We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-So”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Broome Time Accommodation
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Broome
Mandurah, Australia
1 review
“So-So”
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The staff are friendly as standard, and the cleaners and maid service was great and beautiful. What was unfortunate was there was renovations going on the whole week i was there (trying for a relaxation quite week) no warning that there would be renovations :/
Stayed in a standard studio room - It was clean upon entering, the bathroom had a fowel smell that would come and go, and just something about the room which felt kind of unhygenic. One time at night my friend and i were outside talking at around 9pm and she cracked a funny one - i laughed, maybe a bit too loud? And the 'night manager' was straight on our case like we'd been loud the whole night - the old man spoiled it and we went to bed. Geez give us a break!
Had no idea the spa was even operating as it was always cold and never had jets on or anything??
I won't be staying here again, but it was so-so.
Don't get me wrong - very friendly people and helpful staff members, but the quality off the room and the dissapointment of the spa overode that.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjay91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1oceanlodge, General Manager at Broome Time Accommodation, responded to this review, 2 July 2011
Hello and thank you for your review of Broome-Time Lodge. It is a shame that you did not raise any of these issues with our staff or myself during your stay so that we may resolve any problem to help make your stay more enjoyable.

Firstly I must comment about our renovations that are going on at present, due for completion on the 8th July, it has been a little noisy between 9 and 4 over the past couple of weeks while electrical equipment was operating at random times to cut new tiles etc, For this I sincerely apologise, had this been brought to our attention that you were not happy, we would have happily assisted with relocation to a property that you were more comfortable with at no charge to yourself. This is the only complaint we have received about this noise to date.

If there is a smell coming from a bathroom drain this is a very easy problem to fix if we are made aware of the problem. I simply disagree that our rooms are unhygenic, we have very strict cleaning standards that have improved to a high standard over the past year, the room type you stayed in is old, yes (why we are refurbishing), but unhygenic NO. The beds and bed linen in your room is no more than 3 months old, the laundering is done onsite in a commercial laundry facility which is just 8 months old and very hygenic. The electrical items, kitchen equipment, fridge are all of a a new condition in all rooms.

The 'SPA' - unfortunately we do not, nor have ever had a spa on the property, nor have we ever advertisied that we have a spa, I believe you have mistaken our childrens wading pool (as advertised) which is 8 inches deep and adjacent to our pool as a 'SPA'

We pride ourselves on providing a night manager to assist guests with any problems that guests may have and it is also our policy to remind guests to keep any noise at a minimal level after 10pm, this is to provide all our guests with the assurance that they will have a noise and trouble free sleep at Broome-Time Lodge, I am sorry that you have taken offence to this.

Again I thank you, it is important that we receive feedback to make us aware of problems that our guests may have during their stay, I hope the information I have provided will encourage you to raise any issues you have at your next holiday destination immediately with management so that the property has the opportunity to fix any issues that may arise.

If you would like to discuss any of these issues further, you may contact me direct via email at gm@broometimelodge.com.au. I would certianly like the opportunity to invite you back to Broome-Time Lodge to experience our newly refurbished rooms and our always friendly service.

Yours sincerely
Brad Symons
General Manager
Broome-Time Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    68
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
21
54
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2011

This was my first (very quick) trip to Broome, however I imagine that there is considerable competition for the tourist dollar in this town. The Ocean Lodge is clearly an older property but what a nice surprise when we checked into our room (King Studio). The entire fit-out, from the colour scheme, lighting, bedding, artwork and guest amenities is tasteful. Unfortunately, it was only an overnight stay but I imagine their customer service would match their facilities, given the obvious care and attention to detail (subsequent emails to the property confirm that). Only suggestion, which I'm sure is in the pipeline, would be to replace the front fence with one that affords more privacy to the front units.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buddhabellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

Nice management - TERRIBLE ROOMS - Sent to Broome for work - dripping taps, wet floors, smelly rooms. Filthy bathrooms and kitchen. Very Very AVERAGE. If your not spending alot of time in the room it's good value. Half way between the shops and the beach accross from the Recreation Centre, but apart from that - a no go. Would be much better if refurbished COMPLETELY!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justjessicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1oceanlodge, General Manager at Broome Time Accommodation, responded to this review, 3 December 2010
Thank you for your review of your stay at Ocean Lodge in February 2010.
Many improvements have taken place at Ocean Lodge during 2010 including refurbishment of some rooms, not yet a full refurbishment of all rooms but I am pleased to say that this will commence in January 2011.
During your stay in February you would have noticed much work underway in external area's including the upgrade of our Pool which is now a new pebblecrete surface along with external painting all rooms received a fresh coat of paint ahead of the planned full refurbishment.
I can assure you that cleanliness is no longer an issue however we do have an issue with the age of our bathrooms and kitchens of which the bathrooms are very heavily stained with the calcium from Broome water, this we can not improve as it was neglected for may years but will all be replaced very soon.
We are always looking to improve the facilities and rooms at Ocean Lodge, the King Studio is a great example of these improvements, which is a newly refurbished modern studio room with kitchen and a private balcony or courtyard, great value!

Thank you again for your review, living so closeto Broome, in Derby, I am sure you will here about the results of our refurbishment and improvements.

Best regards
Brad Symons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port macquarie
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

As a Remote Area Nurse I have stayed in many capital city accomodations throughtout NT and Broome.
This was the best as far as the staff who are so genuinally friendly and good people that are focused on making your stay as comfortable as possible and willing to assist with "extra ordinary" isuues that may arise.
Felt very comfortable and cared for

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortMacquarieKez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Firstly, I want to say that I found no fault with the friendliness of staff, on the two occasions I spoke to the lady at the desk upon check in and check out. Also, the central location between old Broome and Cable Beach was convenient.

But the room itself (a one-bedroom family suite) was awful. We chose Ocean Lodge because it was self-contained, but once there did not want to use anything in the kitchen, and had to get takeaway or eat out the entire time we were there.

The bathroom was the worst - it smelt, had mould in the shower stall and along the vanity basin, the toilet bowl was stained, there was a thick layer of dust on the pipes underneath the basin, rust on the metal shelving underneath the basin where the coating had chipped away, and one of the towel racks was coming away from the wall.

The kitchen sink had mould alongside it and stains/dirt around the drain, one of the kitchen taps was cracked, there were sizeable chips to the bench laminate and wall tiles, and the tinting on the window was split and peeling. The alarm was covered in graffiti. The ceiling had spiders and cobwebs. The floor had dirt on it. The main bed was good to sleep on but one could clearly see the hollows in the two single matresses on the beds in the living area. The bedroom was the only thing that looked decent.

We stayed away from the room as much as possible. From reading recently posted reviews, some of the rooms at Ocean Lodge have been refurbished. The one we ended up with was dirty and unmaintained.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kalbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1oceanlodge, General Manager at Broome Time Accommodation, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
Thank you for your review, all of your information helps us improve.

We are very aware of the need for a full refurbishment of our rooms, particularly the bathrooms anf kitchens which are around 20 years of age, all of the family suites are around this age. However this does not excuse the cleanliness or maintenance issues you have raised and as a result we can now be sure that the next guests to stay in room 31or any other room for that matter will not experience the room in the state you have experienced.
We do have some rooms which have already been refurbished, these are our King Studio rooms which unfortunately do not suit a family. Our next refurbishment stage is due to commence in January 2011, which will see 50% of our family rooms included in the project.
Cleanliness has always been something that I have been sure we got right, I apologise that we failed in this case.
Again thank you for your review.
Brad SYmons
Ocean Lodge, Broome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2010

I am 56 yrs of age and travelled a lot, but since leaving Perth, heading north, my partner and myself have felt cheated/ripped off and insulted at the prices charged for the standard of accommodation available, up until now. Since staying at this resort, we have meet the nicest people we have ever met in all our travels .We are speaking about the management here, (Brad & Julie & staff) They will go out of their way to ensure that your stay is the best ever. On top of that, the accommodation, ( we had a self contained room) that had all you needed to feel at home, was excellent value for money. Thanks Ocean Lodge for the most memorable stay ever.
Rob & Ronnie (Mildura Vic)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mildurals54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Our room was well appointed, modern and newly refurbished. It was very compact but had every thing we needed. It was centrally located, close to shopping centre and the beach but far enough to avoid the noise. Great value for money. Only downside is that our room was not available till after 2 pm without adequate explanation (just very busy). To their credit, the receptionists were friendly and provided regular updates on the room situation. All in all, an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bleazy_dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broome hotels
27.5 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
#4 of 11 in Broome
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Oaks Broome
Oaks Broome
#8 of 11 in Broome
409 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Broome
Mercure Broome
#9 of 11 in Broome
531 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kimberley Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broome Time Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broome Time Accommodation

Property: Broome Time Accommodation
Address: 1 Cable Beach Road East, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia (Formerly Broome-Time Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Broome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Broome Time Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broome Time Accommodation & Art Gallery is centrally located on the Broome Peninsula between Cable Beach to the West and China Town/Roebuck Bay and Old Broome to the east. Our 58 self contained Economy, Deluxe Queen, Deluxe King and Family rooms are set amoungst established gardens around a sparkling free form pool with a spacious outdoor garden dining area with free use gas BBQs, ideal for socialising with family and friends. Our onsite Art Gallery specialises in Kimberley Art, Aboriginal Artifacts, Didgeridoo's and gifts. We are continually aiming to improve the property and facilities whilst providing a warm and friendly environment for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Broome Time Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Broome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing