later, as it took so long to find them. When dealing with wild animals, there's always that risk they fail to appear. On the downside, the tour advertised a hydrophone to listen to the whale songs but the songs only happen during a specific time, so we didn't get that. Also it's advertised that there is a marine biologist onboard - if there was I'm not sure who that was. The tour bus wasn't there when we arrived back to shore, so we were dropped off in groups on the mudflats, in the dark. Not ideal (especially with croc warning nearby). I think we were just unlucky on the day, but I was a little disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sentosa Whale Watching - Fantastic!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Spent the afternoon (July 11) yesterday with Cameron and his fabulous crew (Robyn and Sarah) on the Sentosa Sunset Whale Watching cruise and we had the best time. Multiple whale sightings, calm waters, nice food, and a stunning sunset to finish. The highlight for us though was the "money shot" of two whales diving together showing us all a twin tail fluke - very special. (Hopefully Marcus got that one!!) Brilliant day, well worth the money - thanks again Cameron and girls - would thoroughly recommend it to all.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An amazing experience...”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have done a couple of whale watching tours in Perth before and have always enjoyed them. From the moment we phoned and booked this cruise until we got back to shore Sentosa Charters were outstanding; they were friendly, professional, attentive and helpful.

Our first trip was on the 1st July we were met by Cameron and Robyn on the beach at Gantheaume Point, straight away were made to feel welcome. The tender (small dinghy to get you to the main boat) drives up on to the beach and is easy to climb into (or Cameron can lower it to make it even easier) the trip out to Tradewind III takes less than two minutes and again it is easy to get on to the main boat. We had elderly people on both of our trips and they had no problems getting on and off the boat.

Cameron, Robbie and Robyn look after you once your are one the boat, there is a quick safety briefing before you get underway. You have access to the whole boat including the bow, rear deck, top deck (where Cameron drives the boat from) and the interior. Even when the boat was full we did not feel crammed in and there was loads of room for us to move about, sit etc. The crew made sure we were kept fed and watered with complimentary beverages and nibbles. You can BYO alcohol or buy it on board at a reasonable prices.

Now, not everything goes according to plan, especially when dealing with wild animals. It is how a problem is dealt with that really gives you an idea of how good a company is. During our first trip all the whales decided they didn't want to play. We saw dolphins, sea snakes and a turtle but no whales. After about three hours of looking the first thing Cameron did was buy everyone a drink in the hope that it would change our luck. It wasn't to be and we headed back to the beach (following an amazing sunset). Once we moored up Cameron spoke to us all, you could see he was genuinely devastated that we hadn't seen any whales. Straight away he offered us seats on the next cruise the following day, or in lieu of that vouchers to return another day (fully transferable with no time limit). We took the offer of going the next day and phoned the office to re-book. In all honesty we were happy with just the cruise, it was a brilliant experience in it's own right and we both really felt for the crew as it was the first time it has happened in 8 years of operating.

The second day were made to feel even more welcome, it was like seeing old friends. Within about an hour of leaving the beach we started seeing whales on the horizon from then on it felt like were surrounded by them. Cameron's knowledge and passion then really came through, he carefully monitored the behaviour of the whales and let them have the choice of whether to come up to the boat or not. His patience paid off and we had two inquisitive juveniles come right up to the boat, swim under and around the boat it was nothing less than magical. Cameron was over the moon and he said "at least i will be able to sleep tonight". Because everyone was having such a great time he stayed out for another 40 minutes or so. The cruise was finished off with an amazing Broome sunset.

If you don't do anything else in Broome then go on this cruise, we spent a month travelling through NT and WA we have seen some amazing sights but with out a doubt these cruises were the big highlight. A big thanks to Cameron, Robbie and Robyn.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_and_Rachel_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Broome Whale Watching also viewed

 

Been to Broome Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing